ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-06-22 ... 7:01 p.m.

previous - next

I met Poolie the slave driver!

Good news first!! Woot! I got the job at Home Depot! It's part time to start, the boss said they don't ever hire anyone for full time at first. This is the second biggest Home Depot in San Diego, and they are very busy. I had a hard time finding a parking spot. The best news is that after 90 days, not only do I get a raise, but I get health, dental and vision insurance. Hooray!!!

I have to wait for my drug test and background check to come back, but the boss thinks I will be starting work by Thursday. It's not enough hours to live on, yet, but it's a start!

Even if I get a full-time job (or close to full time) elsewhere, it would have to really be an awesome one for me to quit Home Depot with those kind of benefits.. and SIX sick days a year for part timers. Dang!

I had quite a few empty boxes, so I dragged them over to Poolie's so she would have enough to pack in. No problem there, half her garage was filled with empty boxes. I asked if she needed help. (Note to self: DON'T ASK!!) Poolie is a slave driver, I'll tell ya. She made me haul boxes down the steps, out to the garage, and then organize them in the garage. Geeze!!

Poolie felt the need for lunch, so she drove us all to Lenny's.... errr... Denny's. (Anyone remember that commercial?) At least we all got to sit down for a while. Poolie drank about a gallon of iced tea, and I only got a couple glasses. Ok, so maybe I had four, but who's counting?

We went back to work. Poolie had two more rooms full of boxes she wanted me to haul downstairs and organize in the garage. I was slowing down though, because the stairs were getting slippery from all the sweat dripping off of me. My shirt was soaked. At least Poolie was nice enough to give me a dry shirt. The way I figured it, it was one less I had to carry down. Heh.

Lest you think I was the only one working, Roomie was filling more boxes with things in the downstairs. At least those didn't have to go down the steps, and only a few of them made their way out to the garage today. I think Roomie was just keeping a low profile so Poolie didn't start ordering her around too.

I was just glad Poolie doesn't have a whip. Maybe she packed it already....

Finally, Poolie found a job we could both do sitting down.. emptying out a bookcase in her office. We only filled three boxes with books. She has way more books than I do! Once that was done, we just kind of sat there, with dazed looks, trying not to fall asleep where we sat.

Roomie drove us to the Coldstone Creamery, and Poolie treated us to ice cream. I was trying hard to stay awake while I was eating mine... I was nice and cool there, because my new tshirt was also pretty wet and the air conditioning just kind of added to the coolness.

Then Roomie decided to walk around Ikea for a while, and since I'd only been there once, and I wanted to see what they had, I went with her. She had to keep stopping and waiting for me because I was gawking and walking pretty slow. By this time, I was pretty worn out!

Then back to Poolie's to pick up my icky wet shirt, and finally, home. I'm going to take a shower and lie in bed with my laptop. I doubt I will be awake much longer!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

20 comments so far

art - 2008-06-23 02:49:11
wow!! home depot gives you all that and cake for part time?? dang!!! oh i hope you get to work almost 40 hours a week there!! WTG in there!! i could not imagine lil ole poolie being a slave driver!!! heh!!
-------------------------------
Sis - 2008-06-23 03:03:59
Congrats on the job! I have heard that Home D has good benefits. Do you know what dept you will be working in? I can relate to helping move as we also helped Bob's brother move on Saturday, that is a job! And it wasn't quite as hot here as SD. Take care, enjoy your last few days not working.
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-06-23 03:07:24
Dang. Maybe I'll go to work for Home Depot. Sounds like I'd be making nearly as much as I make where I work now, working part time, AND have better benefits. I'm game for trying.
-------------------------------
poolie - 2008-06-23 03:20:26
Tote that barge and lift that bale!
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2008-06-23 03:51:26
Congrats on the job! What a deal! Part time with bennies is awesome. And shame on Poolie for making you sweat......
-------------------------------
wordwhore - 2008-06-23 04:36:19
yay on the job!! and yes, here in my house, we always call it Lenny's!
-------------------------------
im2qt2kr - 2008-06-23 05:42:08
Oh Ms. Cocoa, I am so thrilled for you. I can't help but notice something too. You should go back and look at some of your entries when you were Chaosdaily, and compare them to now. What a wonderful transformation. Not that I didn't love Chaosdaily, but your have broken out of your caccoon, and a gorgeous butterfly has now emerged. I'm so very happy for you. We'll be in contact soon.
-------------------------------
kim - 2008-06-23 05:48:02
Congratulations! That's not a bad way to start off, especially if you will be getting all those benefits to boot! *woohoo*
-------------------------------
Erianne - 2008-06-23 10:47:09
Yay for you!
-------------------------------
LA - 2008-06-23 11:48:50
YAY!!!! Great news. When they see how efficient and hard working you are I'll betcha they scare up a full-time position for you. Even not, bennies and not fearing losing your job if you take a sick day is fantastic. Congrats! ~LA
-------------------------------
princesscee - 2008-06-23 12:07:07
Congratulations!!! I hope they realize how lucky they are to have you working for them.
-------------------------------
momonroof - 2008-06-23 12:31:26
heh heh heh... wet T-shirt... he heh heh...
-------------------------------
k.lo - 2008-06-23 12:46:25
Man! I didn't even connect wet t-shirt with naughty until momonroof mentioned it. Congrats on the new job! They'll have you working full-time in no time, once they see what a hard worker you are.
-------------------------------
Pattypat - 2008-06-23 13:19:41
WOO HOO! Good for you - you KNOW they'll be loving you at H.D. for full time in no time.
-------------------------------
shippie - 2008-06-23 14:03:03
CONGRATS on the job! With those bennies maybe I'll check out HD too when I get my papers. And I am LAUGHING hard now...heh heh heh....finally the world is seeing the Poolie I know and grew up with! Slave driver...WHIP!! Uh huh!
-------------------------------
Rose - 2008-06-23 14:52:17
i love cold stone!!!!
-------------------------------
Patty - 2008-06-23 16:12:45
Wonderful news! Congrats! I know that's a load off your mind.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-06-23 18:04:53
YAY!! That is excellent news, my friend, and such wonderful benefits. There's a HD a tenth of a mile from my house; I could walk there!!
-------------------------------
capitolady - 2008-06-23 19:48:45
Congrats on the job!!! Wow bennies at Part time status how cool! Glad you are happy at last!
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2008-06-23 21:17:27
I'll be happy to loan Poolie my Purple Flogger! Tee Hee! You should be running part of the show within the year, so I have no worries that you will be able to make a decent salary!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group