ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-05-07 ... 5:32 p.m.

previous - next

A very tired day at work

OMG am I tired! I got home about 8:30 last night and made myself something to eat. By the time it was about 10:30 or so, the neighbor guy (yes, THAT guy) got home with a bunch of his friends. They were all drunk and rowdy, yelling and fighting and just generally being pains in the butt.

I thought I heard him say the other day that he was moving at the end of the month. I hope so! He is loud, foul and just a jerk, and his friends are all about the same. There are broken beer bottles back by the dumpster, and I know at least one of the other tenants here is unhappy about that! I heard her telling them they had to get it cleaned up TODAY but so far no one has gone out to do that yet. Heh. He may not have a choice about moving out.

Anyway, I went to bed pretty late last night, about 12:30. Partly because of all the noise, and partly because I didn't have to work until 11. I figured I would just sleep in and relax.

Well. The best laid plans, and all that. At 6:40 this morning my phone rang. It was in the living room, and it takes me a while to get out of bed and find my phone. By that time, the caller had hung up. It was the Depot of Home. That worried me a bit.

I was supposed to work this morning at 6 but Molly wanted to work early, so she asked if I would trade. I told her I would, but it was up to her to fill out the paperwork. She said she did that, so I just assumed she did. I had gone back to the break room and looked at the schedule, and it said she worked at 5:30, not 11.

I asked her about that, and she checked it out, and said that I was still working at 11, since she had asked the head cashiers about it and they said it was ok. So, whatever.

Well, Norma had changed Molly's schedule, and seen that she had traded with me, and told her to fix it so that I was still working at 6 , because Molly was working at 5:30. But she didn't, so Norma called and had me come in early because they were seriously short this morning.

I know I'm not in trouble over this, because it was being put down to "miscommunication" and not trading errors. Trading errors can get people into serious trouble there, so I was glad that I wasn't in trouble. Phew!

I worked at the contractor's checkout today, which is always fun. They tend to have lots of cash, and they like to get in and out fast, so it can be an exciting, fastpaced day. I especially like the guys with the huge carts of stuff that takes a few minutes to ring up. I get a peculiar sort of satisfaction from those kinds of orders.

Except for the one I had just before I left for the day. It was three regular carts (like grocery carts) filled with little junk... cans of spray paint, drills, saw blades, a few hand tools and towels, you name it, they had it. They also had 2 lumber carts full of junk.

As we would ring up bags full, we would put them into an empty cart, just to keep things organized. When I was down to the last cart, I noticed one of the guys taking a cart of stuff out the door. I tried to catch him, but his boss just waved him on.

This can cause lots of problems. If the guy's credit card denies payment, it's possible it all has to be rerung. Yes, that would so truly have sucked I think I would have committed hari-kari. Or the computer could freeze... But I know what I plan to do the next time I get an order that big. Anyway, this wasn't a regular contractor, but a young guy who wasn't familiar at all... just like some guy off the street who got a job remodeling a restaurant.

I was kind of worried when he slid a company American Express card, since it didn't have his name on it. But we take cards like that, and there wasn't much I could say.. and then the computer wanted me to CALL American Express to get an authorization number. And all I could think of was that half that shit was already outside in someone's truck...

Like I said, I know what I will do next time.

But the number came through, and all went fine. AE just wanted to verify who it was who had the card. The total bill? $2648 or somewhere around there. It took me probably 10 minutes to ring it up.. that's a long time!

And then I was finished for the day. I was really glad, because by then I was dragging. Not only from lack of sleep, but also lack of COFFEE. Not having time to sit and have breakfast before work just throws my whole day out of whack.

And speaking of which... I'm reasonably sure that Missy got the job. One of the other girls who applied asked me.. "Did I really lose the job to HER??!?!" I just laughed, and said that I lost the job to her too! BUT the other girl who got one of the HC spots, who everyone KNEW would get it is the girl who opens returns every morning. She said that they are considering me for her job.. not that I would be full time, but I would work full time hours in returns. Dude! That would be better than being a head cashier, except I wouldn't make any extra money. So even though I am bummed I didn't get the job, I am hoping that I will get the returns job... it's almost worth not getting a raise to have that!

My next-door neighbor, who is a quiet young man saw me tonight when I got home, and asked me how I slept last night. I just laughed, and told him that I hadn't gone to bed yet when it all started, and he kind of laughed, too... so I think they must have woke him up. They were really quite loud, and I can't see the on-site manager who has 3 small children approving of jerk-neighbor's antics. I SO hope he moves!!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

5 comments so far

Crystal Balls - 2009-05-08 02:26:36
Dang - I hope the idiot gets his ass tossed onto the sidewalk right away. I hate jerks like that who think the world owes them a living. They don't have any concept of consideration and could care less about the fact!
-------------------------------
im2qt2kr - 2009-05-08 02:37:57
I hope you complain to you landlord and follow it up in writing, listing dates, times, duration of the obnoxious behavior. Just in case it gets worse, or more than you can bare and you should choose to move sooner than expected.
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2009-05-08 12:36:12
I agree with im2qt2kr. Document all this crap.
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-05-08 14:25:36
Document, document, document!
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-05-08 17:00:11
maybe "someone" could canvass the tenants and have them sign a form that this particular tenant has been causing disruption with noise, debris, broken bottles, rudeness etc to the rest of the tenants....hope he is moving but that is still 3 weeks away...how about calling the police about the disturbance....
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group