ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-09-17 ... 8:38 p.m.

previous - next

Maybe a new spot at work!

So... back to work today. Bummer. It was Pogo day too, but I did get to play for about two hours before work. The weather has been a lot cooler at night, so it's nice and cozy in bed in the morning, and pretty cool in my room, since my windows are still wide open.

Today I saw what Botox can do to a face. This lady's cheeks had sagged, and were kind of strangely puffed out, so I assumed that was what it was. She looked way older than she really was, and since I check IDs when someone uses a credit card, I always check the birthdate. It was kind of sad.

I realized today that the majority of mistakes I make at work are after my lunch break. It seems that I can't focus as well and I don't concentrate on what I'm doing. I wonder if lunch is taking all the blood from my brain, so I can't think?? Yeah, what's my excuse the rest of the time?

And today I grabbed a till drawer (the little insert that holds the bills and coins) and it had these little flippy things that hold the bills in place. Most of the drawers don't have these, and now I know why. The little flippy things didn't have springs on them, they would stay UP until I pushed them down.

Well, I figured if I just closed the drawer, they would go down, and it would be no problem. WRONG. They went down, but not far enough for me to open the drawer again. Cripes! I had to get a paint stirring stick and try to slide it in and over the little flippy thing so I could pull the drawer out, but two of the things were up, so that was quite a trick!

And I didn't just do it once, but FOUR times. Twice though, I just slammed the drawer shut without thinking, and then realized that it would be stuck the next time I opened it. Believe me, I kept that paint stick with me all day!

I am for the most part, feeling much more confident at work. Today I had a short chat with Norma, my boss, and she said she wants to get me trained in returns, since they have had four of the returns people quit lately. She wants someone who she thinks can "handle" returns so she wants to put me there! Nothing like the boss having confidence in you to make you feel much more confident yourself. And that could possibly make the difference between part and full time. I really need to get online on the work computers and check out the returns policy book so I can maybe know some of the stuff before I get there. Woot!

I had some pretty strange customers today.. one who spoke NO english at all, one who never stopped her cell phone conversation (and the customer behind her commented on that!) and one who just chattered away and wouldn't let me get a word in edgewise. Oh well... takes all kinds.

I'm just glad to be home, reading and posting, and Pogoing.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

10 comments so far

momonroof - 2008-09-18 09:07:15
You'd be GREAT at Returns/Customer service, Nance. You have a certain quality, it's hard to describe, but I guess I'd say it's "unflappability". You're pretty much unflappable,level-headed, and... logical, with a sorta sneak-up-on-ya dry wit. HEY! That wasn't hard to describe at all!
-------------------------------
michele - 2008-09-18 10:55:28
Oh, Pogo... Oh, Pogo...how I pine for the days of yesteryear where I could blissfully ensconce (neener!) myself within the sweet confines of Lottso, QWERTY or Texas Hold 'Em just to name a few. *sigh* .... I'm glad that your confidence is rising at work! Good for you! You're one smart chocolate cookie, ya know!
-------------------------------
Shear - 2008-09-18 11:36:07
Moving on up! Hooray! Everytime I see a HD commercial on tv, I think about you. (You should definitely do commercials for them!) I've already renamed the local HD "The Beanie Store".
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-09-18 12:17:58
Hooray for recognition from your boss! That's wonderful :D I hope you do well there - just be sure to take along a supply of chill pills for your customers, lol.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-09-18 15:00:01
I think MomOnRoof summed it up best! You are certainly an unflappable person, and I can just imagine the dry wit you'll unleash on a stupid customer without them even realizing it. Also I think I'll steal Shear's idea and start calling the big orange store "The Beanie Store!"
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2008-09-18 15:22:45
My problem time for making mistakes is during my last hour or two, by which time my back aches so bad and I am just flat running out of gas. I could do so much better with 6 hour shifts! LOL But, yeah, the whole rude customer thing is a touchy bit annoying. If they can't get off their phone long enough to even acknowledge your presence, that's pretty bad. At the bank, I refused to do a transaction for people while they were on their cell phone, but I can't do that at WW. Good luck with the new position. You would be perfectly suited for that! :)
-------------------------------
Shippie - 2008-09-18 17:16:06
Woot Woot! Congrats on the recognition! And great idea on doing a little studying beforehand. That always gets noticed and is something that always impresses me when training someone new. Bummer is, with that job you are still going to have to use the drawers, so either keep that stir stick handy or conquer that beast!! :-)
-------------------------------
Holly - 2008-09-18 18:04:52
Actually it could be your lunch, depending on what you eat for lunch and breakfast. I know if I dont' get enough protein or I eat too much fat, I'm dragging all afternoon. I also have to watch my caffiene and my sugar or I crash around 2pm, like a pair of Los Angeles trains. With your retail experience and demenor you'd be perfect for customer service and returns. Having dealt with a wide variety of customers, I can totally relate to the audacity of some people.
-------------------------------
Wyndspirit - 2008-09-19 03:59:49
The person ahead of me at Wal-Mart today didn't get off her cell, either. I think that is so rude. I talk on the phone all the time when I'm shopping, but I say my goodbyes and hang up when I head for the register. Cashiering seems hard and boring as it is--seems the least we can do is give you guys the courtesy of a few minutes of our undivided attention!
-------------------------------
Joan - 2008-09-19 04:32:11
Customer service is where you belong. You just seem to have the patience for that....but of course it could trying. But, hey you are just testing your wings and maybe the Depot of Home will only be your jumping off point. I can see you doing a lot more once you get established.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group