ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-07-09 ... 3:59 p.m.

previous - next

Geting things done!

Last night before I was headed off to bed, I downloaded and installed a Windows update. I had to restart my computer, so I figured I would restart it, get things back to speed, and then go to bed. Right.

I couldn't get online once I got things back up. Gaaaaa!! I called the cable company, and got a computer who talked me through getting things back running, did the whole... "I see your router, now unplug it" thing, but it still didn't work. After about 40 minutes, a real actual PERSON came on the line, and had things up and running in about 2 minutes.

The culprit was the update, which was for ZoneAlarm, which was corrupted. So I forgot to ask the guy about hooking up my router again, so I figured I would just hook it up and be on my way. Nope. No internet again. So I called back, swearing that if I was going to get the computer again, I would firebomb the building it was in. Well, not really, but you know what I mean.

I got the computer again, but the voice said, "Oh, I see you just called with the same problem, let me get someone to help you!" Thank the gods! So I had to unplug everything, plug it back in, and reboot. That made five reboots in about an hour. Sheesh! But I had to be online for Pogo day today!!!

I did play a little Pogo this morning, but those empty bookshelves were just staring at me, pleading with me to fill them with books. So I did. I don't have enough shelf space, darn it all. I need a few more bricks, too, because the shelves sag just a bit in the middle. Along with the bricks, I need two more shelves, but I think I have enough polyurethane to cover them.

And of course, I took a picture.

Photobucket

And I still have this pile of books to put on shelves.

Photobucket

I do have some paperbacks that are too big for the lower shelves that will have to go on top, but only a few. It will be a couple of days more before it's all finished, but it's one less thing.... And if you think this is a lot of books, I gave at least this many away before I moved, if not more. I'm so glad I did!!

In other news, Big Sister and I went over to the island of Coronado today for breakfast and errands. We had a ball! We ate at a little coffee shop that had only one booth left when we got there, and not many more by the time we left. Yummy! The little places to eat are usually much better (and more reasonably priced) than the chain type of restaurants. This one was no exception. And because we were on an island, the weather was much cooler than in the city.

On the way back, we made a little detour so I could show Big Sister my place. Phew! Glad I had it (sort of) cleaned up! I dropped Big Sister off and then came home to chill for an hour or so in Pogo, and then off I went to grocery shop.

It was getting pretty hot by this time, so I went to Henry's and Albertsons and then came home. I think it is a good night for a cool supper of salad and fruit. Especially those delicious strawberries and plums I got at Henry's. Woot! I even took advantage of some of the ad items at Albertson's (OK, so I was cherry picking!) and stocked up on things for the week Kid is coming. I bought two 24-packs of Pepsi products for $8!

But now I'm home for the day, and I'm glad. Time to just chill out and relax and play a bit more Pogo. And back to work tomorrow.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

12 comments so far

Blue Opal - 2008-07-10 00:38:33
LOVE the way the bookcase turned out. :D You just need to add another layer up as you go, though I'd only do that along one wall, maybe even in steps so you have added display space.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-07-10 02:44:41
Oh your shelves turned out GORGEOUSLY!!! You did a really fantastic job, my friend. Now I want to snuggle up in a chair or beanbag and spend the day reading. Heh.
-------------------------------
Sis - 2008-07-10 03:05:24
Wow! Your reading corner looks really cool. I'm sure Kid is anxious for the trip out there, hope you are able to savor the time with her and that it doesn't go too fast. Did you stock up on chocolate too? Glad everything is going so well for you!
-------------------------------
kim - 2008-07-10 10:52:38
Would you like to be my interior designer? The bookcase looks super! I'm so glad that you'll soon have a visitor. I'm sure the Kid is going to love your new home and your new life!! *hugs*
-------------------------------
Dana - 2008-07-10 10:53:57
The bookcases look great :) You did a great job.
-------------------------------
Rose - 2008-07-10 12:47:13
Damn girl you could open up a library! Have you read all those books? When do you find time?
-------------------------------
Carrie - 2008-07-10 13:43:12
The bookcases look fabulous!!!! I think you missed your calling!!
-------------------------------
Patty - 2008-07-10 16:19:31
WOW! The bookcase looks GREAT! And yeah, you've got a lot of books!
-------------------------------
Ingrid - 2008-07-10 16:31:23
Your library looks great! The bookshelves are awesome. Good job!
-------------------------------
Erianne - 2008-07-10 17:32:24
Great bookcase! Makes me wish I had some open wall space...I'd copy your idea in heart beat!
-------------------------------
cloudy - 2008-07-10 17:46:16
Books! Woo! Do you organize alphabtically or by size or by Genre or...?
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2008-07-13 17:42:54
That looks great! I love how you did the corner with the lamp. Nice to see that you are just as creative with bricks as you are with aluminum foil!! LMAO!!!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group