ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-07-25 ... 5:31 p.m.

previous - next

Why do I stay?

Back to work today. And I opened returns, so I was there at 5:25. Too bad the manager couldn't be bothered to open the door until 5:33, making all of us waiting out there late for work. Jerk. Oh well, we don't get docked pay unless it's seven minutes or more.

And it was a fairly slow day in returns. We have this BIG bin we put the RTV (return to vendor) stuff in, and usually the late person brings an empty one up when she starts her shift, but it was only about half full today by the time I left. Of course, part of the reason was that very few of our returns was anything very big, but usually it is overflowing by 2PM.

My new schedule for the week after next was so horrible that I almost starting crying. I'm kind of touchy that early in the morning and it doesn't take much. They cut all our part time hours, to have hours to give all the new people they are hiring. That makes a LOT of sense, doesn't it? Jeebus.

Anyway, Norma told me that she wants me to open all the time on weekends because I'm so reliable, and when she looked at my schedule, she was pretty unhappy, since the scheduler didn't do ANYTHING Norma told her to do. I told her to feel free to change my schedule at will, that I didn't mind at all! I have (I think) about 35 hours, so that's not too bad. Ugh. I'm really getting disgusted. I know, some of you probably wonder what took me so long, but I just have the feeling I need to stay there a bit longer... until THE job comes along, or until I get so fed up that I take anything that happens by. We'll see.

So it was a tired Beanie who made her way home from work this afternoon. I tried to stay awake, really I did, but I know I dozed for a few minutes in the chair. I plan on going to bed really early tonight, since I have to work at 6:30 tomorrow. That's not quite as bad..

I just hate going to bed before the sun goes down, but then again, with my eyes closed, I won't know if the sun is down or not!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

5 comments so far

wordy - 2009-07-26 01:39:17
personally, with the current job market, i'm not questioning why you're still there...well, that and my sister's job is at least as bad when it comes to scheduling and hours and not having a clue which end is up. for instance, she has never had availability on wednesday, the whole time she's worked there. yet 8 out of every 10 schedules? she will be scheduled for wednesday, often as the only closer. so, i guess i'm saying - hang in there, the next place could be worse! =)
-------------------------------
psis - 2009-07-26 02:43:02
Hang in there--in the healthcare system that I work in, an agency came in and said 7.5% of all lab employees must go--10% of all pharmacy staff must go, so your HD job would look pretty good to those who are getting the ax up here!
-------------------------------
Rose - 2009-07-26 13:19:11
Stay strong and be persistent in finding the right job for you. It will come along (hopefully sooner than later). You're a tough cookie and things will come around. Know that I think of you often.
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-07-26 15:17:53
With the economy the way it is now and employment so difficult, I think many employers are pushing their people to the max...thinking they will stay to have a job. Hopefully you will get that interview and an HC job so things look better for you...Good luck on the other explorations of employment too.
-------------------------------
Char - 2009-07-26 23:34:21
I agree with psis, and the right job WILL come along when the time is right. Good luck!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group