ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-06-23 ... 4:02 p.m.

previous - next

Monday errands

Yes, I sure was tired last night! I fell asleep about 9, and didn't get up until 6:30 this morning! I'm totally catching up on my sleep while I can, but this hot weather just takes it out of me. It's not too bad at night, and sure wasn't last night because I took a couple ice packs to bed with me. I should have used one on my neck to cool off those blood vessels, but I stuck them both on my ankle. I didn't really need them, but you know what they say about prevention.....

My only real chores for the day were going to pee in a cup for the drug testing and mailing out a couple of bills. The drug testing was quite a trip. I had to lock my purse in a locker, so I didn't have it in the restroom. I had to wash my hands before, with no soap. Wonder why that was? I wasn't watched when I peed like I was the last time, but she immediately came in when I knocked on the door, checked the temperature of the pee, and then had me watch her put it into 2 vials and label it with stickers with my signature on it, while I was washing my hands with soap. The whole thing took about ten minutes, and I was done. Woot!

I stopped at the grocery store for a few things, and found some purple apricots that are sooooo sweet and good.. I got back here, mailed out my bills and then unpacked a couple boxes of books. They had been in the basement so they were kind of dirty, with cobwebs and cat hair. I tried to vacuum them (first time using the vacuum) and discovered that the vacuum was clogged with a bunch of paper and dust bunnies and junk, so I had to fix that before I could bother with the books. So OK, I just forgot about the books. I don't have any bookshelves anyway, so I guess it doesn't matter.

PSis, I did NOT take the pennies to the bank. I looked online, and most of them are worth at least 3 cents each. Some wheat pennies are worth over $500, so I will have to check and see if I have any of those. I emailed a coin collecter in San Diego to see if they want them, or are interested in looking at them, but so far I haven't gotten a reply. I'm not sure now that I even want to get rid of them, since they will grow in value every year. Plus now I have to resort them by date, so that will probably take me a year or more to do. haha.

I also called Black & Decker to complain about the price of a new carafe to replace the one I broke. Their carafes are less than the price of shipping, which is only about $2 less than I paid for the entire coffee pot. The guy I talked to was very nice, and gave me a substantial discount on the carafe to make it worth while buying a new one. Yay. My poor little coffee press is wearing out!

All in all it's been a quiet day around the Cocoabean household. No one telling me to haul boxes around... Heh. Poolie wasn't quite a slave driver yesterday; after all, I did volunteer to help, so I kind of did it to myself. And Poolie and Roomie worked just as hard as I did, and they worked longer, too. And we did get a lot done. Moving day is coming soon, but at least that won't be all inside the house. Hopefully I won't be working at the Depot of Home and will be available to help.

****************************************************

I am still amazed and awed every day by the beauty of San Diego. Being able to see mountains from my bedroom window is just amazing. I can't often stop in the middle of the street to take a picture of the stunning mountains and valleys, but I wish I could. (I just don't relish the thought of getting run over while snapping pictures.) The pictures just never seem to do it justice. Everyone should see this at least once. It is truly a gift to be able to live here and see what I see every day.

(Bucket, it's the 15 behind my house!)

previous - next

Kiss Me!

9 comments so far

Rosie - 2008-06-24 00:10:14
Mt Miguel is awesome, and just wait until it snows in the Cuyamacas! Have you been up to Julian and Santa Ysabel yet? If not, call Dudley's and make sure they will be open, same for Farmer's, and head up there to get some yummy bread and pie and cider! Maybe some day I can head over there, and I can show you some of my special places; then again, my Rat Queen knows most of them, so maybe she can do the honors!
-------------------------------
psis - 2008-06-24 02:48:36
I'm glad you are rethinking the pennies--I just couldn't see you just getting a penney for them--a fellow at work said off hand he knew that 1909 with certain initials are worth 500$ and a 1955 double die is worth alot also--he couldn't recall any others but you can learn alot on ebay about different years. We do drug testing at work all the time and every precaution has to be taken to keep the druggies from slipping a drugless urine instead of their own. Pretty soon you will become acclimated to those temps and you won't be so hot--make sure you drink lots of fluids!
-------------------------------
Gopheroo - 2008-06-24 03:30:54
Purple apricots - I've never seen one of those before!! This is my summer for learning about new but common fruits, like a Donut Peach (yum). These pennies sound interesting!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-06-24 07:12:14
I'm glad you're checking into the value of those pennies. Hanging onto them might be worth it - or not. Depends on what they're worth and how much you need the money. As for the view, I know what you mean. Growing up in the Midwest, you get a whole 'nother view when moving somewhere with mountains!
-------------------------------
Fifi - 2008-06-24 10:19:28
Hallo, Beanie! (It took me a minute to remember that you've changed your d-land name! Well, you can come to any party, any time! I'll bet that you are loads of fun! XOFifi
-------------------------------
Megan - 2008-06-24 13:23:09
Purple apricots?!! I love fruit, so I'd probably like them. I've always heard San Diego was beautiful. Hope we get to go there some day.
-------------------------------
capitolady - 2008-06-24 15:42:05
In my opinion San Diego is about THE most beautiful city in the USA. I sure miss living there. Good tip on the pennies I may just have to go through mine now. :)
-------------------------------
Starkitten01 - 2008-06-24 21:10:49
I'm glad you're liking it here so much! I wish I had that appreciation of So.Cal., I have always heard people say this or that, but because I'm from here and spent a good portion of my life here, I have become so jaded to the good things about it :-/ However, I wouldn't trade having the beaches at my disposal for anything in the world. :-) Glad to hear things are going well!! <3
-------------------------------
Shippie - 2008-06-26 17:22:04
Sigh. I know exactly where you live and it IS gorgeous! I remember!! I used to live further north up the 15 in Tierrasanta and would drive to Coronado every day to work through Balboa Park on the 169. It was wonderful and gorgeous each way!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group