ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-08-03 ... 8:51 a.m.

previous - next

A fun day yesterday!

I had a long, but quite enjoyable day yesterday. I didn't have to work until 10:30, so I could relax in bed a little longer, and then I got up and played around on the computer for a bit before I had to get dressed and get my lunch ready and leave. My kind of morning!

Once I got to work, I was sent out to the garden area! I absolutely love working out there, in the sun, fresh breezes and plants. It was a bit warm for the first 2 hours or so, but it went pretty quickly. I am amazed at how much people will spend on plants. My second customer spent over $2200. But the day out there went quickly, with no trouble, so I had a great time!

I had asked the head cashier when I first came in if there would be an extra day next week that I could work, and she seemed to think so, but told me to ask Norma later. Norma is the HEAD head cashier, and I like her, and best of all, she likes me. So when I saw her later I asked, and she said, YES!!! We came to an agreement on which day it would be (I wanted to work Friday, so I could have Tuesday and Wednesday off, but she really would rather have me work Tuesday, and so I agreed to that.).

She went on to tell me that since school will be starting back up soon, all the kids who work there will all be going back to school, which means there will be plenty of extra days to work! Woot!! Most of them work 40 hours now, so they will be going down to 20, and working mostly nights and weekends. I got a big smile on my face when she said that.. she did too. So I will soon be FULL TIME, and working day hours. Woot!!! At the Depot of Home, anyone who works 40 hours a week for 6 consecutive weeks is considered full time, with full time benefits. I think the only thing that really changes between part time and full time is the accrual rate of paid time off; sick days and vacation. HOORAY!!!!

While I was at work, my phone rang. I keep it in my pocket to use as a clock, since there aren't a whole lot of clocks around out in the store. We are not allowed to use our phones, or even have them on us while we are working, although I have seen people texting. I turn the ringer off when it's in my pocket, and just have the vibrating mode on. So I checked to see who called, and it was Roomie.

She needed help putting something together, and since Poolie was off at a car show, she called me! Well, I will never pass up a chance to visit either Roomie or Poolie, so I told her I would come up after work.

Once I was punched out, and before I left work, I purchased these:

Photobucket

Photobucket

That's right, palm trees for inside my house. They are supposed to purify the air in a building, and I had a coupon from the Depot of Home's Garden club for buy one get one free houseplants. Woot! My two little friends cost me a total of $12!!

Poolie wants me to name them Cleo and Patrick, but since they are still cooling their heels roots outside, I don't have any idea of their personalities, or really, which sex either of them are. Any suggestions?

Roomie wanted to go out to eat to repay me for the help, but we decided instead to just sit out on the patio with a cool drink and some Ben and Jerry's. I don't really need repayment, and that was fine with me. We just sat and chatted, something I don't do much with Roomie, and we got to know each other a little better. I was just about ready to leave when Poolagirl got home, so I decided to just stay for a while more and Roomie and I were entertained by Poolie's story of the cars she saw that night. Fun!!

I finally made my way home, checked my email and went to bed. Unfortunately, I started reading my book, and didn't fall asleep until after 1. Kid called me this morning at 8 and woke me up, which was probably a good thing, since I had plenty of things to do this morning. I don't really have time for my laundry now though... it would be too much of a rush to get it done, and I can always wait until Wednesday. I have plenty of clothes to make it that long.

That's why I didn't post yesterday, and why I'm posting this morning. I have to work today until 8:30, so my evening after that might just be a repeat of last night.

As long as today is as much fun as yesterday, that would be ok with me!!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

9 comments so far

Blue Opal - 2008-08-03 16:28:22
I love the palms - and yes, any kind of plant purifies the air in your home, with trees near the top of that list. (And two of those for $12 is AWESOME.) Hopefully they won't end up being the sort that take over the room!
-------------------------------
Terri T. - 2008-08-03 18:45:58
Tjose palms look wonderful....bet you are still loving all the privacy of your own home and not having to pick up after others. Good luck with the full time work; won't be long and you will get all the bennies...
-------------------------------
LA - 2008-08-03 19:44:15
Your new palms are gorgeous! Good luck scoring those terrific full-time workday hours, can't think of anybody who deserves a nice sane well paying schedule more than you, dear heart. ~LA
-------------------------------
wordwhore - 2008-08-03 20:39:45
they look like simon and schuster to me ;)
-------------------------------
L\'Empress\'s UD - 2008-08-03 21:14:47
my mom was buggin' because you hadn't posted.

i think that maybe plant versions of dude and kid would be nice... no complaining, no asking for gas money, no loud friends... whaddya think?
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-08-03 22:32:54
I love your new trees!! I would love to get some for my own home, though I don't know if they'd sell palm trees this far north, even if they're indoor plants.
-------------------------------
kim - 2008-08-03 22:38:43
Love the palm trees! And Ben and Jerry's?! *mmmmmmm* I'm having ice cream envy.
-------------------------------
psis - 2008-08-04 02:37:15
Congrats on your extra hours--I'm sure they figured out you have a good head and want to do a good job even if you have occasional things you don't know--cool plants for the money--enjoy them!
-------------------------------
margie - 2008-08-04 13:35:15
One of those would be awesome in the corner of your bookcase.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group