ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-01-25 ... 5:48 p.m.

previous - next

Ramblings today...

Wow, quite the interesting day at work today. I was hoping to just work on the front end, but I got put in self-checkout. Ugh. It's not one of my favorite areas, since you have to control four "check-outs" at once. It's not bad when it's quiet, but when it gets busy it can be hell. Finally it got busy enough that they put me on a regular register, and then everyone was happy.

Norma asked me if I had recently heard any rumors, which I hadn't. She wants me to keep my ears open, about someone who got fired. Apparently there were two people involved in it, but only one was fired. And that's all I know, and it's pissing me off! I want to know!!

I think it would be good if they spread the word around a bit, just to let everyone know that it can happen to anyone, and rumors are not productive by any means. I just think it would be better to state the facts, as in... "Joe was fired because he was stealing" instead of letting everyone guess or spread rumors. Just my opinion.

My partner at my register today was a young full timer; he's been at the Depot for about two years now. He can be a fun guy, but he has a habit of avoiding work. Why does it always seem to be the full-timers?? A comment was made today though, in response to a question he asked (which I didn't hear) that kind of explained to him that his behavior isn't helping his "place" in the company. I am hoping my behavior will put me in his "place" soon.

I was also talking to May about moving, and it turns out she is looking for a two bedroom apartment. I gave her my address, and my landlord's number, and she might just call him. I believe I can give her a good reference to my landlord, and also tell her more about the apartment than she would find out from him. I like my landlord and this place, and I truly believe she would take care of this place, so it could be a good thing for all concerned. That would be a nice turn of events! Plus if she moves in before the 18th, I get a rebate on my rent! Woot!! Here's hoping!

I stopped at Ralph's (a grocery chain here) for one thing, and ended up buying supper and some really good reduced brownies. Heh. Not what I was planning, but YUMMY!!

No packing for me today. It's cooled off, and I feel much warmer just hanging out in my jammies and robe. And eating brownies. Maybe I need to let them dry out for a bit, and then mix them with ice cream....

previous - next

Kiss Me!

8 comments so far

Rebekah - 2009-01-26 02:12:09
I agree re the firing. I've never worked anyplace where they told us why someone had been fired. In fact, they kept it under wraps. (The worst was the woman who got canned for embezzling... it was a job for which my mom had been turned down. SHE wouldn't have done that!)

Ralph's, Albertson's... I miss the west coast!
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2009-01-26 02:18:27
I am SO jonesing for some of your yummy brownies! I keep refusing to make them though, because I am the only one here to eat them, and I think each 1 inch square has about 5,865 calories! No Rosie, no brownies! No, you may not make even a partial batch! Bad Rosie!
-------------------------------
Rattus Regina - 2009-01-26 04:12:59
When I worked at the book store we'd have a major firing, complete with a loss prevention district manager showing up, every few months. I think the worst one was when they found out a guy had taken $4000 in DVDs over about a year time. One of my friends was there when he was fired, so I knew about it, but rumors abounded for months.
-------------------------------
Sis - 2009-01-26 04:20:09
Just the fact that Norma said that to you shows that she trusts you. I would just go along with that, maybe they are hoping the other person involved will be blabbing a little. This may work out for you getting ahead. Sounds like she has a lot of confidence in you. Good luck!
-------------------------------
Crystal Balls - 2009-01-26 04:22:34
Rumors are a two-edged sword. Unfortunately, however, privacy laws don't allow employers to discuss the reason for an employee's dismissal. For the Depot of Home to do so could subject them to lawsuits.
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-01-26 15:18:33
Workplace politics. UGH!
-------------------------------
Rattus Regina - 2009-01-26 19:45:12
I just heard the Depot is closing 41 stores, including the one right by my house. Will your branch be okay?
-------------------------------
Beyondpanic - 2009-01-27 01:47:41
I immediately thought about you today when I read that Depot of Home was downsizing, but then I read further and the paper said that only the specialty stores were closing, that this would not affect the regular Depot of Home stores. I immediately thought, well that's a good thing for YOU!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group