ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-05-26 ... 6:56 p.m.

previous - next

Volunteer for a day, and travel plans

It was quite an interesting night last night. After I posted, and after it got dark, I heard some loud noises and shouting upstairs.. I knew what was coming next. I heard my noisy neighbor yelling for everyone to get out of his apartment, and the next thing I knew, I heard them all pounding down the steps. I closed and locked my door, and closed my blinds.. it was only about another ten minutes before the police came (!!!) to break up the fight between my neighbor and his best friend (about 9:30). What a loser. They pretty much wrecked one of the bushes in my courtyard. I had almost hoped one of them would have fallen into my table of cacti. It would have served them right.

Apparently I wasn't the only one drinking tequila last night. At least I don't scream and pick fights.

Today I volunteered at the auto museum. It was Freak Tuesday, when all the county residents get in for free. There were a lot of people in the museum, and a few who just didn't understand the rules. Just because it's a car, doesn't mean you should touch it. It wasn't the children so much as the adults who ignored the signs that said DO NOT TOUCH THE CARS. I sent a lot of bored kids over to the "explore" exhibit where there was a car and motorcycle to play on. Like I said, the problem was mostly the adults.

But I had a good time walking around the museum and talking to people and of course, looking at the cars. The biggest attraction by far was the Louis Mattar Cadillac. The staff brought it out more into the middle and there was always a crowd around it.

This one is still my favorite!
Photobucket

It's that need for speed... my kids will tell you all about my lead foot...

After about 5 hours of walking around the floor I decided to come home, drop my stuff, and meet Poolagirl at Lion Coffee for an end of the day coffee. It was nice to sit outside and relax.

The only fly in the proverbial ointment today was that Kid's travel plans have changed. She was going to do a road trip out here with one of her friends, who now has to work the weekend they were planning on being here. So Kid is going to fly out for her whole two weeks! Woot! It will be nice to have her here for that long, although there is no way I can take all that time off of work. I'm hoping they will let me change my schedule a bit for next week.. and since it hasn't come out yet for the week after, I'm hoping I can work that out too. I have plans for the two of them......

I know Kid wants to spend time at the beach, and I know she wants to go to Mexico at least once. Her friend is flying out the next week, but she doesn't have a passport so we can't take her with. Travel rules have changed, and you need a passport to cross the border. With me working most of the days, there will be plenty of time for them to go to the beach and the zoo if they decide to. Bummer. I wish I could afford to just not work both weeks, but I'm sure they will survive without me.

Now I have to get my best pleading voice working so I can get a decent schedule while they are here.....

previous - next

Kiss Me!

4 comments so far

Sis - 2009-05-27 03:00:13
I know Kid was looking forward to the road trip,but sometimes things happen for a reason and maybe she just wasn't supposed to do a road trip. She'll be able to relax for the whole 2 weeks! Hope your schedule works out for the best!
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2009-05-27 03:38:52
OK, if the kids won't second your need for speed, let me! I thought I was bad! At least I know where all of the speed traps are, so I could warn you!
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-05-27 03:44:02
Thanks for the help!
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-05-27 18:19:32
Hopefully the latest with the drunk neighbor will be enough to get him out of your apt. area. Especially since the police were called this time. Bet you are anxious to see your daughter...sounds like you will be having some fun.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group