ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-09-09 ... 8:13 p.m.

previous - next

Two customers make a day

Quite a relaxing day today at work. Not too busy to be hectic, not to slow to be boring. A few customers kept the interest level up though.

One man brought in two things; a door opener and a mop head, plopped them down and said he would find the door opener for me since it didn't have a package. He never came back. The mop head wasn't ours, and I don't think we carry the door opener, so he wasn't getting much from me.

We kept speculating as to whether or not he would return, with or without a door opener, and whether or not he stole the one he had from either a construction site or another store. We still don't know.

One man came in with a drill that didn't work. He said he had no receipt, and bought it with cash, and he wanted a new drill. I called hardware, and they said "No receipt, no trading" so I told the customer that. I was amazed at what he did next... he pulled the receipt for it out of his wallet. WTF??

Now I knew for sure the guy was a jerk. Why lie and say you have no receipt when it's in your wallet the whole time? He had bought the drill in a combo pack, so I told him that now that I knew WHEN he bought it, he should just go back and get the combo pack, and I would trade him the drill out of it. Jeebus. Why make things harder than they need to be?

So he goes back to look for the combo pack, and comes back with a sawzall ( or something like it) and a coupon that says if he buys a combo pack, he gets the sawzall free. The coupon offer was over on September 5th, and his receipt was from September 6th.

Now I know there are ways to fix that, had he bought the combo pack on the 5th. But he bought the combo pack a day late, and I would not be able to scan the coupon and make it work. I needed a manager's approval for that, and when I asked the SS lady, she said no, that he had missed the date.

The customer said that someone in hardware said he could get that offer, just to tell us in returns and we could "fix it" so he could get the sawzall free. The SS (special services) lady called the DH (department head) of hardware and asked him, and he said he could mark the sawzall down a little but he could NOT have it free. The customer's complaint was that the signs and the coupons were all hanging around hardware, and if it wasn't a promotion that was being supported, why were they still advertising it?

I kind of agreed with him on that point, but then again, it was clear that the offer ended on 9-5. Even the signs said that. Of course, I said nothing, and let the DH and SS lady handle it so I could watch and learn, and not be too involved. Heh.

The guy was not happy, and he grabbed his drill and left. (We didn't have any more combo packs, so he was going to another store to trade in his drill.) About twenty minutes later, here comes the same customer, with one of the ASMs (assistant store manager) behind him with another sawzall. The ASM had the SS lady give it to him for free. Apparently he'd pled his case to the ASM and the ASM saw his reasoning to be legitimate.

The SS lady asked me why I couldn't "fix" it, and just return his combo pack, resell it, and mark it down. I told her I didn't have the authority for it, because of the cost of the sawzall..... $179.00!!!! I only have authority for $50 markdowns. She had no clue that the sawzall was worth that much!

Had I tried it, I would have needed a manager's approval, and I can guarantee I would have been in a whole lot more shit trying to get it. Once I explained it to her like that, she understood. And that's exactly why I was happy to just stand back and watch what happened...

Norma came through for me, and is having me work Friday, and giving me Saturday AND Sunday off! Woot! The entire weekend off, my first one since the beginning of June when Kid was here for two weeks. My next one will be in October during the Hunt. You all need to come and celebrate!!

Now... on to Pogo. It IS Pogo day, after all!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

3 comments so far

Crystal Balls - 2009-09-10 16:44:52
Urgh. Well, at least the matter was resolved in a way you're not gonna be blamed for it. Sometimes you can be thankful for small reprieves!
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-09-10 19:05:57
That's a whole lot of accommodation for a customer....guess RH and I should be more pushy when we are buying things...never occurs to us to ask for discounts/freebies. LOL You certainly keep busy...and now I am thinking about salted caramels.
-------------------------------
beyondpanic - 2009-09-11 00:15:19
When I get members like that, I call it "wrestling with an octopus". Once one arm goes down, the other arm comes up. He walked out of the store and then he came back with more bullshit.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group