ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-12-11 ... 4:20 p.m.

previous - next

A day off with nothing done

How time flies when you're having fun!

Today was my day off. I spent it being pretty lazy. I slept late, putzed around the house doing nothing productive, and finally decided to get dressed and go shopping. I went to Henry's for some sale items and then to Ace Hardware for a window insulating kit. There aren't many places in San Diego that sell them, so I was lucky to find one fairly close.

Then I needed a blow-dryer to use with it, and found one at the Salvation Army for a lot less than they were selling them for at Ace. Heh. Too bad they didn't sell window kits, too.

I was intending on applying the kit to my windows, but there wasn't time before my lunch date with Poolagirl, who I was glad to see alive! (For those of you who don't read her, see her post from yesterday).

Then I had to go have my toenail scraped again, because it didn't grow the *right* fungus in the lab.. but we will try again. It shouldn't take so long this time. And hopefully I will make it into the study!

I got on the road to come home, but kept taking wrong turns. I know Poolie and Big Sister will laugh at that. I KNEW which turns I was supposed to take, but just didn't take them. Well, I made it home anyway, just took the slow way around. I kind of had to think that maybe there was a reason I wasn't supposed to go the way I had planned. I don't like to mess with fate, you know?

Anyway. I got home and decided to play some Spades on Pogo, and by the time I finished that, it was already late. I went into the kitchen, and my coffee pot clock said it was 5:21. I decided to post, because that's getting kind of late to be putting up window insulation, but just realized the clock is wrong there, and it's really only 4:30. So I guess I still have some time. Oops. It's been one of those days.

But it was a lovely sunny day, and nice for a drive. And indeed, a nice day to get nothing accomplished. Since I have three days off next week, I will have plenty of time to get my Christmas candy made and mailed out. I hope it makes it in time for Christmas! I have the box I plan to ship it in... just have to make it. It wouldn't be Christmas without the last minute rush.

I'm going to make something to eat now, and maybe put the tape on the walls for the window kit. It's been getting kind of cool here late at night, and although I like sleeping in cooler weather, it's hard to fall asleep when my nose is cold. The windows in my apartment are not at all energy-efficient, so I need to do something with them. I think that might be all I'll need. I'm trying to avoid having the furnace on. I'll see how it goes.. haha.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

6 comments so far

Poolie - 2008-12-12 01:06:40
Trust me. You will turn on the heat.
-------------------------------
Shippie - 2008-12-12 01:31:06
Ok I lived in SD for a few years. Yes, you will turn on the heat a couple of times at night. But window plastic??!!! You don't need that! Oh lordy! There may be a reason many places don't carry that stuff there. It won't get that cold!
-------------------------------
LA - 2008-12-12 02:31:00
Nothing wrong with sealing the windows! I think it's a terrific idea. I've had the 'never opened in the warm months' windows sealed for a couple years now and it helps with the heating AND the cooling. ~LA
-------------------------------
liz - 2008-12-12 02:53:44
What is window insulation?
-------------------------------
michele - 2008-12-12 15:43:11
i know what you mean; window installation stuff is a rarity here in south Florida, too.
-------------------------------
terri t - 2008-12-12 18:16:17
As long as you don't seal the windows like some people do around here...from the outside! OMG! Or...they put up black plastic garbage bags so they can't see out all winter or get any natural light during the day. Argh!!!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group