ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-06-16 ... 5:28 p.m.

previous - next

More applying and work

Wow. Long day. Gabi woke me up late today... 5:45. It sure was nice to get that extra 15 minutes, although I fell asleep last night at 8:30. So I guess it really was time to get up. And today is my last day of dog-sitting.

I will be glad to get back to my own place, although not much has been done there. The medicine cabinet has been installed, and some of the cupboard doors have their hardware on them, but that's all that's changed in the past 5 days that I've been staying here at Gabi's.

I went to a fancy market to apply for a job, in La Jolla. It's quite a distance from my house, but in a very beautiful part of San Diego. Mountains, ocean, and surf. Can't beat that!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

This is a picture of Mission Valley taken from the top of a canyon very near Gabi's house. I can tell you, the pictures don't do the sight justice. It is amazing!

Photobucket

As always, there are more pictures to see here:http://s150.photobucket.com/albums/s92/nkarrels/june%202008/

So I went over to the museum to drop off my invoice for last week's work (I'm an independent contractor) and while I was there, I talked to my landlord about how disappointed I was that Mr Fix-It hadn't finished my apartment like I thought he would. So I told him everything that needed to be done. Most of it is little stuff like outlet plates and switch covers, but a lot of it is hanging doors on cupboards, door knobs for the rooms, and putting up my screen door.... not to mention screens for the windows. He wrote it all down, and assured me he will look into it. I like the place, and I haven't even gotten everything unpacked because there is so much of Mr Fix-It's junk sitting around.

While I was there, I thought I would just go up and see Poolagirl while she was working. While I was talking to her, my "boss" said he was ready with the next part of my project. I ended up working for over two hours, until I realized how late it was getting, and poor Gabi had been in the house alone for the past seven hours. I will go back tomorrow to finish up the rest of my project.

And I still haven't decided if I want to train at the market research company. I suppose I should.. I guess I'll wait and see how tomorrow goes.

I came back here and walked her, then fed her supper. I'm getting the place back into the shape it was in before I got here, and then I'll take her for one last walk. I'm sure she will be glad to see her owner again... although I will miss being around a dog. I only spent a couple of days at my house, most of them at Poolie's (with Tucker and Sophie) and then the past five here with Gabi. I will miss those fur babies! I just won't miss getting up that early!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

13 comments so far

Rebekah - 2008-06-17 02:02:22
Gorgeous!

you getting a puppy? ;) i bet ther's a pound nearby, or that someone at Rebecca's will know. (it's in the name)
-------------------------------
Sis - 2008-06-17 02:47:22
Nice pictures, nice surf boards! Sure hope you don't have to pay full rent for your place this past month! Hope they have it finished soon for you. The work part will come, I'sure. Hang in there!
-------------------------------
art - 2008-06-17 02:49:56
i miss the rolling hills there!! its a paradise!! i hope you find real work soon!!! mr. landlord seems to be an ok fella!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-06-17 03:37:50
California is always beautiful and I'm so jealous of the year-round even (more or less) temperatures. But you're welcome to aallllll the fur-babies. I've had enough canine company to do me for a long time.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-06-17 04:07:57
Maybe a puppy needs to become part of your family! I can't even imagine life with my Koolit. He's a late-sleeper, though. You have SUCH beautiful scenery around you! The photos are amazing.
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-06-17 04:52:39
Fur babies are the best!
-------------------------------
Aristocratic Red - 2008-06-17 05:10:20
Maybe you need a little puppy! Thanks for sharing those pictures of the pretty surfer boys!! YUM! :) HEHE.
-------------------------------
kim - 2008-06-17 11:25:03
I sure wish we lived closer. Sinbad would love to take those early morning walks with you! I had to chuckle when you said "sleeping in" until 5:45! That is a LUXURY for me too! *heehee*
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2008-06-17 11:27:02
How great that you got to talk to the landlord and he's gonna get Mr Fix-It in gear!! Let's hope that pans out quickly!! And a pooch is a great idea! Especially to have with you on your walks. He/she could keep those nasty dessert critters at bay!
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2008-06-17 11:28:00
Geez.....the DESERT critters as well! LMAO
-------------------------------
l\'empress - 2008-06-17 12:34:17
Gorgeous scenery (of course!). Regarding market research: it's often a miserable job, but there may be more jobs for such people as the election progresses. And -- since I gotta say it -- nothing you ever learn is wasted.
-------------------------------
Terri T. - 2008-06-17 16:39:05
I am glad you got to speak with Mr. Landlord. It isn't any good when you can't relax in your own place because someone is coming over at any time to "fix" things. Sounds like Mr. Landlord is going to have to get on with Mr. Fix It. And, I do hope he gives you some consideration on the rent....Good luck with the job search...it sounds like you are giving all opportunities a chance. Thanks for sharing the beauty of California with us too.
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2008-06-17 21:38:01
I will be more than happy to donate a cat or two as a housewarming gift! Little Boy would love San Diego, and he could keep the evil beasties at bay. And I'm sure Ysabella would love to have someone new to drool on all night long!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group