ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-09-04 ... 7:00 p.m.

previous - next

An afternoon of self-checkout

I worked on the front end today, and because I'd had yesterday off, a good night's sleep, and LOTS of coffee this morning, I was just filled with energy when I got to work. And I was ok until it really got warm, and then I bogged down. At least the Depot provided us with ice cold water in the break room.

A lot of the afternoon I spent running self-checkout. I have asked Norma to schedule me there, but I am in returns instead. I love being in returns, but if I ever have a shot at being a HC, I need to know self-checkout MUCH better than I do now. I mentioned that to some of the HCs, and they have been having me work SCO when I'm on the front end, just to give me some experience. It was an education, for sure.

One of the SCO computers was down, and there was a shopping bag over the screen, so everyone would know it wasn't working. Well... you assume people are going to SEE the bag, but I was amazed at how many people looked right at it and still tried to scan their stuff.

There is a whole different set of issues at SCO. One man tried to walk out without paying. His credit card had declined, but he grabbed his bags and was leaving when I caught him, and asked if he had his receipt. No, he said. I told him he didn't get one because his card had declined. He tried two more before he found one that worked, and he wasn't happy. I would say he probably should stop charging on his cards...

One of the HCs was telling me the same thing happened to her the other night, when a lady's card had declined, and the HC hadn't been paying attention (cause it's busy, and they are understaffed at night) but she caught the lady in the parking lot, putting the stuff in her car. She asked her to come back in and pay, and she did. Phew!

But for now, I am happy to be home in front of my fan, and relaxing with Pogo and a bowl of popcorn. I haven't made real popcorn since I got my microwave.. it's just so much easier to do it that way! Cleanup is a breeze, too.

I have to pack my lunch for tomorrow, since I work at 5:30. Then I get a day off! Woot!!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

5 comments so far

Crystal Balls - 2009-09-05 07:27:53
Hey - microwave popcorn IS real popcorn! :-p
-------------------------------
LA - 2009-09-05 11:46:15
I loathe self-check outs! How much less service can a store not provide? What next? Do I have to pay a surcharge for the 'privilege' of ringing my own stuff up? Send them a thank you note for allowing me to shop there? Yuck. ~LA
-------------------------------
Carolyn - 2009-09-05 13:18:28
I've always been anti SCO. I confess that when a clerk has suggested I try it, I've replied "No thank you, I don't work here." The other day I was at the grocery store. I only had 2 items to purchase. All the checkout lines were very long. I must have had a lost look on my face. A clerk walked up to me and asked if I'd like help using the SCO. Just the simple act of her offering to help me made all difference. I still felt like I was being treated like a customer. She walked me through it and I was out of there in a few minutes. I won't use it on a regular basis, but I appreciated her helping me get out of there so quickly.
-------------------------------
beyondpanic - 2009-09-05 13:21:37
I use the self-check out at HD only when I have a few things and I know the bar thingees are clearly marked. It's also useful on a Saturday when all of the lines are crammed with do-it-yourselfers trying to maneuver those flat bed carts with 2x4's in them.
-------------------------------
Erianne - 2009-09-05 18:54:19
I like to use the self-check outs because I can bag my stuff the way I want...all the fridge stuff together etc...which is something that most cashiers won't do. Plus it's much easier at the grocery store when I'm using reusable bags...the cashiers always give me that "omg, you're gonna make me actually work?" look when they see my stack of bags.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group