ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-02-14 ... 10:33 p.m.

previous - next

Trial by fire at work!

I spent my morning getting my stuff packed up for my dog sitting gig. I have to remember the odd things like my phone charger, and my camera... things for lunch on Monday. It's not like I can't go back to my house, but since I have tomorrow off, I would like to just veg here in this nice house with the dogs! Oh, and there are cats, too, but they disappear when there is someone strange in the house!

Anyway, I got all my tax stuff mailed out, so that can get started, and I got all the garbage from unpacking out into the dumpster, and that was about all I managed to do, other than put my stuff together, and try not to forget anything.

So I got to work today, and I knew I was scheduled for the self-checkout area. Every time I have been scheduled there, I've been sent somewhere else because it's been busy, or someone called out sick, or whatever. Today, I was there. Norma asked if I would be more comfortable at a regular register, but I told her that I had to learn self check-out, and I may as well start today. One of the other head cashiers, Janelle, agreed with me. Talk about a trial by fire!!

It's not like I'm totally lost there, but there are things that I just need experience with. I had a till, so I had a register to ring people up on, plus the four self check-outs, so I was in charge of FIVE computers at once! I can't call them all registers, because four of them are totally automated. That is, until someone runs into a problem with one.

It was either feast or famine there. Either all four SCOs were busy, and I was ringing on my own register, or there was no one there at all. It was quite a learning experience! And I did learn quite a bit, so things should be easier the next time I work there. Wow.

I forgot to post that yesterday (the 13th) was the two year anniversary of breaking my ankle. I don't have that post online anymore (actually, Poolagirl posted that day for me since the morphine made me loopy) but most of the people who read me remember that. It was quite a day, and I must say, I am entirely glad that I wasn't out slipping and sliding in ice and snow yesterday!

And there were a couple interesting things at work for the past two days.

The first was from today. I saw something I've never seen before... an adult riding in the basket of a cart. Where was my camera when I needed it? I'm not sure I would fit in the basket! I know I couldn't fold myself up like the girl did who was riding around that way.

Yesterday, there was a person who came in who was dressed a bit oddly. Yes. I didn't get to see the face of this person, but I am assuming it was a female. She had on bright pink tights, black high-top shoes or boots, and a frilly black skirt, that almost looked like it was one of those slips that would make the skirt of your dress all poofy.

I couldn't really tell what it was made of, since it was black, and I was several feet behind this person in one of the aisles. I was walking toward the back to leave for the day, trying desperately not to laugh, totally not believing anyone would actually wear that out in public! It was just a comical kind of get-up, on the order of something a 4 year-old would pick out to wear.

So we get to one of the aisle corners, and met another lady walking perpendicular to our aisle. She stopped, and just watched this person go past, with a look of shock, surprise, dismay, and incredulity all rolled into one. At that point, I DID start to laugh, just because of the look on her face! I said to her, "I was just thinking that same thing!" She asked if she was that transparent, and I told her that it was obvious to someone else who had the same thoughts she did. We both had a good laugh over it!

It was even better than the man with the pink Hello Kitty wallet from the other day. I didn't think anyone could top that for a while!

Today there were several dozen Valentine's day cupcakes in the breakroom, so I did my part to help get rid of them. There were cookies, too!

Time to get the dogs to bed.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

6 comments so far

Erianne - 2009-02-15 12:47:05
I can understand the guy with the Hello Kitty wallet...it may have been a gift from a child (or grandchild). You have to use those, at least for a little while, no matter how ridiculous it may seem. The lady though? I can't find any reasonable reason that someone would wear that getup in public. Wish I'd seen it!
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-02-15 13:23:53
Have fun with the poochies!
-------------------------------
mpeacock - 2009-02-15 17:00:01
I have students who dress like that all the time. I am used to it.
-------------------------------
art - 2009-02-15 18:24:54
gosh, 2 years since the ankle breaking?? wow!! time goes by fast!!
-------------------------------
Rattus Regina - 2009-02-15 19:12:13
That sounds exactly like what my youngest sister used to wear, during her goth stage. Only for her it was purple & black striped tights.
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2009-02-15 20:14:12
Well, after being in the SCA, and going to stores in my Renaissance costumes, and living here and going to stores in my 1880's costumes, not much surprises me, and I am sure I have caused many lifted eyebrows in my time!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group