ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-11-21 ... 4:37 p.m.

previous - next

Friday rambling

Well the big news of today's is that our nineteen year old cashier died last night. He had a severe asthma attack last week, and had been in intensive care since then. We all feel horrible about it, and the employee committee is doing fundraisers to try to defray some of the hospital costs. Anything the employees can raise will be matched by corporate Depot of Home. If you would like to donate, email me and I will send you the link.

So we were pretty sad today, but there were some interesting customers out in the Depot.

There was the lady who kept telling her husband what to do, and how to work his debit card. She also kept pushing things in my face, as if I couldn't see them. Weird. Quite a bossy lady!

I had a lady walk away from the credit card machine, telling me she didn't need her receipt. OK, but she had been using a debit card, and hadn't answered the question of "Do you want cash back?" It would have been so easy to click YES and steal $50 out of her account, but honesty prevails and I didn't.

I also asked for change for a $100 bill. We send it via a tube system to the vault, and they send the change back. She sent me $150 back. Did I keep it? No. Not only would my conscience bother me, but it isn't worth losing a job over $50.

For some reason, it seemed like it was little old man day today. They all managed to be in my line, too. That's ok, because I can be very patient with them, and that sometimes is all they want.

One man came back three times for more stuff to finish his job. He wasn't very happy by the third time, and so since I recognized him, I didn't even bother checking his ID.

I took in a check as a payment on account for over $3,000! and also another account payment for $1,000. It was another big day on my till, and I was busy all day. My "accountability" by the end of the day was over $16,000! Dang! Sometimes during the day there seem to be a lot of people around, and then I look around and there are only two or three cashiers. I don't know what happens to them all.

I had two ladies with a full cart arguing about the things they needed. "No, Kay, you don't need this, why are you buying them?" "But Janet, I just want to try them and see how they will work!" Ladies, no fighting is allowed at the Depot of Home!!

And I worked early today, 7-3:30. It sure was weird walking out of the building in the light! I am so used to working until it's dark outside that it was just weird. It actually is still a bit light out, but getting pretty dark in the house. By this time of day the mountains I can see out my back windows have pretty much disappeared. In the early morning mist they are often hard to see, so if I'm gone after 9AM, I don't see them much at all.

That can be a drag, but the mountain views on my way to work are beautiful. At least I get to see some of them every day. The trees and the rocks and the houses on the sides.. just amazing.

Photobucket

previous - next

Kiss Me!

10 comments so far

Sherry - 2008-11-22 01:26:15
Wow...so sad about the nineteen year old. :(
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2008-11-22 01:57:06
So sad about the young man at work. Damn. I have a few older folks that come looking for me now because I am patient with them. I was always on 'guard duty' with my Mom when I would take her shopping. If anyone was impatient or rude to her, I let them have it! There's no excuse to be unkind to the elderly!
-------------------------------
Carol - 2008-11-22 02:16:22
So sad about the young man. I have been keeping him in my thoughts and prayers and hope his family will be alright. I always liked the "old folks" and now I are one! Life is good.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-11-22 04:10:28
Geez, that's terrible about that young cashier. I'll keep his family in my thoughts. We went to Friendly's with my visiting friend last week, and I handed the woman $20 for my $9 bill. She asked me if I wanted a ten or a five and five ones. I told her five ones. She then handed me a ten and five ones. I returned the ten and told her she needs to give me a five, and she was totally confused. And then she was amazed I was so honest. I dunno; it just wouldn't sit right with me to take that extra $5 from her.
-------------------------------
Mary - 2008-11-22 05:12:56
How sad for the cashier, and how awful for his family. I am the mother of an almost 19 year old and my mind just doesn't even want to go there. You're wise about the $50 opportunities. They would catch you and they would fire you, eventually. Not worth it. I figure when I finally break down and start stealing, there better be eight figures involved! (and you all realize I'm just kidding here, right?)
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-11-22 05:21:33
So sad about the young man. I would love to donate. I'll talk to you soon.
-------------------------------
shippie - 2008-11-22 13:53:56
How awful that young man died. So awful for his family too I'm sure. Glad to hear Home Depot is setting up a fund for his family. Great to hear. Your picture looks nothing like what I saw out my windows today. We had a "Snow Squall" (canadian word for blizzard) and I literally couldn't see anything but the outline of the building across the courtyard. More on the way too! Wanna come visit?? Come on, admit it! You MISS the snow!
-------------------------------
boxx9000 - 2008-11-22 16:37:20
I can't imagine the amount of grief over the loss of a child to their parent. Makes me want to hold mine even closer. Even tho mine are 25 & 26 years old. I asked my husband if sales were OFF at work because of the economy and he told me not at all. I guess people are still fixing up their homes. "Little Old Man Day?" (hehehehe)
-------------------------------
art - 2008-11-22 17:53:55
that is so awful about your cashier pal. i would donate if i could. my mother had the bronchial asthma but she was 42 when she passed. my condolences to his family.
-------------------------------
Terri T. - 2008-11-22 18:47:14
I had hoped the young man would recover - but maybe his life would not have been the same anyway with all the problems he went through. Very nice that HD is matching funds, though. I often have returned money to cashiers when they gave me too much. I just feel like Karma will get me if I am not honest that way. And I have my favorite cashiers at a few stores that I always look for when I am ready to check out....and some that I try to avoid too!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group