ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-08-24 ... 11:39 p.m.

previous - next

Busy in returns!

I got a lot of sleep last night! I don't mind working a closing shift now and then just so I can sleep as long as I want. I had a leisurely breakfast, and went to the bank and ran a few other errands, and did dishes and played a little Pogo before it was time for work. A fun day.

Until I got to work. Dang. The line for the returns desk was so long it reached outside the door. I figured it would be a tough day, and I was right. I was replacing Vera, and she mentioned that I came in early (I was scheduled at 3, but Norma said I could come in at 2 to get my 8 hours). She said I could have come in at noon, that she could have used the help. I laughed, and told her that the three registers were all being used, and she just looked at me, and said "Not by the cashiers that are there!"

Well, yeah. Ms Molasses and Molly were both working. Neither one is real fast, or real bright. It just seems Ms Molasses does as little as possible to avoid work. Here's a good example... a customer came in with some things purchased through the Pro desk. If a customer wants the money refunded to a card, or in cash, they have to go BACK to the pro desk to do it. If store credit is ok, we can do it. Nine times out of ten, if we send them to the pro desk, they send the customer back to us.

The customer told Ms Molasses all he wanted was store credit. He didn't want to go back to the pro desk, but she told them they had to go there for a refund. I chimed in with, "Not if all they want is store credit". OK, so I know I was butting in. I will keep my mouth shut from now on, because the look she gave me could have killed me. She replied to me that she was told we weren't supposed to do that.

That's news to me.. like I said, nine times out of ten the Pro desk sends the customers back to us. I just don't think it's good customer service to make customers go from one desk to another and then back again, especially when they are on opposite ends of the store.

Instead of CALLING the pro desk, like any reasonable person would, she left the customers just stand there while she meandered down to the pro desk. She was gone at least three or four minutes, which, when you are waiting in line (or at a register with no cashier), is like an eternity.

Before she got back, Molly asked the people what was going on, and she rang their stuff up and gave them store credit. So when Ms Molasses came back, her customers were gone.

Meanwhile, it was so freaking busy I was helping customer after customer and the place was filling up with lumber, toilets, sinks and air compressors. We were quickly running out of room to move.

It started to slow down a little, and Molly decided it was a good time to take a break. Ms Molasses was OFF, so she counted out and left. She left a whole bunch of things unfinished, so when customers stopped coming in the door, I spent my time finishing her work, so I could get the place cleaned up.

It stayed busy most of the afternoon, and by the time I had an opportunity for a break, it was almost time for my lunch. So I just took an extra long lunch instead of taking a break, too. Jeebus.

After I got back, Molly left, and the customer parade kept coming. Not quite as intensely as before, but just when I thought I would have a few minutes to catch up, someone else would walk through the door. I finally managed to get the departments to come and pick up their shit by having Norma page them. They all listen to her, and besides, I didn't have a radio. Heh. I got the floor swept, and then I finally felt like I had a handle on things. It took me until 9 for that!

I had my last break at 9:30, and it sure was nice to sit down. I managed to have a bit of time to face the cleaning aisle, and it just so happened that the store manager was hanging around, talking on his cell phone, and watching me alternately face up the aisle, take care of customers, and even do a bit of greeting duties, since he did not have his apron on and just looked like a customer. Always good to act like a model employee in front of the boss. Heh.

And FINALLY it was time for the store to close. I had enough organized that I was actually done with my work by ten minutes after closing, so I threw cardboard in the recycler, and helped the night manager move some shower surround thingies that were actually pretty light. And I still sat in the break room for five minutes waiting to punch out.

I sure was glad to get home though. And I'm closing again tomorrow night. One of the HCs asked if I would, and since I don't mind the late hours, I said OK. It doesn't hurt that Mr D is working until closing tomorrow night, either. I would have agreed to it anyway, just because I make it a point to work whenever they need me. That way, when I need off, or a certain shift, I am more likely to get it. And sometimes it's the only way to get hours.

It will be nice to lounge in bed tomorrow morning, too... and not have to hear the alarm. It's been much cooler here at night too, so sleeping has been that much better. Time for bed!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

5 comments so far

Carolyn - 2009-08-25 11:38:17
Reading this entry made me tired! You work so hard. I hope today is easier.
-------------------------------
For-Tart - 2009-08-25 13:41:06
I am waiting for cool nights to arrive here.
-------------------------------
l\'empress - 2009-08-25 13:41:46
I'm afraid that those co-workers of yours are of the newer generation, who don't do anything they don't have to do. And they believe they don't have to unless they are ordered to do so. What a world!
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-08-25 18:48:32
A wise woman always knows how to look efficient and self-motivated especially when the Store Manager is around. Good for you...hope it helps when full time work is offered. It does make one wonder why the lazy ones who goof off continue to get work hours.
-------------------------------
beyondpanic - 2009-08-26 00:12:27
I'm also exhausted after reading it! Something tells me you would be very bored if you had to sit at a desk all day like I do!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group