ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-10-28 ... 11:31 p.m.

previous - next

Theres's a fungus among us

Well I had my first real appointment today for the toenail fungus study that I want to get in. It's not the money that makes me want to get into it, it's free treatment for the fungus that's been growing there for the past 15 years or so. The doctor that looked at my toes said that 9 of the nails were involved, not just the one that looks icky. So I really will appreciate getting rid of that!

They did a complete physical... including an EKG which was normal. The doc talked to me about what to expect with the study, and the only issue is that in some people, the medication can cause liver problems. She told me that they take blood every month to check the liver enzymes, and if they find a problem, they take me off the meds immediately. There's little chance of irreparably damaging the liver in a month, so that was a good thing.

They also clipped the big toenail that's the most involved, and scraped as much junk out from underneath as they could. They send that in, and if it grows a fungus in the lab, I am in the study. If not, they try again. If it still isn't growing anything, I will have to wait to get into a different study, but it sounds like I will get rid of this one way or another. Cool!

I work 2:30-11 tonight. Next week the store hours are changing, and they will close at 9 instead of 10. It seems weird that a lot of construction stops around here during the winter. I mean, if it was this warm in Wisconsin, they would continue to work. Heh.

Anyway, I will have to leave this and get going to work. I'll finish later and post it after I get home.

OK, I just got home from work. Normally when I work until closing, we get out at least a half hour early, which I don't really like, because it means I get paid that much less. Tonight one of the assistant store managers (ASM) told the head cashier none of us could leave early. I think some of them did, but I was glad to be able to stay and just straighten shelves.

I was scheduled today for returns, but ended up spending some time out in garden. I like returns better than garden, because at this time of year there is more to do, and I got pretty chilly last night out in the garden area... not to mention it gets dark at 6PM, and I'm out there alone. It's a little scary. But I got to go in and be in returns once I was done with my lunch.

Now it's 11:30, and I need to get to sleep, since I have to work at 9:30 tomorrow. The horrors of having to be at work so early! HA HA!!!

One more day of work, and then I get a day off. I can do one more day...

previous - next

Kiss Me!

6 comments so far

momonroof - 2008-10-29 11:56:13
Nance, you know I love you, right? From head to toe. But I'm begging you, please, if you do get into this toenail study, can we table any discussion of any scraping of any gunk under any toenails? GICK!! HORK!!! Toenail scrapage!!! You're killin' me!!! My breakfast bagel is dead to me.
-------------------------------
l\'empress - 2008-10-29 12:23:08
I agree; the money is the least of the incentives to volunteer. Up at the top is the medical exams. I still think everyone should do these studies if eligible, because that's the only way to really try the treatments. I never had any medical benefit, because they were never treating anything I had. (Although I did learn to give myself intra-muscular injections, in case I ever have too.)
-------------------------------
psis - 2008-10-29 19:24:47
Just remember that Vicks vapo rub would work without taking any kind of drugs--it is nice that you get free medical exams though
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-10-29 20:48:48
I never thought I would ever say this to anyone, but I really hope your toenail scrapings grow fungus.
-------------------------------
Erianne - 2008-10-29 22:37:09
The only trial I ever participated in was the single best thing to ever happen to me. I was in one the human clinical trials for Imitrex, back when my migraines lasted for 5-7 days at a time and I had 3-4 per month. That clinical trial saved my life. I agree with Poolie...may the fungus flourish!
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2008-10-30 02:17:54
I'm agreeing with Momonroof, URK! Toenail scrapings! but I do hope that you can get into the study.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group