ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-07-06 ... 11:09 p.m.

previous - next

Errands this morning, work later

I worked the closing shift today, so I didn't even START work until 2PM. Dude kept me up last night texting me until about midnight, so I was glad I could sleep a bit later this morning.. although had I worked early, I would have just told him to stop texting me. He knows about the time difference, but thought it was three hours, and not two. Oh well.

So this morning I ran a few errands, since I won't be able to run them after work. The first order of the day was an oil change. The light in my car has been on for about a week, but I had to wait until I got paid to get it done. So I printed up a coupon and off I went. Both my air filters were pretty dirty, but I think I can manage to change those myself for less. Plus they wanted me to rotate my tires. They said it needs to be done every 6,000 miles. Anyone know anything about that?

The next thing was also something I've been waiting to do, although part of why I was waiting was for the time factor. I bought this today:

Photobucket

I will put all my little cacti in it, around the larger one you can see over the top. That's actually an upside-down pot as the base, and a bowl on the top. It wasn't as tall as I would have liked, but the taller bases looked kind of stupid with that little bitty bowl. The bowl is 21 inches across, so it's not exactly little... I wanted one that was wider, but the bigger ones were way too deep. Such problems! Although, now that I think of it, I could buy the bigger bowl, and put a bunch of my medium cacti in it, because the table I have them on now is a bit too full... hmmm... food for thought!

Old Town has an awesome pottery store. This bowl was $12. It would have been over $20 at the Depot of Home. That's why I wanted to go to Old Town. Here's a pic I took in Old Town in 2006. I seem to have no pictures of the pottery store!

otpoolaandcactus

Old Town requires morning visits. By mid-afternoon when I get off work, I would guess it's probably pretty busy. I parked right behind the building, and the sales clerk even helped me carry them out to my car, which was right outside the back door! I could have carried them myself, but as long as he offered, I was happy to let him carry the bowl!

Now I just need a bit of time and some more potting soil to plant the rest of my cacti in the bowl. That will be later this week. Now I can see my little cacti from my computer chair, and they will get a bit more sun being up a little higher. I would love to get another table for the bigger ones so I can put them up by the level of my kitchen window, but that might be a while. A long while!

Next was making some hummingbird nectar and refilling the feeder. I keep trying to chase off the alpha bird, but he keeps coming back. I think it's a losing battle. And cleaning out the feeder led right into doing the dishes. At least now I have a clean kitchen!

I went to work, and started at 2. It was an interesting day in returns. I had a man YELL at me because I wouldn't return his empty box. It was a box of "bombs" for the house to get rid of bedbugs and fleas. He even brought me some of the bugs to prove it didn't work. I asked him for the empty cans, and he asked me what purpose it would serve to bring them back. I said, "Sir, I can't return an empty box!" and upon hearing that, he loudly insisted on talking to the manager. I called the HC, and she was too busy to come and argue with him, so she just told me to return it, give him the store credit, and tell him not to ever do that again. Jeebus.

At least the rest of the day was better. And it went really fast. Before I knew it, it was 9PM, and break time, and only an hour and a half to go! Woot! And I got everything cleaned up and looking good before I left. But man, am I tired. I'm sure I won't be staying up very late tonight!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

6 comments so far

im2qt2kr - 2009-07-07 07:58:16
Your cacti will be very happy in their new home. How could they NOT love such a beautiful bowl?
-------------------------------
LA - 2009-07-07 11:34:50
That's a lovely planter. Hope your cacti thrive in their pretty new home. ~LA
-------------------------------
DSis - 2009-07-07 13:06:43
If you do not rotate tires, they wear out MUCH faster and in the long run it will cost you much more. We buy tires at Sam's club and then they rotate the tires forever for free! They may do it less expensive than other places if you have not bought the tires there.
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-07-07 13:46:30
Nice planter! And yes, rotate those tires!
-------------------------------
Paula - 2009-07-07 14:31:16
I agree with Poolie...tire rotation is like mattress rotation...you get more wear out of your tires and they last longer if they wear equally in all spots by rotating. Cute cactus garden.
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-07-07 15:11:28
Yes on tire rotation....find out how many miles you are supposed to get on the tires too so you know better when to rotate. they can tell by the model of tire. Too bad the guy with the empty box got his money....it will just make him do it again and said you did it before.... Love the new cacti home...very nice.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group