ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-03-06 ... 6:28 p.m.

previous - next

I feel a void in my life!

First, thanks for all your comments. The reason the house was burned down was because the land and buildings were sold to a developer, and they didn't want to use the house for anything. As long as it was going to be demolished anyway, the Fire Department wanted to burn it for practice.. I'm not sure if they wanted to practice burning it, or putting it out.. they burned the barn, too but they did it at night..
Photobucket

The barn was burned while I was there, taking pictures. The house was burned the weekend I came to San Diego for Journal Con in 2005. MBro took most of the house fire pictures.

Anyway.... on to work today. It was void day. Voids are done on a register when a transaction needs to be changed but it's too far along to go back..

My first void was for a man who had a government credit card (he was in the Coast Guard) and they USUALLY just deduct the tax, since government purchases are tax exempt. He wanted to make sure, and since I'd already accepted his card in the register, I needed to void out the transaction to make sure the tax was removed. Then I rerang his stuff up, but forgot to add on the propane he needed, and since he'd slid his card again, I needed another void. Sheesh! Finally, on the third time around, I got it completed.

A couple of customers later, I had a man who wanted to use his Discover card, but it was declining it. I discovered (heh) that it was a new card, and I asked if he'd activated it, and he wasn't sure. I sent him over to special services to use the phone, but I needed a void to clear the computer of his transaction. That was #3.

Only a manager or a head cashier can void a transaction, which I'm sure is a security/loss prevention issue, so I was keeping everyone pretty busy.

Then I get this lady, who has almost $500 worth of stuff in her cart. She's using a Depot of Home commercial card, and when I slid it, it prompted me to call the offices. So I did. Of course, as soon as I pick up the phone, the rest of the customers in my line disappear. Ha! Credit services told her she needed to make a payment on her card, and then she could use her card to pay for her stuff.

So she writes me a check for over $600, and I have to void out her transaction to apply her payment to her Depot card. I rering up all of her stuff, try to run her card again, and it declines it. Fuuuuuck! So I have to call the credit offices again, and they tell her that the previous person we talked to was wrong, and that she can't use her card because her account had been delinquent, and it will take a few days to clear it up. So she used a different card to pay.

HOWEVER one of the things she had purchased was a gift card, which she wanted to use for a company write-off, and since it had been on the transaction, she had paid for it with her personal card. So I told her the only way we could get it off her bill was to void out the transaction and rering it all without the gift card. That was void #5. This was all before lunch! She asked me "Do you feel a void in your life??" when I explained that I had had several voids already this morning. Cripes. I go weeks without one!

But at the end, she thanked me for being so patient, and told me the story of how she'd gone into a different Depot and had been treated rudely, and how much she appreciated me. Awwww. But she was very unhappy with the credit services, so I told her to go online and leave a comment, and she promised to tell them how wonderful I was! Woot!

Thankfully, going to lunch changed things, and I only had one last void at the end of the day, because a man was trying to use his wife's credit card, and I wouldn't let him. He said he was going to the bank for cash, and he would be right back, but after about a half hour, he still hadn't shown up. My guess is that he won't. I think he might be the same man from a few months ago who tried to use his wife's card, and when I wouldn't let him, he called me a pain in the ass. Oh well... better a pain in the ass than unemployed!

Thankfully, that was the end of my day, and the end of the voids. At least for now. I don't work until Sunday, so I'm safe for tomorrow! Hee!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

5 comments so far

Sis - 2009-03-07 03:45:07
The "bed-thing" in the toy room (from yesterday's blog), was a 'fainting couch' a real antique! And I wish I had that too! People just couldn't imangine how many toys were in that room! The best fun was playing in there after Mom had cleaned it up!
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2009-03-07 08:01:24
You know, I went back and looked at the doors again, the doors themselves are different from mine, but the molding (door frames) around them is identical! Mose of my door frames haven't been painted, but I think all of my doors have. I am glad some of them were saved!
-------------------------------
Carolyn - 2009-03-07 14:02:40
Your day sounds like one of those nightmares where you're trying to do something and no matter how hard you try, you cannot get it done! Enjoy your day off.
-------------------------------
Crystal Balls - 2009-03-07 16:28:10
Awww, well at least you survived the void. Does this mean you're not a redshirt? (Sorry, couldn't resist the bad Star Trek joke.)
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-03-07 16:53:20
I think I feel another Homer in your future! Wow, that void in your day must have made you feel so frustrated. Funny how things happen that way. Hope you are enjoying your day off and everything went right for you.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group