ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-01-03 ... 10:41 p.m.

previous - next

A whole day of returns!

Well. Rain again today, so it's been quite chilly. I'm starting this before work so I don't have so much to write when I get home.

I was sitting here in my robe, when the Depot of Home called. My immediate thought was that I was late for work, but it was only 9:30 and I didn't have to work till 10:30. And I said that when I heard the head cashier on the line... she said, "Oh, but you WERE scheduled for 8:30!!" I started to get up, saying I was sorry I was late and she said she was just kidding. Phew!!

She asked if I could come in later, like at 1, and work till 9:30, to which I said yes!!! I was grateful for the later start time, since I was working on a project, and didn't want to leave it half done before I went to work. So that was just the best! Plus I don't work until 10:30 tomorrow (going to check on that today!) so I won't have to get up really early.. at least not till later in the week when I have 2 5:30AM shifts. Not complaining, I'm glad to have the hours.

Anyway, that gave me time to get the dishes done (makes my fingers warm!), and pack my lunch and get my little gel thing frozen for my lunchbag since the fridge at work isn't fridging. Plus I'm going to try a different route to work today and see if it's quicker, or at least, less congested than my regular route. I'll let you know how it was! I plan on taking a book along in case I get there really early.. which with the rain, I do plan on leaving early.

OK, back from work now. The Chargers game went into OT and I didn't really want to try the freeway on the way back home, so I took the new route back. It sure looks different in the dark!

I worked all day in returns, and again had it completely cleaned up by the time I left. NOTHING was left sitting there. *pats self on back* I love showing people how a job should be done. Heh.

All the guys at work were worried about the game, and it was pretty quiet during that time, so one of them went online to watch what he could, and the others kept coming over to get updates. I got a lot of my stuff done during that time, too.

We did have lots of interesting hair colors appearing at work today though. I saw one guy with a combination of pink, yellow and orange, and someone else saw a purple and green combination. Not sure why anyone would dye their hair that color when it isn't halloween, but... whatever. They were customers, not employees.

I sure have missed the sun these past couple of days.... is it spring yet??

previous - next

Kiss Me!

13 comments so far

Rosie - 2009-01-04 07:36:14
As always, you never go half-measures on any project that you do. You are a wonderful and amazing person, and I am proud to call you my friend! Here's hoping your sunlight returns, without sending the rain in MY direction!
-------------------------------
michele - 2009-01-04 13:36:59
fridging.... i love that new word! you should patent it. and i am also happy for you that you're getting the hours that you want. yay!
-------------------------------
Carolyn - 2009-01-04 14:23:19
I love the irony of the employee fridge not working at the Depot of Home!
-------------------------------
Cosmic - 2009-01-04 14:45:48
I know I sent an email last night, but Thank you!!!!! I love my Tree!!! I love that you thought of me. I can't believe you did that. The Christmas paper was a neat touch. That was enormouse!! We had a wonderful time. It would have been more wonderful if you had been here too! Some day, I hope.
-------------------------------
Kathy - 2009-01-04 14:57:34
I'm with Carolyn, can't you just push a working one from the fridge section of the store to the employee break room? C'mon! I double dog dare you!
-------------------------------
DSis - 2009-01-04 15:20:55
OK, I'll make you miss Wisconsin even less than you already do. I came in the house on a break to warm my hands (in triple insulated mittens) -- last night we had rain, and sleet (freezing rain for those not in the know) and then a little snow on top. Cleaning the sidewalks and decks (HUGE area) is like scraping your windshield after leaving the car outside in winter -- remember that? Anyway, I'm not complaining (really) cause it is good exercise and the yard looks like a winter wonderland. And I really don't mind winter all that much. (I know, you were thinking "heh".)
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2009-01-04 15:50:45
I can't help cracking up - you come from the land of eternal snow and ice and are fussing about a SoCal cold snap, lol. I know what you mean, though. It does get chilly even in the desert!
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-01-04 16:23:48
It's that wet cold that makes it seem worse. Sort of the reverse of dry heat. LOL!
-------------------------------
Rebekah - 2009-01-04 18:04:45
Hoping to surprise a friend, I'd been looking for a particular item of the garden variety. It was beyond my budget. I didn't even think of asking for your opinion.

Imagine my surprise when I got home from Trader Joe's and L'Empress began with "Guess what?!"

You are so quietly generous. Makes my heart warm to know you.
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-01-04 18:55:08
Way to go.....you are continuing to impress the people in charge at the Depot of Home. I think they like you, they really, really like you....and so do I.
-------------------------------
Terri t - 2009-01-04 19:06:14
Back again....just found out what you did....aren't you just the best? I loved the "play it forward"....great idea and a lovely way to start off the new year....the smiles in those pictures that bluesleepy posted were priceless....
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2009-01-04 20:33:14
You ARE quietly generous, and I'm so proud to know you and to be friends with you. Thanks for letting me be part of your wonderful project and for giving me a chance to meet our wonderful Cosmic.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2009-01-05 03:43:33
*HUGS*
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group