ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-02-06 ... 6:04 p.m.

previous - next

Working early, and emptying a few boxes

I've forgotten what it's like to have someone living above you. I'm just grateful no one in this little complex seems to be late night people. It gets pretty quiet around here by 9PM.

It had started drizzling last night when I went over to the old place. It POURED most of the night from what I heard. And everything was soaked when I got up this morning.

I drove pretty slow on the way to work, but I still made it in about ten minutes. Within a minute and a half I was on the freeway, versus my old place was 7 minutes from the freeway. That's a definite plus!

And yes, I'm going to complain about having to be at work at five fricking thirty in the morning. Sheesh! How did I ever get up EVERY morning at 4:30 and haul myself off to work?

Once I'm there though, I'm all about work. It didn't seem like long before someone came to relieve me for my break, and they were half an hour late sending me to lunch, but I was surprised that it was that late. It was all of ten o'clock!

I had my sandwich that I (wisely) packed last night, or I wouldn't have taken anything. I set my alarm for 4:40, but realized this morning that I have the AM/PM thing messed up, and it's just a good thing I have two alarm clocks!

I worked the contractor's check-out today (Yes, I checked some of them out! *wink*) and I had pretty much fun. Most of them are in a hurry, but some of them were in a pretty good mood, mostly because it was Friday. I told one of them that's only a good thing if you don't work Saturday... which most of them don't.

I was talking to Brian, another cashier, who said that he had a whole weekend off coming up. I said how lucky he was, because those are few and far between, but he told me that some of us part-timers complained that the full-time people all work Monday through Friday, which leaves the rest of us to work all the weekend shifts. So that must be the reason I have three Sundays off in a row! It's possible I will have a whole weekend off on the 21st and 22nd, if I can find extra shifts for Tuesday and Thursday, I will even have 40 hours. It might be worth having an extra day off just to get that whole weekend... I'll have to see.

So I came home and read all my DLand and Google reader blogs, and then started working on the boxes that are stacked everywhere. My bedroom isn't too bad, but there are boxes with my collections in that I don't want to put on the shelf until I decide for sure where I want my shelf to be. I could possibly have room for it in the living room, and then I could get my dresser out of the closet. It fits in there great, and I have room for my clothes, the things I don't have room for are my laundry basket and my vacuum. The vacuum has a pretty big base to it and just doesn't fit anywhere else.

The living room is pretty congested right now because of all the boxes. The kitchen is small, but has a lot of cupboard space. I have to unpack all the boxes to fit the stuff in the kitchen and then it shouldn't be long before the rest of the house will take shape and I can arrange the furniture the way I want it. I finally found the roll of shelf liner I was looking for, so this weekend I can work on the kitchen.

I want it all to be done. Too bad I can't just channel Samantha Stevens, wiggle my nose and everything would be done.

Now that I've made room, I believe it's time to get the dining room table set up. That should help make things look a bit more organized, too.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

6 comments so far

im2qt2kr - 2009-02-07 05:18:06
PICTURES! WE WANT PICTURES! haaaa... But seriously, for safety and sound reasons, I'd rather live upstairs, but when you've gotta ton of groceries to carry in, or when moving, etc... downstairs is soooo much easier. I'm so glad you're happy with your new place. Think of all the major (and for the better) changes in your life in less than a year. WOW!!! You go girl!
-------------------------------
Crystal Balls - 2009-02-07 14:31:47
I'm with im2qt2kr - pictures! I have a downstairs apartment so I know exactly what you mean. Lucky for me my neighbors are generally pretty quiet, too.
-------------------------------
Patty - 2009-02-07 16:43:55
When I lived in a downstairs apt. my kids were small (I was a single Mom back then) and my upstairs neighbors were, uh, newlyweds. I used to tell my kids they had exercise equipment up there and liked to exercise at night after working all day. Ha!
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-02-07 20:20:56
hopefully the upstairs neighbors will continue to be quiet after 9 pm or so. I am glad that you have moved and I know it won't be long before you are settled in. Taking a little time to decide where you want your things is good but remember you can always move it if you don't like where you first place it..... I hope you get a real weekend really soon too.
-------------------------------
Beyondpanic - 2009-02-08 02:51:28
Hub and I ran to the Depot of Home tonight to pick up stuff. I got my tension rods and a new mop and then wandered to the front to wait for the Hub. The place was pretty quiet and after about 20 minutes, I noticed the woman behind the counter was looking at me in a friendly sort of way so I walked up to her and said, "How many men just dump their wives here and never come back. Do they walk down the plumbing aisle while the wives are looking at paint chips and after about an hour, the wife realizes the husband has walked out of their lives?" She was laughing when Hub came around the corner looking at me like I was the one that had been missing. I almost told her about your blog but then I was afraid corporate would somehow track you down and fire you for talking about the Depot of Home secrets.
-------------------------------
starkitten01 - 2009-02-08 03:57:19
I am *so* jealous if your upstairs neighbors are actually quiet! But I am hoping you have better luck than my b/f and I have had with OUR "lovely" upstairs demons...err.. neighbors! Mine are going to be the death of me if I don't go up there and knock their door down first! And as for the weather, wow, I'm from here and I am shocked at how much rain we're getting! I think we're still in for more through Tuesday, but the weather reports aren't always that accurate!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group