ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-09-21 ... 5:19 p.m.

previous - next

A lovely day!

*Yawn* 5AM is WAY too early to be at work. It's hard to believe I did that at least four days a week. I would do it again if I had to, but not willingly.

This was a "rah-rah" meeting. They had "breakfast Jacks" from Jack-in-the-Box, like Egg McMuffins. They had OJ, apple juice and milk, but NOTHING with caffeine in it. There were a lot of complaints about that! I was just glad I had a diet Pepsi on the way to work!

There was also a dunk tank, to dunk managers. The two hour meeting was a lot of milling around. I found a bunch of the garden people in the back of the receiving lot (where this all took place) and I hung out with them. It also seemed to be the smoking area, but I was just glad to be able to sit somewhere other than the ground.

Plus back there, I heard all the gossip. Heh. That can be mighty interesting! Finally, someone came and made us all move. Bummer. The next step was the handing out of checks. Money? Oh yes, but only if you worked the months of April, May and June. I worked a couple of days in June, but didn't qualify for them because I was four days short of being there for 90 days.

A day (or four) late and a few dollars short. Oh well. Next time!

Then they sprung us all a half hour early. That would be fine, but I was already scheduled for two hours less today, so I'm already missing those hours on my next check... I stayed that last half hour, but I was actually doing things, and not just sitting in the break room.

Then I found an IHOP and sat there for about an hour, read the weekly San Diego Reader, had a pot of coffee, and went back to work.

Let's just say the coffee didn't help much. I got another four hours of work in, and then it was time to leave. There is a god!!

I called Poolie, and we met for coffee and chat. I always enjoy my time with her, and we even went on a short field trip to Michael's for some Javelinahunt supplies. Woot!

Now... for some pictures!

My cactus family is loving it here. Most of them have increased in size, and some of them are showing new growth..

This one has a whole new prickly ball growing on the side...

Photobucket

This one has a new star-shaped growth

Photobucket

And the other morning, I was greeted by this on my way to work!

Photobucket

This was the view Poolie and I had sitting outside the coffee shop while we were giggling and planning..

Photobucket

It was a lovely day!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

7 comments so far

Poolie - 2008-09-22 00:54:55
The coffee time was great! Thank you!
-------------------------------
art - 2008-09-22 03:10:24
that last flower pic looks like 2 fried eggs!! wooot!!
-------------------------------
onewetleg - 2008-09-22 05:53:41
Those cactus must be so happy. Coming from the frozen north to California. It makes me think they have little conversations a la those happy California cow commercials, lol.
-------------------------------
michele - 2008-09-22 11:15:27
when I first saw "dunk tank", I read it as "Drunk tank" and was a bit confused why the managers would be a part of that.... lol... guess the java hasn't hit me yet! lol!
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-09-22 13:14:46
Wow, your cacti look like they're thriving!! Thanks for posting photos of them. I love all kinds of succulents.
-------------------------------
terri t - 2008-09-22 20:19:39
A short day at work but paid for a couple extra hours and lunch with Poolie....sounds like it all worked out well for you.
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-09-23 02:05:27
The cactus garden definitely looks happy... And the coffee shop sounds like fun, only some of us don't do coffee.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group