ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-01-19 ... 4:04 p.m.

previous - next

The apartment is mine!!! Yippee!!

What a day. I truly can't believe I used to get up at 4:30 every day. No wonder I was always so tired! But it was busy enough that it went quick. I did go to returns for a half hour or so, but it was early before the place had a chance to get messed up too bad. Heh.

I was at the rollup door most of the rest of the day. That's where the contractors go in and out with huge loads of lumber and drywall and other stuff. It's a hard place to work because some of the orders are just huge, and it's easy to miss things or overcharge. The average order there is probably about $200, although for the hundred dollar store The Depot of Home, that's not all that high.

This afternoon I had two guys who had all this ABS pipe on their cart. They had 6 of the huge 3" diameter ones. At first I thought there were 5, and when I asked if they had 5, they said yes. Then I saw there were 6, and there were smaller pipes inside 2 of the big ones. I looked in the other big ones and saw that they had stuffed a bunch of other stuff inside those. I just lifted one end of it and left it all slide out onto their feet. Heh. Every 3" pipe had something inside of it, and I checked the smaller pipes then too. Jerks.

They didn't say anything about it, but just let me ring it all up. We are supposed to ask if they want it, but I figured if they didn't want it, they would have said something. They didn't look too happy that I found it, either. I figure I found at least $30 worth of stuff that would have otherwise been lost had I not checked inside the pipes. Woot!

Then I took my afternoon break, and the people from the management company called and said I could have the apartment!! Well, provided I could put down a deposit today. I got off work and went to the bank and wondered why the parking lot was so empty... until I realized the doors were locked and it is a holiday! Dang. I just don't have enough for the deposit in my checking account to get a cashier's check so I called, and they said they would extend the deadline until 5PM tomorrow. Phew!!

Then I went to talk to my landlord, who is a docent at the museum. He already knew, since they called him for a reference, and he said I didn't have to stay until the end of February, just until the end of 30 days. Yay! He prorates the rent, so my rent here will be less next month, and the new place has a "move-in special" of half a month's rent. So between the two it will be slightly less than I pay now for next month's rent. Woot!!!

It IS closer to work, by about half the distance. I already have the route planned out, and unfortunately I can't take the Pacific Highway to work any more. But that's ok, I won't be on the freeway for long, and I may be able to figure out how to get there without freeway.

And as to the comment from Char, I lived in one place for 1 month, once a long time ago, so my move to this place isn't the shortest I've ever stayed any where. Of course, I didn't have as much to move then, either.

I plan on moving a bunch of my stuff with my car, and getting movers to do the heavy stuff. Much easier that way, and less chance of someone hurting their back. I would like to have it all packed up in the next few weeks, so I can move ASAP. Gotta call the movers and see when they can move me. Not having to move everything in one day, or on the 31st or 1st is a big advantage. I'm so excited!!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

16 comments so far

Rosie - 2009-01-20 00:52:06
Check out craigslist, there are a lot of people who advertise on there, and it is certainly cheaper than most moving companies! And thank heavens I wasn't the only person today with a DOH! moment.
-------------------------------
Sis - 2009-01-20 00:57:20
Congrats on your new place. Hopefully I'll get to see the new one! We're happy for you. Be sure to post some pictures. Good luck with your move!
-------------------------------
GBW - 2009-01-20 01:40:37
Congrats on the new place :-)
-------------------------------
Beyondpanic - 2009-01-20 01:41:56
Congrats!
-------------------------------
l\'empress - 2009-01-20 02:11:46
May you enjoy it in good health.
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2009-01-20 02:13:24
Yay!! Wonderful news! CHA!!!
-------------------------------
cosmic - 2009-01-20 02:13:55
That is fantastic!! I am so happy for you.
-------------------------------
psis - 2009-01-20 02:58:19
Congratulations--what a great treat to have a free laundromat besides! Great job catching those thieves!
-------------------------------
blaze - 2009-01-20 03:38:00
Hey, I tried to send the password twice (once a couple days ago) so let me know if it's in your spam folder. Or email me at [email protected]. PS. Congrats on the apartment!
-------------------------------
DSis - 2009-01-20 12:39:45
Good for you!
-------------------------------
Carolyn - 2009-01-20 12:55:51
Congratulations on your new place. And good catch with the hidden stuff in the pipes!
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2009-01-20 14:03:20
What awesome news!! I am so happy for you! Those jerks with the hidden stuff in the pipes -- I bet you were laughing at them inside your head the whole time you were ringing them up. Goofballs.
-------------------------------
Terri T - 2009-01-20 18:05:13
The Karma must be working for you. Congratulations on getting the apt and getting to move earlier and getting the 1/2 month free rent and all. Sounds like it is falling into place. I bet you will really enjoy the new apt and the free laundry and the off street parking too. and kudos on catching the thieves...boy...you just can't trust any of them can you?
-------------------------------
Pattypat - 2009-01-20 18:14:36
Niiiiiiiice! Good for you!
-------------------------------
nccountry - 2009-01-20 18:15:56
Congrats on the apartment!
-------------------------------
Carol - 2009-01-21 03:10:30
I am so happy for you. So many changes in such a short time. You never know what will be next.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group