ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-11-16 ... 8:52 p.m.

previous - next

More news from work

Worked till 8 tonight. It seemed like forever, maybe because I was tired, or maybe just because it is so dark at 8. Tomorrow I work until 10, but I'm hoping to be a bit more well rested before I start work. I just need to stop staying up so late, because I can't seem to sleep later when I do.

Work was interesting today. I was out in the garden with Brian and Carol, and Carol, as usual, had some interesting tidbits to relate to me.

Yesterday one of the garden employees came in to buy some mulching bark. He brought a cartful up to the register, and said all the bags were open, and he was going to get a markdown SKU (a price lookup number, like a UPC, but shorter).

He went off to get his SKU, and while he was gone, the store manager happened by, and asked why the stuff was sitting there in a cart. Carol told him that it was because the guy was off getting a SKU for the open bags.

I know what the SKU is for the broken bags, but I was told by the DH (department head) not to ever use it, because he felt that customers would break open the bags just to get the broken bag price.

Can you see where this is going?

So.... the guy came back with his markdown sheet, and paid a fraction of the price of the bags. I thought it was outrageously cheap, but I didn't say anything. It wasn't my sale, and it wasn't my place to question the DH who marked down the bags.

So today, Carol told me that the reason her lunch break took an hour was that she got called into the LP manager's office, and had to write out a sheet of paper saying exactly how the sale went down. Apparently the store manager told the LP guy about the markdown, and the LP guy found Carol's markdown sheet the guy gave her (EVERYTHING is documented, OMG there is so much paper in that place it's amazing!) and they checked the video and discovered that the guy went to the back, ripped open the bags, and then hauled them up to the register where Carol got involved.

So Carol is pretty sure the guy is going to get fired over it. It sure wouldn't surprise me. What a fool, to jeopardize his job over $16! And he's been there a long time, so it won't be good.

Work will certainly be interesting tomorrow!

As for our cashier who is still in ICU, it doesn't look good. One of the people who went to see him said the nurse told him he only had a 5-10% chance of making it out of this, and that he had a lot of brain damage from lack of oxygen. So even if he lives through it, he is not facing an easy road back. This might just be the end of his journey. I feel so bad for his parents. Him, too... but parenting can be so hard sometimes.

OOooooo I better buy my turkey for Thanksgiving this week! It will take at least 2 or 3 days to thaw... Woot!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

10 comments so far

Shippie - 2008-11-17 05:57:29
Never pays to try and short cut policies, or to get something for nothing. Karma baby, karma. Sigh. But hey! More hours for you!
-------------------------------
boxx9000 - 2008-11-17 12:08:14
Whenever someone gets fired over the years at my husband's work (depot of home OR Lowe's) it has always been for one of two reasons only. #1. stealing. #2. sexual harassment (or fraternization)
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-11-17 15:28:13
Oh Jeeze! What a doof!
-------------------------------
Terri T. - 2008-11-17 15:49:43
What a shame it is when employees try to cheat the system and usually it isn't for much money off either. I am glad to hear that the management did follow up and he isn't going to get away with it. Such a sad story about the employee in the coma....that has to be a nightmare for his family.
-------------------------------
art - 2008-11-17 17:09:26
its morons like this that give folks like me a bad name! some one should give him a dunk in the muck tank! yeesh!
-------------------------------
Kathy - 2008-11-17 20:02:03
An employee? He didn't know it'd be caught on video? Was he using the mulch to make meth? Can you use mulch? I thought it was fertlizer. Could explain the employees problem. By the way? It was dark by 8:00? You and your late by 8! Stop taunting me with the warm weather and the long days! I will hurt you what with my SAD addled brain! Have you no sympathy? Can't you send some of that sunshine and warm weather my way?
-------------------------------
FairyGodMum - 2008-11-17 21:39:11
It's amazing what people will do when they think they are getting away with doing wrong. When I was a manager at the "Big K" we busted folks for counterfeiting, taking cash out of the register and stealing everything from jewelry, food and clothes. Too bad people can't be a bit more honest. Believe me, it doesn't pay to be a thief, they've got you on camera 24/7. Hugz n Lub, Bebe da FairyGodMum
-------------------------------
FairyGodMum - 2008-11-17 21:43:24
Oh, I meant to say, my prayers are with the person with asthma and now in a coma, and with the family and friends. I grew up with asthma, it's nothing to joke about. People take for granted that they will live forever. Live everyday and enjoy the sunshine. Breath the fresh air and be grateful for everyday. Hugz n Lub, Bebe da FairyGodMum
-------------------------------
LA - 2008-11-17 21:45:01
The first and last time I 'stole' something at work was when I was a teenage Burger King slavey and got busted for eating some of the fries I was supposed to be dumping in the garbage because they were too cold/stale to serve to customers. The guy actually wanted to fire me for 'stealing' garbage! The other manager intervened, thank goodness, and explained eating the fries was a no-no for health code reasons. After that I figured the safest course was to never, ever, ever use my employee status to get something cheap or free. If Mr Mulch had been busted for eating garbage as a teenager he'd still have a job today. ~LA
-------------------------------
Sherry - 2008-11-17 23:35:47
Good grief! Will people NEVER learn that karma is a bitch?! Did he REALLY think he'd get away with ripping the bags?! As for the guy in ICU, that's so incredibly sad. Do you know how his mom is doing?
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group