ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-08-09 ... 6:55 p.m.

previous - next

I'm winning the contest!

I had to work early this morning. After working until closing last night, I was pretty tired this morning. But I made it to work. I actually had a pretty fun day.

Norma had me go to the back room and pull out all the boxes of candy and food that is sold on the front end. Someone is supposed to come in and work all of it, but since there were 6 boxes sitting in the back and they hadn't been touched, we just loaded them up on a cart and hauled them up to the registers.

I had a ball, stocking gum, candy bars, chips, beef jerky and all the other junk. I worked on it for almost two hours, until it was time for my break when Norma said we had to quit. Bummer.

But she was right, it got pretty busy after that. There is a "contest" going on for the cashiers to see who can sell the most of a group of items. It's not really like "selling" it to customers, but just ringing up what they want to buy. Then we have to remember (there's the trick) to make a duplicate receipt so we can prove what we sold, and mark the amounts on a sheet.

One of the items is a teeny little clamp. One of my customers bought 84 of them, and said she was looking for more. I sent her to the front door, where she found a box of 210, which she brought back to MY register. So I am starting the game with 294 of ONE item. I sold 16 other things during the rest of the morning, so I am in the lead.

I made the comment that "Blue can't win every contest" although she tries, and one of the cashiers agreed with me, and applauded my efforts. The only problem is, I'm in returns the next two weeks, and likely won't have much opportunity to SELL anyone any of the items. Oh well, I might just be far enough in the lead to win! Heh.

So that made my day pretty exciting. Everyone (except one man) was in a good mood, and even though there weren't many cashiers, we all had a good time.

After work I went to see Poolie's coworker in the hospital. He was eating M & Ms when I got there, and he looked pretty good. We sat and talked for about a half hour. He started looking kind of tired, so I put my phone number in his phone so he can call if he needs something, and left.

I came home, intending on doing my laundry, only to realize I don't have enough quarters for all the laundry I wanted to do. I didn't want to push it off until tomorrow, (my day off) so I decided to just go to the grocery store and get something to eat and some quarters. I walked around the store for about 20 minutes and didn't really find anything that appealing, and just got quarters at the service desk. I was hungry, just not for what they had.

I came home and decided to just eat what I had in the house. I was too tired to decide what I wanted, so I baked the first thing I could find, and ate while the laundry was washing. I got in a few games of Pogo, too.

So now I can just relax for the rest of the night, and tomorrow, too. I don't work until 2 on Tuesday, so it's almost like having 2 days off! Woot!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

3 comments so far

DSis - 2009-08-10 02:43:26
We were in a Depot of Home in Rochester, MN the other day and the gal who checked us out was wearing a banner (like Miss America) except she had black Sharpies attached -- it is what she was selling for the contest. Good luck!
-------------------------------
l\'empress - 2009-08-10 14:30:17
The name for the anti-nausea product I mentioned is motion sickness wristlets. I found a bunch of them listed here: http://www.nextag.com/motion-sickness-wrist-band/compare-html
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2009-08-11 01:58:22
WOOT! That's awesome, that you managed to sell so many items at once. Go Beanie go!!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group