ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-07-08 ... 8:01 p.m.

previous - next

A birthday meal

I missed my Burger King fix today! It's Whopper Wednesday here, when whoppers are $1.49, and I didn't even get one!

Today was also the thirtieth birthday of The Depot of Home, so either the management or corporate provided us with a birthday meal! We had Phil's BBQ, which is very well known in San Diego. We had ribs and chicken, potato salad and beans. Everyone I talk to about it just raves about how wonderful it is... I was not impressed.

The ribs were tender, with just the right amount of sauce, but the sauce wasn't very saucy. It was ok, but there were a lot of burned areas on both the ribs and the chicken. The potato salad was pretty bland, and the beans were... well... beans. What can you say about beans?

I know it's a matter of taste, and I ate it, so it wasn't all that bad. At least I had a chance to try it for free before going there to eat it. But as far as free meals went, it was pretty good. There was also cake, and a big bowl of little candy bars... yeah, I dug into that!

There are several vegetarians who work there, and they were given gift certificates to Chili's. I'm not sure if the potato salad had bacon in it, but that would have been the only thing they would have been able to eat. Hardly a great meal for them.

Otherwise the day went well, and I pretty much held my own even though I was left alone a couple of times. One of the older, more experienced cashiers there told me she likes the way I work, my work ethic, and the way I handle customers and other employees. I thanked her, and said that I wished management would notice, but that eventually I feel that the good job I'm doing there will come back to me in a good way. Maybe not at the Depot of Home, but somewhere, somehow. One can only hope, and continue to do a good job.

So I had a couple minutes left before I had to punch out, and I went into the food room and snagged a couple more ribs and some candy so I really didn't need to stop for my Whopper on the way home. I am looking forward to having the next two days off. REALLY looking forward to it!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

6 comments so far

im2qt2kr - 2009-07-09 04:32:01
I've had Phil's BBQ....knowing what it's like, I would have become a vegetarian for the day and taken the Chili's card.
-------------------------------
Carolyn - 2009-07-09 11:18:39
I'm not a big fan of BBQ myself. There is a BBQ restaurant here that EVERYONE raves about. When we ate there, my reaction was similiar to yours. Meh. But then again, a free meal is a free meal, right? I would have filled my pockets with the little candy bars and called it good. ;o)
-------------------------------
gbw - 2009-07-09 11:43:30
I am impressed they accomodated the veggies. I have never once been given the opportunity to eat at one of those types of gigs. Maybe times have changed (afterall it has been a while)but for some reason I don't think that would happen around here.
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-07-09 14:58:25
Phil's also makes veggie burgers that are great! Too bad they didn't bring some over for your folks. :(
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-07-09 19:17:06
Nice that you got a free meal..even if it wasn't quite what you expected. It was nice that they accommodated the vegetarians...most places don't think beyond the standard coffee and meal choices. Hope you enjoy your days off....
-------------------------------
psis - 2009-07-09 23:23:37
It's always nice to get an unslicited compliment! Keep up the good work and it will pay off.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group