ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-03-11 ... 11:22 p.m.

previous - next

A late night in returns

I promised May at work I would make her some caramel corn to eat tonight at work, and that was my project this morning. However, I don't think the temperature dial is working right, because my caramel corn BURNED while I was baking it. Waaaaa!!! I scraped the burned parts off, and soaked the pan, and salvaged what I could out of it, but I think I need to buy a temperature gauge before I do any other baking. Drat.

And May never even came in to work tonight to get any, but most of it got eaten anyway. I've never worked anywhere where people aren't hungry for treats.

There is a store walk tomorrow (glad I'm off!!) where the corporate bigwigs come in and check out the store. There is some kind of display contest that everyone was busy working on tonight. There were lots of extra people doing lots of extra cleaning. I'm glad I was just working my regular shift. Sort of. I wish it could have been earlier, but at least I was working.

I spent my whole afternoon and evening in returns. It was TRASHED when I got there this afternoon. One of the girls who doesn't normally work there was there today. (Management has been taking people out of their *regular* spots and making them work elsewhere) I didn't mind that it was trashed, because I knew it would keep me busy. What bothered me was that she would push carts back to the departments and let customers stand and wait. Whatever. She doesn't work there often, and I know she won't take suggestions from me, so I just shrug it off and get to work.

My third customer was really a creep. He was on his cell phone when he got there, and he never put it down. He was trying to return two sago palms that had died a slow, dehydration death. He insisted on getting a refund for them, even though he had no receipt. I ended up calling the manager to take care of him because when I told him what our policy was he had a fit. "AND I WANT THE POTS BACK" he informed me.

This is a sago palm, although it is a much bigger and older palm than the guy had in his pots....
Photobucket

See how the leaves look all kind of light and feathery? The trunk looks like it's kind of picky, and it is. But those fronds are full of prickers and sharp edges, and will cut you to shreds when you try to unpot them. There was NO way I was going to take them out of the pots. Besides, I had my OWN work to do, and it was up to him to get them out of the pots.

While he was talking to the manager, I was helping other customers, since my partner was off doing who knows what. By the time he got back, still talking on his cell phone, I was busy with other people. He just stood outside the returns area talking on his phone for at least ten minutes, then came up to me and wanted to know if I was finished with his return yet!

I told him that no, I needed his driver's license to process his return, and that I could work on it now. Jerk. So I gave him his store credit, and off he stalked. But you know what? He forgot the pots he so graciously demanded from me earlier. So I just left them on the cart, and figured if he wanted them, he could come back and get them.

I did ask a manager what I should do about them, and she told me that if he wanted them, he would have to come and take the plants out of them. She suggested leaving them on the cart where they were until closing, and if he didn't come then, they would likely get thrown in the burner where all the garbage goes. I just was not real motivated by his kind considerate manner to do him ANY favors. And he never came back for them, so off to the furnace they went. Bummer.

There was one other man who really stood out from tonight, and he was the man who smelled... no, REEKED of marijuana that I thought I might get high just with him standing at my desk. I was talking to one of the younger cashiers about him and he had the same guy come through his line. We were both laughing about it on our way out.

But by the end of the night I had returns cleaned up, everything out, and everything swept and cleaned. Norma was happy to see it looking good. Yay! I was just happy to leave!!

Now it's past midnight, and time for bed. That's the only bad thing about working so late, otherwise, I really don't mind it. Maybe some day I will have a job and work the same time every day... one can hope.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

6 comments so far

Carrie - 2009-03-12 13:48:05
Ooooo pretty plant....
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-03-12 14:39:04
A job with regular hours? What's that?
-------------------------------
art - 2009-03-12 17:25:06
lovely plant! whats a job?
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-03-12 20:07:54
will you get paid that 7-1/2 hrs you worked on Sunday once all the various managers approve the paperwork? Sounds like you had a great day in returns...and could have even gotten a high if you inhaled....
-------------------------------
im2qt2kr - 2009-03-12 20:27:11
I'm not sure, but you might be able to get SDG&E to come out and calibrate your stove for you for free. It's worth a shot.
-------------------------------
psis - 2009-03-12 21:53:00
I always say if they don't eat what's left on the table in our break room, it must really be bad!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group