ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-07-13 ... 5:27 p.m.

previous - next

Finally home from the salt mines

So I worked all day today, and things went pretty well. I only made one mistake that I know of, and I hope it doesn't come back to me. It might, but I can claim the "I'm new" excuse for today. I hope. Anyway....

The head cashier who was on this morning was Jason. He is young, maybe 25, and extremely cute, not that that is relevant. I'm just saying, you know?. He told me to just do my training for an hour, and then come up to the front to work on cashiering. But by the time I figured out what I needed to do, found the videotape, and the books, I realized that I can't do most of it by myself, and the rest of it I've already done. So after a half hour, I found Jason in the break room and explained it all to him, so he suggested I talk to my scheduler tomorrow, and work on it with her. Sounds like a plan to me.

But the rest of the day went pretty well for me. I am figuring things out, and I'm sure by next week I will have a decent handle on things. Then I'm off for four days, so I can forget it all again. Ha! The best thing about today was walking out the door at 4:30, and knowing that no one will be calling me to ask me a question, or tell me something isn't working. In other words, when I am done with work, I am DONE with work. It's been a long time since I could just leave work at work, and not drag it along home with me. It's a great feeling. I'm sure at some point I will be bringing the Depot of Home here with me, but I'll deal with it when it happens. Until then, I am truly enjoying my freedom.

But dang, I'm not used to working eight hours a day! I'm glad they are starting me off slow, and working up to full time... although I don't think that is very far off. Today one of the head cashiers asked if I would mind changing my hours this week, working on my day off for 8 hours, and taking off on Wednesday, when I was supposed to be working 4.5. NOT a problem! I only work 4.5 tomorrow too, and all this week I don't start before 11, which gives me some morning time to do those necessary things like laundry.

And this morning I was kind of kicking my undies into my laundry basket, and instead hit the wall with my little toe. Didn't hurt at all then, but now it's a bit tender and black and blue. I can still move it, and it's not like it's sticking out at a funny angle or anything, so I'm just going to ignore it. Not much else I can do! It didn't even bother me at work, so no biggie.

I can get my bookcase finished now, too! I didn't finish it last night, because I went over to Poolie's and hung out with her while she was baking Roomie a birthday cake. (It's Roomie's kid's birthday too) It was nice to just sit and chat! Don't know that I would have had the energy to do much else.

Time to forage now... I tend to eat my big meal in the middle of the day when I'm working and need the energy, so I snack on things at night. Just another one of those freedoms.....

previous - next

Kiss Me!

5 comments so far

bluesleepy - 2008-07-14 02:03:01
Apparently eating your big meal in the middle of the day is good for you!! I'm so glad you don't have to worry about work once you leave anymore.
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-07-14 04:50:36
Good for you on the hours. I hope they stay that way - that they put you full time. And you never know; you might NOT end up bringing Depot of Home, home with you. I don't bring my job home with me now and that's one of the best things about it!
-------------------------------
michele - 2008-07-14 11:10:06
you and your feet just don't seem to see eye to eye!!!
-------------------------------
art - 2008-07-14 11:26:54
its wonderful feeling to leave work at work and not take it home!!!
-------------------------------
LA - 2008-07-15 00:15:16
Free at last. Free at last. I am sooooo delighted for you, honey. ~LA
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group