ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-03-13 ... 5:53 p.m.

previous - next

A long day and a hot oven

It was a long day at work today. I started at 5:30, and I started inside. It was pretty chilly this morning, cold enough to see your breath outside. At 6, they decided to put me out in the garden. Figures. The one day I forget my jacket...

So I kept warm by facing up the plants and helping the delivery people take the protective paper off the plants. By 7 I was pretty much done with that, and it didn't take much longer before I was sent on a break. Yay. Into the warmth!

When I got back outside, they were going to come in and pick up my relief, but since he was with a customer, they took me in instead. I was grateful for that, although I think it was busier outside than inside. Plus by then I'd turned on the heater and the sun had come out, so it was warming up a little.

In ways the day went fast, because I was on my afternoon break by noon, and out at 2. I stopped at the bank, and the store. I wanted to buy some oven cooking bags and an oven thermometer, but instead, I got a freezer thermometer, which just doesn't work well in the oven.

I was making some ribs, and I like to cook them at a really low temp, so I set the oven on 200. I opened the oven door about a half hour later and almost singed the hair off my face. It was HOT in there. I turned the heat down (to about 100!), and waited another half hour. I had a HUGE baked potato that was done in that hour... at 200 degrees. No, that doesn't sound right to me either.

So I called the management company and asked if someone could look at my oven. I told them it wasn't urgent, and she said someone would call me right back, but considering it was 4:30 on a Friday afternoon, I'm not at all surprised that no one called. I'm not planning on baking anything until it gets fixed, and I don't have anything I need to bake in the next week or two, so I am willing to just wait until someone can get here.

And now it's 6PM and I'm already dozing. I just hate getting up that early! I think I'll do my laundry, that will force me to stay up for at least two more hours! Thrilling Friday night, huh?

previous - next

Kiss Me!

4 comments so far

DSis - 2009-03-14 02:49:57
Hey! I baked your chocolate cake with the whipped cream chocolate frosting today - we had a friend over for dinner, and tomorrow Sis and BiL are coming for a visit. Cake didn't rise a lot, but I think my flour was old -- I just do not bake often. Still tasted good.
-------------------------------
LA - 2009-03-14 12:15:57
Gah! I hate it when my oven is off temperature. My current one was brand new and spot on for the first 5 years and now in year 6 seems to be wandering a little. Nothing scorches, but not exactly right either. Hope the apt people send someone out to fix your oven ASAP. ~LA
-------------------------------
art - 2009-03-14 15:25:44
hope they calibrate the oven soon!! slow cooking the ribs is a good way to go! how did they turn out?
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-03-14 19:08:05
hope you get someone to figure out the problem with the oven....I used to have one that I just turned 50 degrees down and shortened the baking/roasting time by 10 minutes but having it fixed is really the best way to go.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group