ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-08-31 ... 6:08 p.m.

previous - next

Sunday at work

My chinese takeout yesterday was quite yummy.. and I had enough left for lunch today! That was one of the best meals I've had for the low price of $6 in a long time! And nice to not have to cook it, too!

So work today was pretty slow. It's a holiday weekend, and most people are just taking the weekend off. We didn't open until 7, so my first half hour was pretty dead. All I could do was get my till going, and straighten things up in my area. Sure doesn't take a half hour for that.

They played the trick today of the employee leaving the store with a bucketful of expensive stuff that wasn't paid for. I know we cashiers are the last line of defense against theft, but I really don't enjoy this game. I really don't think it should be up to us to police the other employees. There ARE videos and loss prevention people who should be watching for this kind of crap. Oh well.

I also was "written up" for not having a head cashier's signature on a reduced tag on a product that I sold. Being written up isn't a big deal, since they will write you up for the most minor of things, but I don't like knowing that I am missing the small details. I had a customer today with FOUR reduced things, all with labels, and you can be sure I got the head cashier over to sign every last one of them!

Oh well. I haven't yet been audited for mistakes in my till, so I guess I'm doing ok anyway. And the last time I was written up, it was for having a cash strip in the wrong color bag.... not like it was anything earth-shattering!

I also had a customer today who handed me his cell phone and told me I could use the credit card number the lady on the other end would give me. "We do it all the time" he told me... well maybe he does, but there was no way I was going to! There was a lot more of that weird kind of stuff, so I ended up sending quite a few people to the Special Services desk. Sheesh!

I fell asleep about 8:30 last night, so I felt much better today than I did yesterday. I even had enough energy left when I got home to grab my laundry basket and get my laundry done. Woot! Now I don't have to do that tomorrow before work, and I can get some other things accomplished in the house. I still have four pictures to hang, but only three frames, so I can get those up and take care of Sam and Janet, the palms.

There isn't much else going on around here. Just beautiful weather, sunshine and peace. Gotta love it! I'm just waiting for the peeps incineration!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

9 comments so far

art - 2008-09-01 01:38:28
i agree with you, maybe you should tell them that its not your job, but loss prevention's job! seems like they nit pick alot!!
-------------------------------
ladybug-red - 2008-09-01 01:49:35
I agree with Art - they do seem a bit on the nitpicky side. I can't imagine that the credit card over the phone thing would ever work. It just seems shady.
-------------------------------
Boxx9000 - 2008-09-01 01:51:10
Dave worked for Depot of the Home from 94-02 as a manager. Both my kids worked for them too, my son on night crew and then both kids on signs (when they used to be made my hand.) All three of them say it was the WORSE job they ever had. They just don't take care of their employees. L0WE's is the complete opposite and treat their employees like humans. They have been wonderful to Dave thru his shoulder injury. Workman's comp? Now that's another story. Do you have a L0WE'S in your area?
-------------------------------
im2qt2kr - 2008-09-01 01:54:04
Glad you sent the guy with the cell phone to someone else. It may very well have been a "secret shopper" hired by corporate to test you...and you passed!
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-09-01 03:44:48
I could never work there. I would be written up every single day because I am a doof.
-------------------------------
beanie - 2008-09-01 04:47:00
Poolie, you are NOT a doof!
-------------------------------
Carolyn - 2008-09-01 14:25:02
You name your plants? I do that too! My favorites are Charlie and China Doll. Charlie is named after Charlie Brown because when he needs watering, his leafs get very droopy. China Doll is kind of a prissy plant who needs watering almost every day. My family & friends tease me that I name my plants, so I'm going to tell them about you.
-------------------------------
Terri T. - 2008-09-01 17:48:56
I do hope you get the full time weeks so you can be classified as a FT employee. It does sound like they make it difficult to stay there if they try to trick you with falsified thefts... And yet at other stores, you see things go on that you as a customer KNOW are wrong....
-------------------------------
Shippie - 2008-09-02 03:36:13
Isn't it sad that big companies like this create stupid positions for people to just mess with the employees who are trying to do their jobs? Ugh!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group