ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-05-31 ... 9:28 a.m.

previous - next

Unpacking and cleaning

I'm not quite in a routine yet so I haven't figured out just what time of day I will be posting. But as soon as I get into my own place and find a job things will settle down, I'm sure.

No, I'm not in my apartment yet. Poolie and I went over there yesterday morning to unload the truck. The kitchen floor is almost done, and the kitchen is painted, but as yet there is no sink or countertop. The carpeting isn't in, and all the other rooms need paint. I was a bit disappointed, but there isn't much I can do.

We returned the truck, and then went out for coffee. We took a little driving tour of my new neighborhood, and I realized that I really can't walk out of my neighborhood, because the street that goes across the canyon has no sidewalks. Since the street goes UP and DOWN with a few curves thrown in for fun, it would be quite dangerous to be on it on foot. That's fine, because there is a small park about a block away, and once I finally get into my place, I will have plenty to do unpacking and organizing, and I'm figuring it will be a while before I have time for recreational walking.

We went back to my place. It really is a cute apartment, and even though it's a two bedroom, it is almost too small for two people.

Here is the front door.. it still needs a screen door installed..

Photobucket

This is a picture of my back yard..

Photobucket

And all the boxes, minus the furniture I took along, which wasn't much..

Photobucket

Poolie started washing shelves in the upper kitchen cupboards and I started unpacking boxes labeled "kitchen". We did get a few boxes unpacked, which eased the congestion in the kitchen a bit. I think I have more kitchen boxes than anything else, since I have all my baking things and some of the baking items I knew wouldn't get used by Kid or anyone else at my old home.

We decided it was time for a break. Poolie was sneezing and generally feeling allergic to my stuff (BIG bummer) and needed to get away from anything that may have been in contact with my cats, which was most of my stuff. She slapped me upside the head when I started to get stressed, so we went to a coffee shop and turned on our computers and got into a major laughing jag. I was a bit more relaxed after that.

We stopped to eat, and by 8:30, I was asleep. I heard Roomie come home, but I was too tired to even get up and say hello. I slept almost all the way through until 6:30 this morning.

So now Poolie and Roomie are out to a show today, and I'm doing laundry, then heading over to see Poolie's Big Sis. I plan on going back to my new place later on and cleaning the lower cupboards so I can get more of my stuff put away. I also want to see what progress was made yesterday, if any, and what's happening over there today.

Believe me, I am very grateful that Poolie and Roomie are willing to let me stay with them until my place is finished. I honestly don't know what I would do without them. I still need to find a bed, which hopefully I can have delivered ASAP after my place is ready... then I can get on to the business of jobs and other necessary things like that.

I got to ride in Sister Mary Zoom Zoom yesterday, and she is an awesome car! Sporty and spiffy... and beautiful. Poolie even has a little wind-up nun in the front...

Just a side note.. I locked my old diary, since I've started this new one. If you want to read, the password is the same as the last time I locked it. If you don't have the password, just email me!

My laundry is almost finished drying, so it's time to get that out, fold what I can and be off to Big Sister's house! Woot! I'm slowly finding my way around this little part of the city. Today, my neighborhood.. tomorrow, the world.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

16 comments so far

mz. em - 2008-05-31 14:06:02
It is mind bending hard work but unpacking and getting belongings put away can be such a good feeling.
-------------------------------
DSis - 2008-05-31 14:24:41
Glad you are catching up on sleep � you have years of not enough sleep to catch up on! Cute place.
-------------------------------
Wyndspirit - 2008-05-31 14:27:07
Ugh. I am NOT looking forward to moving again. I know it will come eventually, but I'm still not recovered from moving into my trailer in '99. A caravan of friends and family with one pickup with a topper and one open (It was pouring rain. Guess which one every item of clothing I owned landed in.) and two cars packed as only my sisters and I know how to pack. (I had the four cats--my car wasn't completely maxed out cuz they needed breathing space.)
-------------------------------
princesscee - 2008-05-31 14:29:57
What a cute place! And soooo Sunny!!!
-------------------------------
Shippie - 2008-05-31 15:03:22
Say hi to my mom for me!! Wish I was there. Is that I-15 way off the background of your back yard?? I think I know where ya be!! Congrats on the baby steps of getting settled.
-------------------------------
Carol - 2008-05-31 17:26:25
I just love the color of your new home.
-------------------------------
kim - 2008-05-31 18:19:33
How exciting! So happy that you made it to your new home safely. It's so much fun to share all your new experiences with you! Cheers!
-------------------------------
art - 2008-05-31 19:25:35
heya! this is locked, too! your back yard looks a lil like poolies back yard! lets hope they aint charging you RENT whilst the renovations are being completed!!!
-------------------------------
mpeacock - 2008-05-31 19:37:39
I am so happy for you. I'll be back to the west coast soon too.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-05-31 20:23:45
Your new place looks awesome!! As much as I love moving from place to place, I hate the unpacking. When we got here, we made the mistake of having the movers "unpack" us. Biggest mistake ever. All they did was open boxes and dump crap on the floor. It took something like a week to get rid of all the STUFF in piles all over the house. And that's with both Kurt and me working!!!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-05-31 22:09:49
I'm so glad you've got your place! We're hoping to get the keys to our place tomorrow and start moving. I have the next THREE days off and by golly I don't want to spend 'em here!!!
-------------------------------
Miss Hiss - 2008-05-31 23:33:47
Beany, I'm truly so excited for you I swear I could burst! But I guess that no matter how excited I am, you're a billion times more excited. Oh, what a life you have to look forward to now! Love, R xxx
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-06-01 01:48:54
You'll be settled soon, keedo. And then the routine of writing will find its way back to you.
-------------------------------
Carolyn - 2008-06-01 09:36:34
Let's be honest, packing and unpacking sucks! The great thing is that this place is yours...only yours. You can put things anywhere you want and you'll always know where everthing is. Your apartment looks adoreable and so sunny. Just like you!
-------------------------------
LA - 2008-06-01 14:46:04
Your new place looks sweet! Though the delay is a bummer it's cool the kitchen is being redone and the paint is newly done. Freshened up new home for your fresh new life! Good omens all around. ~LA
-------------------------------
Paula - 2008-06-01 20:58:08
Your new place is adorable...love that Turquoise blue. I can't wait to see the pics once you have it all dolled up. I know it's aggravating to still not have it done but it is nice that once they finish working on it, it will be all new stuff. How far are you from Poolie's house?
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group