ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-07-26 ... 6:48 p.m.

previous - next

A washer, a tree, and homeless man

The real reason I stay at the Depot is that I have this strange quirk of liking to pay my bills in full, and on time. And since I've been there over a year now, it's not likely I'll be one of the first ones to leave when they start getting rid of people for the slow season. We will see... It just gets discouraging now and then to see what's happening there.. and I'm not the only one who feels that way.

So I started this morning at 6:30, since the store opens an hour later on Sundays. I had a customer early this morning who bought a pressure washer that failed during a job. At least that's what he said. He gave me one story, then gave Norma another. Unfortunately for him, he's had the pressure washer OVER a month, and the Depot warranty is 30 days. After that, the warranty becomes the problem of the manufacturer, not the Depot. I couldn't get him to see that, and neither could Norma. He demanded a manager, and then stood and bitched at me about 1) how long it was taking the manager to get there, 2) how much money he was spending having his 5-man crew at the Depot doing nothing 3) that he spends $20,000 a week at the Depot.

First of all, he probably waited about 30 seconds for the manager. And why did he bring his entire crew with him if he was worried that the work wasn't getting done?? And it's interesting that all the people who bitch about how much money they spend at the Depot are people that NONE of us recognize. We all know the BIG contractors, because they are in every day, and all the cashiers learn who they are quickly. If I've ever seen this guy before, it was maybe once or twice. Not the million dollars he claims to spend.

So he went home with his broken washer, and the manager suggested maybe he go talk to the store where he bought it, since he claimed it was a floor model/used. The thing is, the computer system absolutely will not let anyone override what it says.. and if it says, in big red letters, CANNOT RETURN MERCHANDISE, then you can't return it. No one in the store can override it. Yes, they can make you some other kind of deal, but the more you bitch, the less likely they are to do that. Heh. Sometimes it's funny to watch customers rant and rave and act like children when you know they won't get what they want.

The rest of the day was pretty uneventful, which made it a long boring day. I was really glad to be out of there at 3.

I stopped to fill up my water jugs. There is a big palm tree right by the store I stop at, and there is always a homeless man who sits under that tree. The last two times I was there he was screaming at the top of his lungs about the government and other nonsense. I pretty much just tune him out, but today he was pretty loud. The on-site manager here was sitting outside the store in his truck (I think he does that to get out of the house).

OSM got back just as I did. He told me the store owner wants to cut down the tree in an effort to get rid of the bum. I think that's kind of an extreme to go to, but I'm equally sure the guy won't leave if asked.... I sure hope some other solution comes up! It's a beautiful tree!

Time for my show, The Next Food Network Star. Then I'll take my book that I'm almost finished with and go lie down in bed. Thankfully, I don't have to work until 10 tomorrow. Woot! But I don't have a day off until Thursday. At least I work a little later, and it won't be quite as tough a week.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

3 comments so far

Brett - 2009-07-27 03:14:10
Seems like life in Cali is still a bit wonky, but hope it's bringing you some of the changes you wanted. I just added a new update.
-------------------------------
Kitty - 2009-07-27 05:18:38
Wow....People sure like to bitch and moan when they come into that store!! *laughs* I always love hearing your stories about grouchy customers!
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-07-27 12:18:56
People are goofy. Cutting down a tree seems extreme. The guy with the washer was extreme. The Food Channel is extreme too now that I think about it. I watched it for the first time last night. I still don't want to cook.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group