ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-12-24 ... 6:56 p.m.

previous - next

Doing nothing

Well it seems like none of the packages I sent out last week have arrived in time for Christmas, with one exception.. the one that went all the way to Rhode Island. Thank you, USPS.

I had a great time at work today. All the customers (but one, there's always one!) were in good moods, and I was wearing a headband with reindeer antlers on it. One of the antlers was broken, and was just laying down on my head. It was the subject of much hilarity among the customers. One man told me I must be having a bad antler day. Heh.

I wore them, and my socks with bells on them, primarily to irritate my coworkers. It turned out to be much more fun than I thought it would.

We had to rush to close at 5, and there were still customers in the store, so I stayed open while everyone else did the few cleaning things that needed to be done. We all punched out just after 5:30, when we were all off.

It was beautiful and sunny this morning, but by the time I left work, it had been raining. And of course, when there's no sun, it gets downright chilly, too.

So I came home, changed into my nice warm jammies, and I'm vegging tonight in front of the space heater. I miss being with the kids, although that's about all I miss about Christmas Eve.

For the last (at least) 16 years or more, I've worked every Christmas Eve. True, when I worked in the hospital, I had volunteered to work 11PM-7AM on the Eve, so that people who wanted to be home could be. My kids were young, and didn't really notice that I wasn't there. I could sleep till 11 or noon, and then we would go to my parents house. Not a big deal.

But the past 11 years, I would get up at 1:15AM and haul myself off to work, and bake buns, and breads, and pies and make a big potfull of turkey and gravy. It gets old after a while, and I am supremely grateful that I don't have to do that any more.

Yes, I did have pride in my work, and the customers all were glad that I was willing to do it. Even my ex would say "good job" but that was the only actual positive thing about it. I didn't get extra pay. I didn't get the next day or two days off. And I had to go home and cook supper, then do it all over again on Christmas morning. Yup, I'm glad it's over.

I plan on doing nothing tomorrow. One of my customers asked what, if anything, I had planned, and I said, "Nothing." He high-fived me, and said, "You're my kind of lady!" Heh. He also had nothing planned, and said that was what he liked most about Christmas. Having a day off to sleep late, stay home, and do NOTHING. I've done so much somethings on Christmas, I'm ready for a little nothing.

So here's to a quiet Christmas Eve and Day!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

4 comments so far

Blue Opal - 2008-12-25 03:31:30
I'm with you - there's a LOT to be said for a day off when you have NOTHING TO DO! :D
-------------------------------
Cosmic - 2008-12-25 08:45:23
Oh, you sent something to me in RI? How sweet! I haven't gotten it yet. Just kidding. Don't get spooked, haha. I saw the sweet little head gear you sent to bluesleepy's little girl. I just thought I would pull your leg. I hope your Christmas is as wonderful as it can be. From our house to yours, Merry Christmas.
-------------------------------
scotvalkyrie - 2008-12-25 14:08:34
A Merry Messy Kweznuz to ya! Here's to not doing much! I have to work myself, but that's okay for me . . . hardly anyone calls.
-------------------------------
l\'empress - 2008-12-25 14:43:24
Wishing you a restful day and joy of the season. I used to cringe, thinking of all the work you did so that other people could have a nice holiday.***The other stuff I understand. When Husband worked in the hospital, I used to tell him to take Christmas and Easter, because the other guys should be spending the time with their kids. I wanted the Jewish holidays off.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group