ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-11-15 ... 5:23 p.m.

previous - next

Waiting at Lion Coffee and other stuff

Just sitting here in Lion coffee waiting for Poolie. I don't often have early hours when Poolie is off, so it's nice to be able to take advantage of it and meet when we can!

Work was kind of a drag today, although I was out in garden all day, and it was a beautiful day! Until about 2PM when it got really warm... and it wasn't just me, either. It was over 80 today, I'm sure. Not that I'm complaining....

Our young cashier who had an asthma attack is still in intensive care. No one was sure last night if he would survive the night. I feel so bad for his mother. He is still in a coma, and his heart has stopped a couple of times, but so far they have been able to bring him back. It's made the cashiers as a whole pretty subdued the past few days.

There is one garden employee who is also a cashier, and she "helps" when we are busy, except she never seems to be around when we really need her. When I told her she needed to cover a register when Brian was going to lunch, her only reply was that "I have to take a break first". But she had 45 minutes to do that and get back, but she never returned. That left me when Brian went to lunch They are two cashiers short inside, so they didn't have help to send me.

Oh well, I'm out of work now and I don't have to worry about it. What a nice feeling! Good to be able to leave work at work.

I cancelled my health insurance at work, effective in January, so my next project is finding something new. Shouldn't be too hard. I can easily find much better coverage for only about $20 a month more through AARP, or even an independent broker. It will be enough for now.

Time for another cup of coffee. Refills are only 50 cents! Woot!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

8 comments so far

Kathy - 2008-11-16 03:05:53
I feel so bad for you what with it being so warm and all! My gosh! You poor poor thing! If you were back here, your nose would been running with snot due to the high of 32 and the stiff wind blowing in the even colder air! I'magonnahurtyou...
-------------------------------
Shippie - 2008-11-16 03:30:03
How scary for that kid with the asthma attack. I've got asthma myself, and have had some scary times but never that bad. Yikes! Glad you got to lunch with butthead!
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-11-16 04:50:11
I get no respect! Being called "butthead" by my own niece!
-------------------------------
Rattus Regina - 2008-11-16 05:53:32
Mmmm...Lion Coffee...so jealous of both you and the cap'n! =D
-------------------------------
Sherry - 2008-11-16 14:54:29
Jeez....that poor kid (and definitely his mom!).
-------------------------------
fightn4life - 2008-11-16 15:33:48
I left a comment yesterday and my computer went bonkers. It didn't show up. :( I spent the next four hours working on it, thank goodness I found the problem with out calling for help. ($$$) I am so glad your new life is giving you so much joy. I think of you often. Sandyz
-------------------------------
Terri T. - 2008-11-16 17:26:31
I have to admit those warm temps sure sound good. It's cold and damp and chilly and overcast and windy here. UGH! Sounds like you might have to say something about that missing-in-action cashier if she continues to ignore your requests to help cover a checkout station.
-------------------------------
requiel - 2008-11-16 17:54:26
Mmmmmm.....I miss the warm weather. I can't imagine how scary it would be to have an asthma attack. I'm so glad I don't have that. Poor kid.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group