ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-06-11 ... 5:43 p.m.

previous - next

Ooo I worked today!

What an exciting day I had today! I went to Poolie's and took a quickie shower, then went shopping for some of those essentials like garbage cans and dish drainers and brooms and ice cube trays.

I found a cute garbage can and a dish drainer, and then I got a call from Poolie.. one of the people at the museum had a huge data base project that needed to be done.. and she so graciously thought of me! So YES I said I would go and talk to the man who needed help.

It's a temporary thing, and I'm an "independant contractor", but I agreed to do the job! Woot! I worked for five hours this afternoon. It was so nice just to be doing something productive and actually getting paid for it. Plus it's getting my foot in the door. If I don't get a permanent job there, I can always use them as a reference, since I happen to know those museum people all talk among themselves... maybe it won't be at the auto museum, but a different one. You just never know.

I fill out a couple of applications a day, and today I dropped one off at Souplantation where Poolie, Roomie and I all went to eat on Monday. Or was it yesterday? That's the thing about not working, you lose track of the days. Anyway, I grabbed one of their applications, and turned it in. The manager there said they might have a part-time cashier opening, which would be great! I plan on going to the other Souplantations just to see if they might have openings. It's so much more encouraging to hand an application over to a PERSON instead of doing it online.

So I just got home, and nothing is done in the house. I am sure hoping it will be finished by the end of the weekend. I will be staying somewhere else until Tuesday, dogsitting. It should be fun, since it's in an area where there are a lot of shops and restaurants within walking distance. AND two hospitals I can apply at, too. One never knows.

Hopefully I will be meeting Poolie for coffee later, if she can get her old car running... There is a really great string trio playing tonight at Rebecca's, so we might even go there. I might stop anyway on my way home. Woot!

It's the small things that make my day.....

previous - next

Kiss Me!

11 comments so far

DSis - 2008-06-12 01:11:18
Congrats on getting the proverbial [neener] foot in the door!
-------------------------------
princesscee - 2008-06-12 02:07:42
That's awesome! Congrats! You sound like you're having so much fun out there. I can't wait until you can get the house to be all yours and feel like you really belong there, if you don't already, that is.
-------------------------------
fightn4life - 2008-06-12 02:10:25
There are many places here that hire part time with hopes full time will follow. I can't work part time need the cash...hey, I could get two part time jobs and wait until one hires me full time. Hum... worth thinking about. Glad to hear you got your foot in the door, positive thoughts coming your way. :) Sandyz
-------------------------------
Carol - 2008-06-12 02:13:53
Life is GOOD !! Good for you. I just know they will want you to stay and go full time.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-06-12 03:37:13
WOO HOOO!! Congrats on finding such a great start in SD. It'll definitely get your foot in the door. I'm so thrilled for you!!
-------------------------------
Shippie - 2008-06-12 02:36:26
Congrats on getting some work on the fly! That is awesome! And I know what you mean about not knowing what day it is wehn you aren't working. You have no point of reference.
-------------------------------
art - 2008-06-12 02:52:20
right on!! its a start!! i knew with your talents, you find something quick!! good stuff!!!
-------------------------------
mpeacock - 2008-06-12 07:03:07
I luva, luva Souplantation!!!!
-------------------------------
purple chai - 2008-06-12 10:03:33
I enjoy so much reading about your new adventures every day!
-------------------------------
Carrie - 2008-06-12 13:32:16
You sound so happy! And so settled already!! Congrats on the "job"!
-------------------------------
Pattypat - 2008-06-12 13:49:19
Sounds like a great day, and you DESERVE to have lots and lots of them.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group