ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-10-19 ... 8:58 a.m.

previous - next

Working late, and hummers

First day I've skpped posting in ages! I worked yesterday from 2:30 until 11, so I didn't quite feel like posting when I got home, although I got home about 10:45. That's the one thing about closing, you generally leave early, so you don't get the hours. Oh well.

After I cleaned up the kitchen, and scrubbed the tub, I went over to Poolie's yesterday. Since she and Roomie were both gone to LA, poor Tucker and Sophie needed a bit of a break in the middle of the day. The dogs and I sat around outside for an hour or so. I was planning to read my book, which I did a little, but I got more engrossed with the hummingbirds.

Poolie has a lot of them coming to her feeders, and when they buzz past they sound like little mini UFOs do in the movies. They are hard to get a good picture of with my little point and shoot digital, but here are a few...

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

There are more here. I was sitting in the shade, and they were in the sun, so it was hard to get good pictures of them. Maybe next time.

Then I went off to work. I was pretty busy, right up until about 7:30. I was sent to returns to cover for Spike's break, and then went back to the main line. We did all the nightly cleaning and organizing, so that we could get out early. I guess when I'm supposed to be there until 11, I don't mind punching out half an hour early or so.... but then we sat around and waited for the manager to come and let us out of the locked door.

And everyone there LOVED my new do! One of the younger cashiers didn't recognize me for a bit, until I said hello to him! The girl who was supposed to do my hair originally really liked it too! It's so much nicer, and I'm really glad Joanie did such a great job!

There are two ways to punch out of the system there, one is using the time clock, and the other is using the computers that we use as registers. I maybe could find my way to punching out on the computer, maybe, so I just use the time clock, which is the ONLY way we are supposed to punch out. Besides, I was told that it comes up in your review if you misuse the computer function, and I'm all for getting the biggest raise I can.

So Spike and another guy waited until the manager came to let us out, then used the computer. The manager was NOT happy with that, and told them something about how they had just punched out for tomorrow or something goofy that happens with the computer system once everyone has punched out. Sure glad I did it the right way!

Then it was home, and unwind a bit before I felt sleepy enough to go to bed. I read for a while to finish my book and finally turned out the light about 1:30. Then I was up at 2 to close the bedroom windows. It was a bit chilly last night... and even though most of me was warm, I really hate having to bury my face in the covers to keep my nose warm.

Today I work from 1:30 till 10, which I'm hoping will be my new hours. They aren't that on the schedule that just went up, however. I will mention to Norma that she can work on filling in a couple of those empty days while I'm in Tombstone, and I'll see what she can come up with while I'm gone. Tonight is the "Cashier Olympics". The winner goes to another competition elsewhere in southern California, and maybe beyond. I am not doing real well, because I am not real motivated. Winning might get me prize money, but it won't get me full time. Besides, there are other cashiers who have been there longer and know the system better, and have a much better chance of winning.

And I still have some things to do around the house. I want to have it sparkling clean when I leave. Who likes coming home from vacation to a messy house?? My list of to-do things is getting down there, but some things can't be done until the last day or two, so I'm doing what I can now. I doubt I can mess the bathroom up too much on Monday and Tuesday.

And Wednesday I will be in TOMBSTONE!!! It will be so nice to see Rosie and Peggy, and meet Terri T and her hubby! We have some good conversations planned, and good fun things, too. I only wish we could all stay longer, but that dang thing called EMPLOYMENT is interfering for us. Sheesh!

THREE DAYS!!!!!!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

9 comments so far

Rosie - 2008-10-19 16:55:08
Dang! After waiting almost a year for this, it's hard to believe it's almost here! Whoo Hoo!
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-10-19 17:00:52
Wootness for everything wonderful! Three more days and we are off!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-10-19 18:23:31
Yay for the trip to Tombstone - and I hear you about the clean house. That's the BEST part of living alone: you clean up the house, it STAYS clean in your absence!!!
-------------------------------
Patty - 2008-10-19 22:38:39
WOW your hair cut is fabulous!! You look great! I have to go back and read the last couple of entries, but isn't it great to take care of now? EASY!
-------------------------------
Beyondpanic - 2008-10-20 00:17:32
I agree with Blue Opal. I love my family, but they sure know how to mess up the house. If they would just pick up after themselves, dammit! Have a great time in Tombstone!
-------------------------------
im2qt2kr - 2008-10-20 05:43:21
Hey Ms. Cocoa, Adorable Doo! It sooooo California. tee hee. Hey, do you have a crockpot? Would you like to have one of mine? I have an extra one and thought of you first. I think you'd really enjoy it. You could start your dinner on low before you leave, and by the time you get home, wa-la! dinner! Let me know. I can get it to you when you get back from the big hunt.
-------------------------------
Carrie - 2008-10-20 13:19:16
I'm late, but i LOOOVE your new haircut!!
-------------------------------
michele - 2008-10-20 13:46:25
those photos came out REALLLLLY well for you. nicely done. and, i'm surprised that if the manager prefers that you guys punch out on the clock thingy, why have the computer available? hmm... and i hope you get a HUGE FAT RAISE!!!
-------------------------------
michele - 2008-10-20 13:48:08
forgot to add... your haircut is FABOO! in fact, you look at least 10yrs younger. Nice!!!!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group