ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-07-13 ... 11:17 p.m.

previous - next

Plant pictures and work

I should have taken my shower after I did this:

Photobucket

It didn't even take that long, but it was a pretty warm day here, and I was sweatting profusely (neener) by the time I finished. I also repotted this ittle guy in the front, it was Mom's one little cactus. It's amazing how much it's grown in the past year!:

Photobucket

I figured I may as well take pictures of the rest of them...

Photobucket

Spike and friends:

Photobucket

The tall ones:

Photobucket

varieties of barrel cactus:

Photobucket

The oddballs:

Photobucket

Now that's done for a while. I need a saucer for the bowl so the water doesn't just run out. I am planning on getting a bigger bowl for some of the rest of them, but I'm not sure which ones I will put in the bowl. I would like to put all the barrel cactus types in one bowl, but I'm afraid it will end up a big snarly mess. First things first, I need to get the bowl and see how they will fit.

Noisy Neighbor moved his mattress out today. I know this because he accidentally dropped it down the stairway outside my window. He's lucky he didn't kill any of my plants! He will be back later today and tomorrow to clean. I'm sure the place is a total dump. I'd been up there when his door had been kicked in and I couldn't believe how icky it was up there. *shudders* There is no way I would ever want to live in his old place!

He told me he got a place near the beach between Ocean Beach and Pacific Beach. Expensive, yes, but near the beach, and that's what he wanted. I'm fine with that!

So after getting my plants all set, it was off to work for me. It was a busy day in returns. Not sure why, either. It could just be things that weren't used over the weekend, projects that were finished and this was the final step. There was only one lady who kind of stood out, who brought in a big roll of painting paper, you know, the stuff they roll out to protect the floor.

Some of the paper had been used, but she wanted a refund. I told her no, that it had been used and there was no way to tell HOW MUCH had been used, and besides, it was unsellable as is. She tried to tell me that she thought they maybe only used four feet or so of it, which could be, but it still was not sellable, and it would have ended up being thrown out. I wanted to just say, I SAID NO, AND NO MEANS NO!!!

Look at it another way. Lets say you bought wax paper in a roll for a specific project, but you don't normally use wax paper. You rip off what you need for the project, and take the roll back to the store and ask for a refund. (Only this was a fairly expensive roll of paper.) Do you think the grocery store will refund it because you aren't going to use it any more?? Even if you tell them you didn't use much of it?

I'm not ever supposed to say no to customers, but I do. I told the lady no the other day when she tried returning used toilet guts. I told two people no today, one was the paper lady, the other was a guy with ten-foot pieces of ABS pipe (black plastic pipe used for plumbing) because the pipe wasn't ten feet! He'd cut part of it off, and since we don't sell it by the foot, we don't take it back if it's been cut. DUH. At least the guy with the pipe didn't give me too much hassle about it.... he was pretty cool. So I do say no, because I get sick of calling a HC over every time I have a question, so I make those decisions myself.

The nice thing about it being busy is that the time goes fast. Before I knew it, it was time for my last break, and the end of the night clean up in returns. Everything goes back to the departments to be put away. Most nights I haul a cart of lumber back to that area, sometimes a cart full of tile. Usually there's a garden cart with plants and other shit. Plus the stuff that's going back to the vendor... and by that time, it's 10:30 and time to go.

So... I'll watch a little late night Food TV and then be off to bed with my book....

previous - next

Kiss Me!

9 comments so far

wordy - 2009-07-14 07:35:55
personally i prefer carts of pastries (like you used to make) to "carts of shit" ;D - but at least now you don't have to take any shit when you get home!
-------------------------------
sduckie - 2009-07-14 07:48:16
wow people will try to get away with anything at that store! I like your oddball plants the best- it's cute how you have them all grouped.
-------------------------------
DSis - 2009-07-14 11:31:22
Your cacti are awesome! Wish I could send you my Jade plant.
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-07-14 13:31:00
So glad that guy is moving out!
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-07-14 19:33:45
your organizatinal skills are in fine form....I really like all the cacti.... I think you did a great job saying NO to some of those people. They really have a lot of nerve...or at least more nerve than I do.
-------------------------------
Sandyz - 2009-07-14 22:05:51
Loved the pictures of your cacti...sounds like you feel comfortable with your job. I am glad you are settling into your new life. Sandyz
-------------------------------
Beyondpanic - 2009-07-15 01:25:07
I love cacti! The only problem I have with them now is the kitten. All of the books state that cacti can prick a cat and give them an infection, so right now I have them outside the screened in porch. I don't know what the hell I'm going to do with them in the winter!
-------------------------------
Paula - 2009-07-15 02:24:05
Looks like your cactus family loves San Diego.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2009-07-15 04:13:27
I hope you didn't get stuck while you were re-potting! Your cacti look great in their new home.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group