ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-09-06 ... 5:08 p.m.

previous - next

Walking without a camera

It definitely is cooling off a bit around here, at least at night. The air that blows in my bedroom window is a bit chilly about 4AM. So even if it's still hot during the day, it cools off nicely at night.

I had today off, and just kind of vegged this morning. My only project was to get some bananas, and I was kind of thinking of going to the mall, and walking around there, just for a bit of exercise. I'm sure the beach was way too busy today, so I figured the mall would be fine.

Instead, I decided to walk to Henry's and get some bananas. I even thought that I could take my camera, but of course, I forgot it. I realized I'd left it at home when I stopped at the "tropical garden" sale place a couple blocks away.

They had some of the most amazing cacti and succulents! And way more than I thought. I definitely will have to take my camera and go back there! And some money, too.

It didn't take that long to get to Henry's, it was just the hill up to there that was the most exercise. I got my bananas and a couple other things (ONE bay leaf, bluesleepy), and came back home. I sat down, and was about to take off my shoes, when I noticed I had an email. Heh. Emails always take priority!

It was from a freecycler, who was giving me some free stuff, and she lived pretty close to me, so I figured I'd just walk over there. I grabbed a bottle of water (and forgot my camera again) and headed over there. On my way home, I stopped at one of the neighborhood "markets" that are about every 2 blocks or so. They are mini-marts, or convenience stores, and carry those things you need in a hurry... but mostly they carry liquor.

I figured as long as I was there, I would buy a couple of candy bars. I was talking to the guy who ran it about Patron tequila. They have the little teeny bottles that are $8, and the liters that are $21. I asked the guy if he thought it was worth the money, and he just smiled and said, "some people think so".

I told him that I'd gone to Mexico and the store I was in didn't sell Patron, and I wondered why. He had no clue either. We chatted for about five minutes while I enjoyed the coolness of the store, and then I made my way home again.

When I got here, I thought I would stick my candy bars in the freezer. (Milky Way Midnights.. mmm they are the best frozen!) When I opened the door, I noticed that things were pretty frosty, and indeed, some things were actually partly thawed. I would hate for my freezer to not be working! So I closed the door, and realized that it didn't close all the way, because my little frozen thing I put in my lunch bag was keeping the door open.

Jeebus. I put that in there last night. So I guess I will be having salmon for supper one of these nights, as that was the thing that was partially thawed that I really didn't want to refreeze. Everything else was pretty much ok.

See, when something tells you to buy candy bars, you have to listen! I probably wouldn't have noticed that until tomorrow morning when I got my (not) frozen thing out for my lunch. Dang.

The rest of the day I just lounged around. I did my laundry last night, which was a stroke of luck, because the laundry room was busy most of the day today.

Tomorrow, back to work. I open the next two days, although tomorrow is a late opening due to the holiday. I still am waiting to see what happens for the weekend, if I can get off on Sunday or not, but I probably won't say anything if I don't. Maybe. I might. I'll have to wait and see if Norma mentions it again.....

I also watered my cacti today. My jade plant was looking a bit desiccated (neener) and that's usually the indication that the rest of them need water too. I filled up my hummingbird feeders (and was complimented by one of my neighbors on them) and folded the laundry... did the dishes.. just kind of used the day to catch up on chores.

Not much else here....

previous - next

Kiss Me!

2 comments so far

mpeacock - 2009-09-07 03:33:47
I love chore days!
-------------------------------
wordwhore - 2009-09-07 07:06:24
patron is worth the money - as long as it is yellow or, better, orange (i don't remember the color of the "silver", but then i don't like any kind of tequila that is clear). i wish it was that cheap here!! also, if you ever find it cheap or there is a sample, you should try corazon, if you haven't. it's expensive, but smoooooth...
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group