ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-06-19 ... 4:48 p.m.

previous - next

Fun at a tournament

So I got up early this morning... I even had to set my alarm. That's the first time since I left Cowtown that I've used an alarm. But it was well worth it. I did all the usual morning things, although I didn't have time for coffee, just a bowl of cereal. And I was off!

I drove to the golf course that the museum had sponsored a hole at. Two of the guys brought the museum truck, with this inside it:

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

It's a replica of a 1901 Oldsmobile, and it's street legal. Top speed is about 10 mph, and it is licensed!

Once it was off, and running, one of the guys drove it out to the 7th hole, and poolagirl and I followed. We got it all arranged, set up the tent and a couple chairs, and sat down to wait for the start of the golf tournament.

Photobucket

Photobucket

So this is what I looked at until 1pm....

Photobucket

Photobucket

Tough job, huh?

We handed out free passes to the museum to all the golfers. Everyone was glad to get them, and I gave them all a little speech about what was at the museum now (Motocross), and what was the coming attraction (Ferraris). I had a blast! It was fairly windy, so we stayed pretty cool as long as we were in the shade. What a fun morning!

Then the car went back into the truck, and I came home. Mr Fix-It called, and asked what kind of car I had, since he volunteered to change my oil. There is a light in my car that says "maint reqd" that was on.. the manual said it was because it needed an oil change, which it did. I no sooner went outside, when my screen door closed, and I had the lock on the handle locked... so can you guess what happened? Yup, I was locked out.

The next door neighbor, who is a locksmith, wasn't home. I decided while I waited for Mr Fix-It that I will have to make sure this doesn't happen again. Even though Poolie has a key and I could have called her, Mr Fix-It was on his way, and he had a key. But... there may be some time that neither one of them are available, so I'm looking around for another solution.

It didn't take long for Mr. Fix-It to come by and let me in. He put the dead bolt on the door, so that won't happen again. I like to have the screen door open, but I don't like leaving it unlocked, so the deadbolt fixes that problem... and it will keep me from getting locked out again. It was just a good thing I had my phone!

I called the space museum where I applied last week, and they have already filled the position. They are going to "reassess" next week to see if they need someone else, so I told her I would call back then. Of all the applications I filled out, NO ONE has called any of my references, so I don't know if they are just throwing the applications away, or just not looking at them. Seems like I may need to change my applications a bit.....

I spent the rest of the afternoon getting the kitchen organized. I moved some things in the cupboards around, and got all the boxes with kitchen stuff in them emptied. That was a big project, and a really warm one, too. But now I have more boxes for Poolie, and an almost clean kitchen. After it cools off a bit, I will be doing the dishes. A lot of the dishes I moved are dirty, mostly from being unused for a long time, and some, just from being moved from house to house. But now at least one room is almost completely finished! Woot!!

Tomorrow I plan on doing more of the same.. and also going over to the museum to pick up my check. Yay! Payday is always a good thing!! But now it's time to eat.. I haven't had anything but a few Cheetos since my cereal and nectarine this morning. Hungry!!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

15 comments so far

Sis - 2008-06-20 00:31:41
Sounds like you had a simply wonderful morning! Cute little car! Saw in the paper that Dude got a scholarship, that is way cool! Bet he was excited about that. Keep hanging in there I'm sure a job will come up one of these days. Good luck!
-------------------------------
Rattus Regina - 2008-06-20 00:33:28
Ooohhh...did you see Rosie's 1901 curve-dash 3/4 size replica Oldsmobile while you were out there? The pics you posted look just like that. Good luck on the job front! The S.D. job market is looking a little scary right now... hope it gets better soon!
-------------------------------
art - 2008-06-20 01:23:13
what a wonderful day at the golf course you had!! i bet this can be a perminant job for ya!!!
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-06-20 02:19:22
I think it depends on what kind of job you're getting as to whether they check references. I know when I worked at the computer store, no one cared about my references. I'll keep my fingers crossed for you. That 1901 Olds is ADORABLE! I have a weakness for antique cars, having spent my childhood dragged to this, that, and the other antique car shows. Love those antiques!
-------------------------------
l\'empress - 2008-06-20 02:57:20
No one ever checked my references either. To this day, I think most of them didn't believe what they were seeing on that r�sum�, though I toned it down.
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-06-20 03:53:28
I can't tell you how many jobs I've gotten without anyone calling my references. It's no big deal, though having your references called is a definite good thing. Something will come around for you soon. :)
-------------------------------
Poolagirl - 2008-06-20 03:56:28
I had a great time this morning! What a job, eh?
-------------------------------
Starkitten01 - 2008-06-20 05:59:09
Coming from someone who's from here, I can tell you it's damned tough to get people to actually read and acknowledge your applications. I have always felt like it was such a waste of time every time I have taken the time to fill out app's and turn them in. It's SO rare to get someone who "doesn't" make you feel like they're going to toss your application and blow you off the minute you walk out :-/ Not that it's that way *everywhere*.. but a lot of places here, yep. Hang in there! *hugs* Starkitten01
-------------------------------
Aristocratic Red - 2008-06-20 07:00:12
I've interviewed for jobs and was hired too and they didn't check my references. It could mean nothing. Have a great weekend! :)
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2008-06-20 07:24:36
I WISH my 1901 Replica Curved Dash Olds looked like that, but mine got left out in the weather, thanks to that idiot Shane, and then The Evil one totally destroyed it last year. *Sigh* As for the key, I'd find a place to hide it outside the house, far enough away from the house that if someone accidentally found it, they wouldn't immediately say, "OH! Here's a key to Beanies place over there!"
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2008-06-20 10:13:21
What a great day you had! Good for you!! Of all the jobs I applied for and all the interviews I had, only one of them called my references. And that was the all and mighty WallyWorld PRIOR to my interview. weird...
-------------------------------
fightn4life - 2008-06-20 16:48:36
I do not like the on-line applications you must sell yourself on paper. I too felt they were tossing applications in the trash after not getting one call back except when I called and found out the position was filled. My friend said it takes time, I said what you did,, time to change the application to make it stand out. Hum...could be interesting. Sandyz
-------------------------------
Terri T. - 2008-06-20 18:47:37
It might be good to change up your application. Like....I can cut up the bacon and fry it in a pan, Make muffins from scratch and write advertisements..... I wish you good luck in finding a job. I imagine just the work you have been doing at the museum could lead to more opportunities too.
-------------------------------
Shippie - 2008-06-20 20:45:53
Don't know if you know this but I lived in San Diego for a little over three years. I ended up moving back to MN about a year after Poolie arrived in San Diego. ANYHOO....all those pictures make me homesick! But keep posting them...I love them!
-------------------------------
Shear - 2008-06-20 22:11:16
You will find a job soon. Does San Diego have a temp agency? Lots of my customers have found full time jobs that way. Sometimes the temps are paid a few dollars more an hour than the regular employees. It's something to think about anyways.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group