ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-09-30 ... 8:21 p.m.

previous - next

The booksigning and the garden

OK, I did manage to get my Firefox working again last Saturday... I had been getting the download from download.com, and I was thinking on the way home from work on Saturday that I would go over to the Firefox page and see if they had any helpful suggestions. I uninstalled it before I went there, and just downloaded it from Firefox, and voila! it was back, even with all my bookmarks on it! Yay!!

And I went to the book signing last night. There weren't enough chairs for everyone, and it's a pretty small store anyway, so I just stood. I parked about two blocks away, because there are a couple restaurants near that book store, and they were doing a good business last night!

I met Brian Herbert and Kevin Anderson. Together they have written four books that fill in some of the gaps that Dune left... books that Brian's father, Frank, would have written had he not died. They were quite entertaining and this was their last joint stop (Brian said, "Joint?? Who's got a joint??") so they were all relaxed and not dressed up.

I enjoyed listening to Brian talk about some of the things that were hard to understand about Dune, and what the books they had written (and still are under contract to write) will explain about some of the relationships in the books that were difficult to really understand.

It was pretty cool! They even passed out (gummy) sandworms of Dune, and they autographed the packages, too! I bought a paperback, just so I could have them autograph it. While they were signing, I told Brian what book of his father's I liked the best (The White Plague). He was kind of surprised, said it was being re-released soon, and that he agreed that it was a very good book.

The two authors will be back next year for the next book release, and will have a signing just like last night.. but then the next two Dune books will be at two-year intervals instead of one-year. That means if I want to read the series again when it's complete, I will have to wait for five years. I might just pick it up once before then. There is so much in each book that I'm sure rereading some of them wouldn't hurt.

So...... I worked in the garden department all day today. I was alone for a lot of it, because of the whole cutting hours thing. I didn't mind too much. I got a longish line a couple of times, but it goes fast, and I kind of think they are putting me out there because they are trusting me to handle it on my own. That's a good thing!

There was something going on with the one cashier who ALWAYS works in garden, and she ALWAYS works Monday-Friday. I know either this week or next she is working Tuesday-Saturday, and I heard mention of a "review" so I'm not sure if that's why she was upset. I got there too late to hear very much of it, so I just stayed out of it completely. Easier that way!

And since I hadn't been out in garden last week at all, I was totally surprised to see they'd moved all the indoor plants outside to make room for all the Christmas stuff inside. Bringing the indoor plants out made everything else move around, too, so it was hard to tell people where things were. I just hate when they do that!!!

I will walk around a bit more tomorrow and see if I can find the geraniums (everyone wanted them today, but why??!?!) and some of the other things that were displaced. It just looks really weird out there! And it didn't look like anyone swept much, either. Sheesh! I spent my whole day sweeping, but I know the garden people appreciate it, cause I'm about the only one who will do it.

It sure sounds like I'm sucking up... and I am in a way, but it bothers me when there's a lot of dirt on the floor, even though it's an "outside" area. There doesn't have to be that much dirt!!

But now it's time to relax. I already have my feet up. Plans are in the works for lunch on Thursday! Woot!!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

7 comments so far

orgami - 2008-10-01 03:49:55
Dune writers! wow I read Dune years ago when it first came out I havent read the White Plauge and tonight one of the Dune Movies was playing Captian Picard from the Star Trek modern series was leading an attack force carrying what looked to be a small dog i was just channel flipping though Gardening and in a place where there is no snow so plants grow year round no snow So happy to hear things are going well well must get going for now
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2008-10-01 05:43:42
Geraniums grow better in cooler weather! I have such a hard time with them here. they pretty much die off during the hottest months and then come back, well....about now! In Alaska I used to have tons of huge, gorgeous Geraniums.....sigh.....We're selling pansies and mums these days, like crazy. People rip out their summer flowers and fill their beds with pansies. They'll last pretty much all winter here, unless they get caught in an ice storm or hailed on :(
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-10-01 07:06:28
I miss geraniums. They're annuals here because they die out in the heat.
-------------------------------
michele - 2008-10-01 11:04:01
that is SO cool that you got to MEET authors of books and get your copy signed. i am so happy for you!!!!
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-10-01 14:17:54
Looking forward to lunch!
-------------------------------
Holly - 2008-10-01 22:50:14
I'm not much of a Dune fan, but I did meet Kevin Anderson (and his wife) at a local convention a few years ago. I've also got several books signed by Terry Brooks and one by Ben Bova. Glad to know there are other geeks out there too. I love a good book signing.
-------------------------------
mz. em - 2008-10-04 19:02:55
The Dune writers! What fun. Because I don't get the paper, I don't always hear of the book signings but the ones I have gone to have been enjoyable. The best one was Ray Bradbury and another was of a former co-worker who had just published her first book and with a contract for two more books. Hoo, hoo!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group