ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-08-08 ... 4:57 p.m.

previous - next

Quite a busy day off

I had a pretty busy day off today. I got up later than usual, but I hadn't gotten enough sleep on Wednesday night due to a diet Pepsi I had about 7PM. Funny, I can drink coffee all day long and have no problem sleeping, but any canned drink with caffeine will keep me up.

Anyway, I just lounged a bit this morning, then went grocery shopping. I went to one of the big chain stores, took advantage of a few of their ad items, and then because I was close, I decided to go to Henry's.

I sure was glad I did. Henry's "summer fruits" (plums, peaches, nectarines and pluots) are all on sale for 47 cents a pound. And they are big and juicy, too. The chain store had them for $1.79... even the price of gas can't make up for that difference. Since I eat at least three pieces of fruit a day, I go through plenty of it.

I came home and put all that stuff away, and then decided that since I had all the stuff, I would just repot Sam and Janet. First I walked down to the park at the end of my street to look for stones to help the drainage in the pots. It was only a block, but because it was noon, I was sweatting by the time I got down there, and when I'd picked up several pounds of stones, it just got worse.

I can get all the way down into the canyon from that little park, but not in this heat! I need to wear long pants because of the brush and boots because of the snakes (eek!) and the spiny things that poke their way through crocs, so I will have to wait until it gets a bit cooler around here to get back into my daily walking habit.

Anyway, I got Janet potted just fine. She is standing well, and sucking up the water I poured into the little drainage saucer. The pots are a bit too full to put water in the top. Sam... now that's a different story. I got him repotted, and he started to lean. I needed to pull him out of the pot twice before I could get him down far enough that he stopped leaning over. He had a much bigger root ball (heh) than Janet. He kept tipping the old plastic pot over, no matter where he stood or what he was leaning against, over he went. I hope he does well in this pot... cause it's the only one he gets for a while. At least the Depot of Home guarantees their plants for six months.. if he dies, I can get a new one.

I sat down to try and cool off after that. Phew! Then I went to the museum to get my check from the last time I worked, and then I just came back home. I got an email from Kid with Dude's classes and books that he needs, except his Philosophy class had no books or materials listed.

He has 4 classes, and so I ordered books for two of them. That was about $140... but the Psychology class is the killer. He needs a book, a study guide and a lab manual. I haven't been able to find the lab manual online, so he will have to find that himself at school. He's going to be real happy about that. There is also an "e-access" code that comes with some of the books, and I'm not sure which. I emailed the seller to see if they have any clue about it, and I also emailed Kid to have her talk to Dude about it. Dude text messaged me, and I suggested he talk to his advisor next week about what he really needs for that class. He doesn't start school until after Labor Day, so I have a little time yet.

And now, after all that, I'm beat. Supper is in the toaster oven, and I'm sure that will just put me to sleep. I don't have to work until 11:30 tomorrow, so I can catch up on my sleep a bit more... always makes one feel so much better!

I had an interesting conversation last night at work with a couple of other employees.. they were talking about the "tree lot" that goes in the far corner of the parking lot during the winter. Trees... as in Christmas trees. They were all hoping they wouldn't have to work out there, because it's SO cold! I asked how cold it got out there during the day, and they said, even with coats, hats and mittens it was way too cold! It gets down to 60! Wooo! So I made the supreme sacrifice, and let them know I would LOVE to work in the COLD. Hahahahhahahh!!! We'll see if I actually get out there!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

11 comments so far

Shear - 2008-08-09 00:48:10
60 degrees! That's a heat wave compared to where you used to live. Heh.
-------------------------------
l\'empress - 2008-08-09 00:53:06
Sue me! I saw Sam and Janet, and I could only think "Sam and Janet evening..." Looks to me as if you're still mothering, long distance.
-------------------------------
Starkitten01 - 2008-08-09 01:04:38
I am SO guilty of the "60 degrees is COLD!" comment, being a native Californian, LOL! *blushes* I have, however, lived in colder climates in my life so, really, I promise I *do* know the difference! LOL <3
-------------------------------
Joan - 2008-08-09 01:57:10
LOL, that is pretty funny they think 60 degrees is cold...man here in Canada in winter that would be balmy. Wimps..heh
-------------------------------
princesscee - 2008-08-09 03:32:24
Just an FYI... Lab manuals/workbooks are usually found just at the school. Quite a few books are specially prepared for that school only. I always hated those! A lot of new books will have CD's and websites and all, but I've yet to have a professor that uses any of that. Wow, must be nice to not have to go to school until after Labor day. I'm glad you're happy and having fun in San Diego. So awesome!
-------------------------------
im2qt2kr - 2008-08-09 04:27:46
Most colleges offer used copies at 3/4 the price of new (at the end of the semester, the store buys them back for 1/2 the original price). As long as they are still using the same book this semester, it's an option. BTW...Those darn "Sams" are always trouble....haaaaaaaa....
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2008-08-09 05:32:45
Well now, I can honestly say that in Lakeside, the first frost happens in September-almost without fail! So you are very lucky you are in the coastal strip, where the lowest recorded temp EVER was 29 degrees! And yeah, I used to call my sister on the East Coast and say things like "Dang it! It's SO freaking cold here! It must be about 50 degrees!" If she could have punched me through the phone, she would have! And BTW, it snowed in San Diego in Feb 1968. I remember!
-------------------------------
Mary - 2008-08-09 05:37:37
Silly Southern Californians. I consider 60s to be shorts weather!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-08-09 06:45:54
I don't think I'm that thin-skinned, that I quake at the prospect of 60 degrees. But once it's cold enough to snow, now that's another matter altogether.
-------------------------------
Carol - 2008-08-09 21:49:26
I am so happy that Sam finally found his "root ball" and is now standing up to Janet, me wonders if she might be a little bit of a root buster! Yes 60 degrees would be a dream come true.
-------------------------------
LA - 2008-08-10 00:10:05
Heh, reminds me of standing outside the Austin Civic Center in January waiting for the doors to open (Rod Stewart concert...woo!) I was wearing an unzipped hoodie and the native Texans were wearing down coats to the ankles and hats and scarves and huddling together for survival because it was...(gasp!)...45 degrees! ~LA
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group