ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-08-15 ... 8:04 p.m.

previous - next

A typical returns day

Well today was a much easier day in returns, although I worked with another cashier who is GONE more than she's there. At one point, we had carts full of crap sitting all over, I'm getting them organized enough to go out to the store, and she's outside "greeting", standing in the sun and yawning. I told her to come in and haul a few carts to the aisles, although it took her 20 minutes to get ONE cart to the other side of the store and get back. I might just mention that to Liz.

And no day is complete without hearing, "I need to see a manager about that". This time, it was a man who didn't have his driver's license, and wanted store credit. I just say "OK" and call the HC, cause NONE of them will bend on that rule. I like it a lot that they back me up on it, as it would make me look pretty stupid to tell a customer no on something, only to have them give it to them.

I did have one cheater today though, and my favorite HC, May, was the one who came to "approve" his transaction. I had to chuckle, because I knew she wouldn't. The man had a hammer ($39.95) and a leatherman tool ($69.95) both without packaging (which means both have no UPC or SKU number). He brought the SKU for the hammer in with him, written on a piece of paper. Yeah, like I'm going to use that without checking it out first.

I went to hardware to check on the hammer, and on the way I happened to run into May. I told her what was going on, and she told me to just get it all ready and she would bring the ASM to ok it.

I knew it wouldn't be ok, and of course, it "suspended" which meant I needed a manager to approve the transaction. May was there with Jane, our only female ASM, who calmly told him that we would not accept any returns any more without packaging and a receipt. He didn't ask why. I think he knew. The nice thing is, Jane logged his attempt to return, which will flag his driver's license number in every Depot NATIONWIDE so he will not ever be able to return things for store credit again. Yeah, bummer, huh?

Now I'll tell you why she did this. When his return history came up, it was all store credit items, and all hardware items. And almost all of them were $30 or more. No one returns that many things without receipts... at least not hardware items. Look at it this way. If you bought a leatherman tool for $70, (and he returned one last week) wouldn't you save your receipt? He claims to have bought two of them.. and no receipt? No credit card to look them up? He told Jane he was "cleaning out his garage". I wonder just whose garage he's cleaning out! Or where he stole the items.

Oh well. He won't be returning anything for a while. He can steal it as much as he wants, but with no receipt, he won't be returning anything. Heh.

Thankfully my day ended at the Depot and I came home. I wanted to do my laundry but didn't have enough quarters, so it was off to the store for me. At least I got tomorrow's shopping done, and I can just chill tomorrow. And now that I have a microwave, I can buy some other products that are made for microwaves... now the question is, what do I try first??

previous - next

Kiss Me!

6 comments so far

psis - 2009-08-16 15:19:18
I can't belive you could live without a microwave for a year. I can't believe they don't make you have a store receipt for all returns if they are not in the original box.
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-08-16 17:29:06
LOL about the guy getting "marked" in the computer so he can't return any more items. And re: microwave, have you tried Orville Redenbacher's caramel popcorn? Yummo!
-------------------------------
Kitsch - 2009-08-16 19:46:14
Thought of you today while I was at the Deepoh of Home, ordering $7,000 in windows. Oy!
-------------------------------
Holly - 2009-08-16 23:52:30
Many of our customers don't realize we keep a record of everything. If they've returned the same item (ie ordered, returned ordered again returned etc..) we will no longer give refunds. we also check wghts on pkgs before shipping missing items, as well as check order history on broken, missing items etc. I can only assume all major companies do this. But yet customers think they can get away with this shit.
-------------------------------
beyondpanic - 2009-08-17 02:22:31
What should you microwave first? One of my favorites it to cover hard pretzels with mozzarella or any kind of cheese - put it in the microwave for 20 or 30 seconds and then eat that for a snack. Very tasty.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2009-08-17 03:12:30
I don't really use my microwave for cooking, so I can't really help you on that. Ooo unless you like steamed veggies. They have these SteamFresh packets in the frozen section that have seasoned veggies that you nuke for about 4 mins. Also steaming a bit of broccoli with a tiny bit of water -- NOM. We used to check our customers at Microcenter for their return history. Fortunately I never ran into many folks who tried to cheat, but they do exist. I wonder if that guy has stolen items from other stores that have bad security, and is bringing them to HD knowing that they would charge more for the item than say, Wal-Mart.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group