ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-12-01 ... 10:12 p.m.

previous - next

It's not cold!

What a day! I was thinking if I got up early enough I would do my laundry, but I had other things I needed to do too. I woke up at 5:30, but sorry, that's a bit too early, and the next time I woke up it was 7:30!

So I got up to see what comments and emails I got overnight, and started chatting with Poolie and before I knew it, it was 9 and I hadn't even brushed my teeth yet! Ick!! That's usually the first thing I do.

So then of course, there was no time for laundry. I brushed my teeth and took a shower while my coffee was brewing, and then my first project was doing something with all the leftover turkey I had.

I shredded it all and put some of the leftover gravy on it, just like old times. Ha! I packed it up in single servings, enough for a sandwich, so I can take it to work for lunch.

Then I took out all the garbage, it seemed the cans in every room were almost full, and then since I had to stop at the bank before I went to work, I thought I would just leave about 10 minutes early. It was time to leave.. but when I looked at the clock in my car, I realized I was leaving 40 minutes early. WTF??

So I went to the bank. I put gas in my car ($1.89 a gallon, 15 minutes later it was $1.83!) and then, since I had so much time, I thought it would be fun to go stand in line at the post office for 20 minutes and buy some stamps. THEN I went to work.

I met the store co-manager who's been gone for 3 months, who was the one who hired me. She didn't recognize me, at least not until I told her that she hired me, then she realized that I'd cut my hair! Heh.

I was supposed to work in self-checkout all day, but that didn't happen. It was so busy when I got there, they told me to just get a till and start helping get rid of some of the lines. Not a problem. I worked on the front end until it was lunch time, and when I came back, I was sent to... the tree lot! What a surprise! Ha!

The ASM who took me out there made me get my jacket out of my car first, since it was so cold outside. Heh. I think it was about 65. Whatever. I just didn't put it on. I spent part of my time out there yesterday arranging the stuff they have for sale so that people could look into the little cashier trailer and see something other than boxes and a wall. I put signs on everything with the price, so they would know how much things are. I mean, isn't this just basic stuff?? Apparently I am the only one who thinks of these things.

Today, they had most of it moved outside, because they don't want customers in the trailer. Well, they go in there anyway, and I didn't know that was why they moved it all outside, so I opened up new stuff for the inside. It looks much more inviting now.

There was only one guy out there the whole time doing the cutting (we trim the bottom branches and put a fresh cut on the bottom) and he was having a hard time with some of the ten foot trees. So I would sweep up the wood chips and stuff in between customers. He really needed another person in there, and I did what I could to help him.

When a different ASM came out to get me tonight, he saw me sweeping in the cutting area, and the guy told him I was a big help. Heh. Plus the ASM who took me out there knew that I made the price signs and opened the boxes and stuff, and Norma was grateful that I worked pretty independently out there tonight, since it was busy inside too. So... points for me from 2 ASMs and a DH (Department Head). That can only be a good thing!!!

Just to explain, the ASMs (Assistant Store Managers) are the only ones who can walk us out to the tree lot when we are taking money with us. I don't know why, but that's the way it is. It's kind of nice getting their attention for that 2 minute walk. By now they all know that I enjoy working out there, and that I'm willing to do more than my share to make things look better. Heh.

And since they didn't get me into the store until 9, and I still had to count out my till and send it to the back office, I punched out late yet again. We'll see if I can get another 15 minutes OT again tonight. I just love OT!!

But I have to work at 9 tomorrow, so it's almost time for me to get to bed. I'm tired, anyway. Spending all that time out in the fresh air did me in!

And I never did wear my jacket!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

4 comments so far

Shear - 2008-12-02 12:22:37
I'd love to shop at your Depot! Ours is nice but you don't work at our Depot.
-------------------------------
Terri T - 2008-12-02 15:32:32
All this good attention can only make it better for you. They are recognizing that you have a terrific work ethic and think outside the box. I expect you will continue to get 40 hrs or more per week.
-------------------------------
sduckie - 2008-12-02 18:40:54
I bet you are glad you are no longer shredding turkey and making gravy for 100 people...! :)
-------------------------------
cosmic - 2008-12-02 21:32:47
I was just talking to terry about what sduckie said. Cooking for one must seem so strange after cooking for so many everyday! I'm so glad you took this job. It's seems to be doing very well for you.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group