ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-07-14 ... 5:42 p.m.

previous - next

Finding my way around

I did a little housework this morning since I didn't have to work until 11:30, and I finished this:

Photobucket

Isn't it great? I liked it best with an empty top:

Photobucket

But I have too many books for that to be possible. And I think that's as high as I want it to go. It's ok, I won't be buying many paperbacks for a while, since I have enough to read for a few months without getting any more. And for whoever asked, they are not arranged in any order YET. Some day when I have nothing to do, I might just start organizing them. They will look better then, because a lot of them are series, and with the groups together, it will look less haphazard. At least I'm hoping.

I also went grocery shopping this morning at my favorite Food Bowl. It's a very small store, but clean and it has the basics that I need. I do like going to Henry's for fruit, just because they have good prices and good quality fruit. The plums they had last week were 67 cents a pound, and they were big and juicy. Food bowl had them for 50 cents a pound, but they were much smaller, just a bit bigger than a golf ball. Henry's were much bigger than that.

And off to work I went at 11:30. I really do need to get a clock or something that I can put at my workstation so I can keep an eye on what time it was. I punched out 6 minutes late today, although part of that was stopping to help customers on my way back to the time clock. I just don't feel right walking past them and not at least finding someone else to help them, since I still don't know a whole lot of the store.

Which brings up the issue of training. I have done all the training but one thing, which one of the head cashiers, May, will be doing with me. My "manager", Norma, was a bit irritated that Joan pulled me from cashiering to do training things. I didn't say much about it, because Joan is one of the assistant managers, and has a bit more authority than Norma. I didn't say anything bad about Joan, just that she wanted me to finish these training things. Most of them were covered at orientation, but the person who is supposed to log all this stuff in the computer DIDN'T so it looked like I was just untrained. Norma said she would take care of it, except for the store walk, which May will do with me. Then I need training on the self-checkout area and I will be done. At least until I move to another area or another store (which I can't do until I've been there for at least 90 days.)

Quite a variety of things happened today too. My scanning gun didn't work. No one but Norma knew that it was because the wire was being pinched underneath the counter, and if I just kept the cash drawer pulled forward it would work. Things weren't scanning, and things didn't have tags..... one of those days. But I look at them as a way to learn. There also were lots of customers looking for things, most of which I can't find either. I just find other employees who know where things are!

Otherwise it's been a pretty quiet day. I work for 8 hours tomorrow starting at 11:30. It seems likely that I will be working a lot of late hours, but if I can get out by 8 or 9, that isn't too bad. That way I can get things done in the morning, when I have a bit more energy! Besides, I really am not fond of the 4:30 traffic on the way home, so it's nice to be able to avoid that.

And a week from today, I will be picking Kid and her friend Winnie up at the airport. They are staying for a week! Woot!!!!! How exciting!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

11 comments so far

wordwhore - 2008-07-15 01:35:34
BOOKS! -drool-
-------------------------------
art - 2008-07-15 02:05:40
by the power vested in me as the supreme allied commandr of the universe, i heer-bye rub and dub thy book nook as an oh-fish-shall branch of the who did it and ran, ink!! publick library!! woot woot!!
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-07-15 02:09:12
Your bookshelf came out GREAT!! I know where I will spend a good chunk of time if I come out to SD for a visit.
-------------------------------
psis - 2008-07-15 02:33:21
That's quite an impressive coleection and I like it that it's not stacked 6 ft high! You really have a nice large room to put it in. I bet Kid is really excited to see you!
-------------------------------
Ingrid - 2008-07-15 02:43:50
Thanks for the well wishes. I love your book shelves. I think they look great!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-07-15 03:40:34
Your bookshelves are more full than mine but we're operating on the same principle. I love having the low, wide bookcase in my room. It creates a whole different feel than a tall bookcase, doesn't it? :)
-------------------------------
michele - 2008-07-15 10:45:18
O M G!!!! that is gorgeous! I think you should build more and sell them on eBay for extra loot. and you surely have a lot of books--- maybe you should open your own cyber library!!!
-------------------------------
Jen - 2008-07-15 17:43:19
If you have a lot of books that you've already read, you might try Paperback Swap.com I love using PBS to find new books and trade the ones I don't want anymore. Your bookshelves look awesome!! Glad you are enjoying the HD and that everything seems to be clicking into place for you!
-------------------------------
capitolady - 2008-07-15 19:27:20
Wow that is one impressive book nook. I am in such envy! :)
-------------------------------
margie - 2008-07-15 19:49:01
a few little plants and some nick nacks on the top shelves would be perfect.
-------------------------------
Paula - 2008-07-16 02:04:24
Love love love that bookshelf....now I've gotta have one...I copped your picture from your blog so I could study it...I have the perfect place for one. Very very nice.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group