ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-06-24 ... 5:38 p.m.

previous - next

Volunteering for Poolie

I made a little trip around my neighborhood this morning. Instead of turning left at the first big intersection, I turned right. I was looking for a post office that was somewhat close to my house. I found a whole lot of stores and things I didn't even know were there. More than anything else, I found schools. There must be a lot of kids living somewhere near me!

Speaking of kids, Poolagirl is doing summer camp at the museum this week. Today they were working with clay, so I thought I would volunteer to help her with it. I need to stop doing that. The kids were pretty high-energy and just watching them tired me out.!

The lessons (of course) are all about cars. My bossman gave a short speech on the "Characters of the History of Cars" or something like that. It was very interesting. He talked about who did what and when... He even had pictures of all of the men he talked about, Henry Ford, Olds, Dunlop...

After that, all the kids went outside to play for a while. I had a phone call (about a job) that I needed to deal with, so I left Poolie out standing in the sun to watch the kids play.

The next part of the day was making hood ornaments out of clay. I didn't make any, I just took pictures of them, and stood by to help if anyone needed it. But dang, those kids wore me out! I was tired after only a couple hours. Really, I can see why Poolie is always beat after work. I'm looking forward to the Depot of Home, it will be less work than volunteering!

I thought I had nothing to do tomorrow, but the more I sit here and think, the more I think of to do. I doubt that HD will call tomorrow, I'm guessing it will likely be Thursday, so tomorrow might be my last day for errands for a while. And I have an interview tomorrow for a "personal assistant" type of thing, for someone who needs help organizing things in her office and at home. Sounds like it's right up my alley.... Jane of all trades, master of none. Heh.

It didn't seem as hot today as it was yesterday, or maybe I'm just getting used to it. I haven't seen or heard from Mr Fix-It yet, maybe he just takes the first part of the week off... and the last part, and works the two days in the middle. That seems to be how it's been. I guess I'll have to leave him a note if I'm not going to be home! In the meantime, I still have my little fishy fan. I got batteries for it, so it really throws some air around now!

Time to eat..

previous - next

Kiss Me!

12 comments so far

art - 2008-06-25 02:51:40
bring on the air conditioning!
-------------------------------
Gopheroo - 2008-06-25 03:01:25
WOW - volunteering?!?! You are one brave lady!!!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-06-25 03:05:19
There are portable AC units - not window setups but wheeled ones. Not sure what your budget will allow but it might be worth the outlay to check into 'em. My guess is you'll find them at the Depot of Home. ;) (After employee discount, naturally!)
-------------------------------
psis - 2008-06-25 03:26:32
the best thing to cool off is to get a bucket or some kind of pan to put 3 or 4 inches of water in--just put your feet in for about 20 minutes and that will cool you off or else wait for home depot to give you a good deal!
-------------------------------
poolie - 2008-06-25 03:45:14
Beat is right!
-------------------------------
Aristocratic Red - 2008-06-25 05:30:03
Good luck with the interview! :)
-------------------------------
Carolyn - 2008-06-25 11:24:49
Our office has a huge corkboard where all the openings in the district are posted. Periodically I'll think how nice it would be to work the school year and have summers off, so I'll look at the postings. Then I remember that working the school year = working with children 8 hours a day. Then I lose the desire for summers off. Kids are exhausting!
-------------------------------
l\'empress - 2008-06-25 12:27:32
Blue Opal has a good point; I've seen those units advertised (for delivery!) from Costco. I am always in favor of volunteering -- for networking, for learning. And for remembering that kids will wear you out. But I used to tell them at the school, "I'm not paid to put up with that behavior. I'm a volunteer."
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-06-25 14:59:32
Kids are EXHAUSTING. I don't know how Poolie does it!
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2008-06-25 17:20:25
psis is so right! When my feet are hot, the rest is all down hill from there! And it's pretty warm where I work. The air isn't working right in this brand new building (go figure) and we can't wear sandals. Oh well.....live goes on...sweating or not! lol
-------------------------------
Terri T. - 2008-06-25 18:25:26
Congratulations on the job with HD! It will be nice for you to have the benefits and have a regular paycheck coming in....I imagine it won't be long before you are offered a full-time job especially if they are as busy as you believe. And I hope the personal assistant job works out too. You are really settling in quickly. Now it sounds like you might have to complain to the landlord AGAIN about the remaining things Mr. Fix-It hasn't done. Having some a/c seems extremely important ....
-------------------------------
capitolady - 2008-06-25 19:42:30
Hot is sure right. Maybe you can get a discount on an A/c unit at HD. Wow you are truly brave to voluteer to help out with the kids.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group