ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-05-06 ... 9:26 p.m.

previous - next

News, not of the good kind

I didn't work today until 11:45, which was great, since it's Pogo day, and I could work on the weekly challenges. I took a break to get my lunch together, and then went back to playing until it was time to leave.

I was working along in garden when I got called to the manager's office to meet Norma and our ASM. I didn't get either of the head cashier spots. Bummer. I knew that one of the applicants was almost guaranteed a spot, so it was three of us fighting for one spot. I have been there the shortest time, and even though I have previous experience, apparently it wasn't enough. I'm disappointed, but mostly because Norma really encouraged me to apply, making it seem like I would get the job.

So as long as I was there, I asked about full time. There are no positions right now, because the ASM gave me a story about the ratio of full time people to part time, and that even though two full time cashiers are gone, we had too many full time... but that eventually the ratio will change and there will be full time spots available. And there are four people looking for full time... and probably only two spots.

So fuck.

Although, Norma did promise me that the next head cashier class that is held, she will send me to, and that then they can use me kind of as a backup. She and the ASM both were telling me that changes are coming, and it won't be long.

The ASM did say that during this waiting period, that I can give myself an advantage by thinking like a head cashier, and solving problems that I can solve without calling someone else. Yes, there are things I don't have the authority to do, but as he pointed out, it makes things easier for the HC or ASM if I have things under control when I call them for authorization. He's right, too.

I am the applicant who has worked for the Depot the least amount of time. I guess maybe my blood isn't orange enough yet, and all I can do is work harder to learn what I need to know, and to get the results I want.

So after work, I did what any self-respecting woman would do... I went shopping. I bought a really nice shepherd's hook (cause hanging my hummingbird feeder off the stairs just isn't cutting it) and a few other things I'd been looking at.

I am grateful that I have a job. Missing a promotion isn't the end of the world, and I AM still employed. So I guess it's all good. Just not great at the moment.

And who got the job? No one knows. They tell the people who didn't get it first. My guess is Missy, because Norma told her today they hadn't made a decision, which I know isn't true. And even though I don't like her personally, she has been there longer than me and knows the store a little bit better. But we'll wait and see; I could be wrong. It doesn't make much difference any more anyway.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

14 comments so far

Mary - 2009-05-07 04:56:26
Oh, man, I am sorry. I would have guessed you'd be a shoo in. My only thought (and I say this as a manager who tries really hard to coach things in the most positive way I can) is that maybe they think there are more things you can handle on your own? Without calling for help? Although that's hard, because if you do too much on your own, you get in trouble too. So, I guess I'm sending you hugs. I wish you'd come work in my office. I would give you specific feedback and I know you'd be terrific with clients. Sigh. Hugs to you.
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2009-05-07 06:06:12
Shoot! I was hoping that even if you didn't get the HC position, then you would get full-time. But I would take their advice, and do everything in your power to ensure that when you DO have to call a manager, that it's just a quick formality.

Obviously, Norma really likes you, and that's a great thing! She knows a fabulous person when she sees one! With her in your corner, it's only a matter of time. Hugs!
-------------------------------
Fifi - 2009-05-07 10:26:56
I would have hired you. It may have to be just a matter of time. Blasted politics and policies. XOFifi
-------------------------------
DSis - 2009-05-07 12:03:42
Aw, Shucks! You did deserved that job—the best person does NOT always get hired. Hope the full time thing happens soon for you. Hang in there!
-------------------------------
LA - 2009-05-07 12:36:32
Darn it! Sorry, hon. However, it does sound like there's nothing screwy going on like someone who gives the boss the best 'personal service' is picked over ones who actually do their jobs, it's more of a time in/experience thing, which is frustrating but not completely unfair. And sooner than you think YOU will be the one with the most time and experience and the next slot will be YOURS!!! Keep on with your good work ethic and faboo customer rapport, step it up a little with making decisions as the big manager suggested and your turn will come. Good luck, sweetie. ~LA
-------------------------------
Sis - 2009-05-07 12:38:00
Their loss! Obviously you could have done the job, but if there are changes coming, maybe there is something coming up that will work for you. Sometimes things work out for a reason. You'll make it next round!
-------------------------------
Erianne - 2009-05-07 13:27:04
So sorry...I was pulling for you.
-------------------------------
Pattypat - 2009-05-07 13:34:46
You deserved that spot! I'm so sorry you didn't get it this time, but next time...you're a shoo-in. Hang in there.
-------------------------------
mpeacock - 2009-05-07 14:07:53
I am going to believe that it means something better is coming along. :)
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2009-05-07 15:30:14
I am so sorry for your disappointment my friend, but it is obvious that it will come in time. You just need to hang tough and get a handle on well.....handling things and you will move right on up. It's a great that the Manager told you what would help your situation in the future. That's always a good sign. It will happen!
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-05-07 15:35:39
That just means something better is on the horizon.
-------------------------------
Joan - 2009-05-07 16:26:44
Awwwwww .. poop! You are doing all you can with the job you have now, so it's only a matter of time before it's your turn. Watch and learn is all you can do. Or maybe become a real bitch...heh...sometimes it pays to kick a little ass.
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-05-07 20:21:03
I'm sorry it didn't work out for you this time but the good news is that they do have their eyes on you and are giving you encouragement and suggestions on ways to become more efficient. I expect it won't be long for you. Just keep on doing what you do and soon....it will be what you wanted.
-------------------------------
psis - 2009-05-08 00:39:53
Did maybe the people that got the jobs go to the HC class?? It's just a matter of time until you get what you want!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group