ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-09-03 ... 7:17 p.m.

previous - next

Up early on my day off, a short visit

I got to bed late last night and was all ready to sleep late this morning, and have a lazy kind of day, but I got a text at 6AM from my darling son about the price of a textbook. It apparently couldn't have waited until a more reasonable hour.

So as long as I was up, I did kind of laze around until I had my coffee and bagel, and instead of getting up at 9, I was off to the grocery store at 9. Henry's first. They have avocados for 88 cents this week. It will be the first time in ages I have had avocados, and I only bought two. They were very small, and either overripe, or hard as rocks. It must not be avocado season yet.

But considering I bought a pear the other day, and it was $1.17, I guess 88 cents isn't that bad. Oh well.

Once I was finished with my shopping, and a round of hand-washable laundry, I decided to go to Old Town and just walk around there. I wanted to take some pictures of some of the cool things they have for sale there, but guess what I forgot? That's right, my camera.

I bought some of these salted caramels. They only sell them in maybe two places in San Diego, and Old Town is one of them. Interestingly enough, they are made in Montana. And yes, quite delicious.

I got home in time to pick up the house a bit, since Mr D was supposed to come over. He has been sick lately, and busy with school, so I haven't seen him much. I asked if he wanted to come over today before work when I talked to him on the phone yesterday. He said he would... but then I never heard from him. I was thinking he was standing me up (although we weren't GOING anywhere) but he came to stay for about 10 minutes before he had to leave for work.

He does still look a bit under the weather. He just wasn't his old cheery self, and obviously a bit less than enthusiastic about going to work. He'd called in sick on Tuesday, so he really had to show up today. Poor guy. He said he slept most of the afternoon.

He must be sick. He didn't even want me to kiss him. Heh.

I was supposed to have tomorrow off, but I'm working at 9:30, and having off on Sunday. I realize now that my hours had been cut a bit for next week because of the holiday.. I get 4 hours pay whether I work or not, and they took 4 hours off my schedule to make up for that. Too bad Norma allowed me to add them back on. Heh.

Blue has been made full-time. Rumors were going around that she was going to be a head cashier, but that was untrue, and I know that because I asked her myself. She is now the "Credits Captain" in charge of the Depot credit cards, and opening accounts, and that sort of thing. I can't imagine she will enjoy it that much, since for one thing, she isn't really computer literate and it's all done on the computer. I guess we'll have to wait and see.

The person who WAS the credits captain is who I thought was getting the HC job, which actually isn't available right now. But (another rumor, from a reliable source this time) I heard she is going to apply for the position of Department Head of the millworks department. There hasn't been a DH there for two months. No one who works in that department WANTS the job. That says something, doesn't it?

She's been taking classes to learn the department, and I'm reasonably sure she will get the position. It will be interesting to see how the men who work in that department will react to having her (may as well call her Millie!) as their boss. She is not generally well liked by her co-workers. Only time will tell.

I love good gossip!! Hee!

The new people who moved in are pretty quiet, although one of their kids cries a lot. Not just crying, but screaming and wailing. I'm not sure what's going on with the kid, but I know when his mom left today he wailed for about 15 minutes. I'm sure glad I'm gone all day, cause I couldn't stand that. I am SO glad neither of my kids were that whiny, although maybe they were and I've blocked it from my memory. I'm just grateful they are adults. Heh. Except I would like to take someone's cell phone away.....

previous - next

Kiss Me!

6 comments so far

princesscee - 2009-09-04 03:22:38
Ooo! Kissing? Awesome! And hey, books ARE expensive! I paid 430 bucks for just two classes.
-------------------------------
Fifi - 2009-09-04 09:54:12
Oooh, I adore those caramels! Every one is a perfection! XOFifi
-------------------------------
Carolyn - 2009-09-04 11:43:16
I've never heard of those caramels, although they're made 10 miles from my little town. I'll be looking for them now.
-------------------------------
beyondpanic - 2009-09-04 13:44:54
What is it with the screaming kids lately? I'm thinking they've been screaming all along but I've finally reached the age where I can hear them. Of course, I can't hear anything else, but I can hear those damn kids! heeheehee
-------------------------------
roomie - 2009-09-04 15:47:20
Hey Nancy, tell Michael to get his books on half.com Jessika gets all her school books from that site and saves so much money. It really does work. They are not all new but always in good shape, and cheap. sometimes it's even less than half.
-------------------------------
beanie - 2009-09-04 15:58:37
Roomie, I DID get the books I could from half.com, thats who sent me the wrong one. Two of the books he needed this semester are specific to his school, so they weren't available anywhere but at the bookstore on campus. But normally I get them from half.com
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group