ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-01-10 ... 10:15 p.m.

previous - next

More weird customers

I didn't have to work until 1:30 today, so I slept late and then just vegged around the house, got my lunch packed and played some Pogo. Not going to get too involved in things before having to work.

Returns was pretty well cleaned up when I got there, but Missy took her break as soon as I got there, and I wasn't even done counting out my till when the other cashier was closing hers. Well, it was pretty busy, and I was working as hard as I could, and suddenly there was a long line. The head cashier was not happy that the two had left me all alone when it was so busy. I told her I wasn't really paying attention to when they left, because there were customers to help!

Whatever. Missy came back proclaiming "OK, so I had a 35 minute lunch" when really it was 45. Maybe she was only punched out for 35, but she has to stop and talk to every good looking young male, and a few of the older ones, so you know it took her a while to get back! Heh.

After my lunch, she left, and I had the place to myself. I kind of like it that way. A man came in with a pump, and wanted to return it. He had his receipt, and when I scanned it, the computer told me that it had already been returned. He told me that wasn't possible, since he had it in his hand. I told him that it had, but since he kept arguing with me, I just got Liz from Special Services, since she is the department head and has "head cashier" standing.

She told him that the item had already been returned, (It was $219) and the computer didn't make a mistake, and she wasn't giving him any money or anything, since it was already returned. He didn't like her "attitude" which seemed fine to me, so he wanted a manager.

The manager came, and told him that he would have a talk with Liz, but that the system could not be overrode, and that maybe there WAS a bug in the system, but there wasn't anything he could do about it. I just keep my mouth shut and listen.

When he left, the ASM told me that this guy is a thief, that he had tried returning the SAME item once before, when it had already been returned. Since the guy had purchased it with a debit card, he was given cash the first time. This is the THIRD time he's returned this item. The ASM said that the last time he'd tried returning it, he'd been drunk, so maybe he didn't remember talking to him, but that he definitely would not EVER give him anything if there was a question about it.

Which story reminded me of a customer who came in earlier in the day, who was trashed. he brought in a box of flooring, the wood pieces, that looked kind of broken up and damaged, and wanted a refund cause he had too many boxes, and he didn't need this one. I asked for his receipt, and he didn't have any. He claimed to have paid cash for it, and he wanted cash back. I told him THREE times that I could give him store credit, but it seemed that he didn't hear me, because he asked if I wasn't going to do anything for him. I told him again, I could give him store credit for it all, but that was it. He picked up the box and left. Hmm. Guess he only wanted cash. Bummer to be him.

And now it's late, and I have to work in the morning at 9, so I need to be heading off to bed soon. At least the weather was warm today, what I saw of it. Sunny and pleasant. Yay!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

7 comments so far

fairygodmum - 2009-01-11 08:16:12
Yeah.. we used to get people taking items off the shelf, bring it to customer service to return. We'd usually catch them on video tape then security would walk them in the back room.... Surprisingly one lady I recognized this as a habitual shop of the shelf thief. She was with her kids. Now that's what I can setting a good example of What NOT to Do!
-------------------------------
sduckie - 2009-01-11 09:30:30
I never knew so many people spent their time trying to scam H0m3 D3p0t!
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2009-01-11 14:01:58
One of these days, very soon, I'll be getting trained on the Customer Service Desk. Then I too can share crazy "return stories". One of the nicest guys at work (a cashier) often works the return desk when they're short handed and it's really hard on him cuz folks are so nasty. The urge to reach out and touch someone (with a 2x4) is pretty overwhelming sometimes, I guess. I can't wait! LMAO
-------------------------------
Rebekah - 2009-01-11 14:32:13
I wish the ASM had backed Liz instead of saying he'd have a talk with her. Yeah, the ASM was talking to a known thief... but there are just times when the customer doesn't deserved to be appeased.
-------------------------------
LA - 2009-01-11 16:48:41
I'm with duckie, who knew there was such a scam market? Sheesh. Doing such a thing would never occur to me. Good on you for being a vigilant return person and stopping these fools. ~LA
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-01-11 17:50:21
wonder if the customer could be told, we take your picture with the return item and it's in our computer....might be fun to see their face when they hear that....I also thought that when item was returned, the cashier/return clerk made a notation on my receipt. Of course, I don't often return anything so I could be wrong. It does sound like there is a return scam mentality that I had no knowledge of before this....wow....
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2009-01-11 18:05:23
I think terri t has a good idea. Just tell the customers there's a security camera at the returns desk and you record. Can't hurt. *Shrugs*
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group