ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-10-03 ... 8:39 p.m.

previous - next

Picture day!

Be prepared for a lot of pictures.. I decided to get off my butt this morning and start walking again. It was really a nice morning, since there were clouds and the sun wasn't shining brightly at all. I decided to go check out the canyon, which is aptly named, "Juniper Canyon".

Photobucket

I went to the little park at the end of my street. The sprinklers were on, but I really didn't want to get wet! I tried to avoid them, and the wet cement so I wouldn't slip.

Photobucket

There are a lot of paths going down into the canyon. I picked the one I thought would take me behind my house. It did, but in a roundabout kind of way.

Photobucket

I could have gone straight down into the canyon, but I would have to have gone down this:

Photobucket

Which was almost straight down. I found a different way down which was still rock covered, but not nearly as steep. I tend to go down these with my feet sideways. That way, if I slip, I don't head down the hill face first.

Photobucket

I found some interesting things. A large vampire snake killed by a stake to the heart?? No. Erosion control.

Photobucket

The Flintstone mobile...

Photobucket

And a prehistoric fish

Photobucket

This wasn't as interesting as it was scary.. I don't really want to meet what lives down in those holes!

Photobucket

Here's the back of my house. It's the odd colored one.

Photobucket

And large snails, on dead branches. Interesting, no? Once I noticed them, I saw them everywhere!

Photobucket

Time to turn back to home. I much preferred the sandy paths

Photobucket

To this one, but I had to take this one to get from one sandy path to the other. It makes the walk less relaxing than the ones I used to take in Cowtown that were all paved. But it's a much better workout!

Photobucket

I did see some beautiful plants. These smelled really good!

Photobucket

There are always prickly things around:

Photobucket

Fuzzy things:

Photobucket

Leafy ones:

Photobucket

Succulents:

Photobucket

Photobucket

And wonder of all wonders, the way home!

Photobucket

But you have to love a place where even the sidewalks are covered with flowers!

Photobucket

It was a good workout though! I was breathing pretty hard from climbing that last set of hills. And of course, I forgot to wear my pedometer. I will have to try to remember that tomorrow!

Then I took a shower and went to work. I am scheduled for 40 hours for next week, and 16 the week after. WTF?? I wish the schedule would be a little more consistent. One of the other cashiers is scheduled for 48, even though we aren't supposed to work any overtime. She graciously offered me her extra 8 hours, which I took... but I'm beginning to wonder if I should just be looking for employment elsewhere. I think I might just check out some of the temp agencies around and see what I can find there. I would like to stay at the Depot just for the benefits.. but I would really only need to work one day every two weeks to pay for that. But, I am going to wait until after Tombstone, 18 MORE DAYS!!! and then I will see what's happening at the Depot. Plus I need to talk to Norma about this. Oh well.

It was a long eight hours today. I was busy enough, but the last 3 hours just dragged. I don't know why, because that's when I went out to the garden. It didn't look like anyone had swept the floor at all today, but it does tend to get dirty quickly. And it was cool enough out there compared to inside. People were even wearing jackets! Heh.

Oh well. Right now I am only looking forward to Tombstone, and nothing is more important than that. Friends, hugs, laughter and giant flaming puffies. What more could a person ask for???


previous - next

Kiss Me!

7 comments so far

Blue Opal - 2008-10-04 05:53:51
I know the walk is more challenging but it's a trade off for the REST of your life being so much better. Good luck on the job hunt. There's bound to be something full time there somewhere!
-------------------------------
ladybug-red - 2008-10-04 12:39:24
Thanks for sharing the pictures. I miss California!
-------------------------------
Rebekah - 2008-10-04 12:46:20
i just drove l'empress to the train station (to go to boston to meet her granddaughter!) & when we passed a blue house, she thought, aloud, of you.
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-10-04 13:35:25
You had a great adventure! Glad you liked your hike, lady! Less than three weeks before we leave! Can you believe that???
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2008-10-04 19:00:37
I'm getting so excited! Tombstone ain't never gonna be the same after this!
-------------------------------
mz. em - 2008-10-04 19:22:21
The photos were wonderful. You live in a beautiful area and I love the color of your house.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-10-05 02:22:44
And just think -- you'll be able to walk all winter long without fear of slipping on the ice!! What a lovely place to walk. You're a lucky lady, my friend.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group