ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-05-30 ... 7:14 p.m.

previous - next

A rainy day at work

I noticed this morning when I got up that the sidewalk was wet, so I just assumed it rained last night. It did, and it was still raining when I left for work. I'm glad it was Saturday, because the freeway is usually pretty jammed up when it rains. But I got to work without any trouble, so it was all good.

I was scheduled for the front end, but I was sent to returns when I came in. Great! The two people who were scheduled in returns were "slow and messy" according to Norma, and she knew I would keep things moving along. Nice to know she has confidence in my abilities there.

I did end up going to the front end for an hour around lunchtime, and then again an hour before I left. I didn't mind... It was pretty slow in returns and in garden because it rained most of the day, and I like to go where it's busy because then it doesn't seem like I'm there so long.

And I was certainly in the right place at the right time today. Someone in the break room was talking about the marathon that's being run tomorrow, that closes a lot of streets around the Depot of Home. Cripes. It means I have to leave home at least 10 minutes earlier, but I was given a good route to go, which is supposed to add only 10 minutes to my time. We'll see. I plan on leaving about a half hour before I normally do. I can sit and read my book if I need to.

When I came home, the on-site manager was outside, so I stopped and talked to him. I was wondering if the management company would be willing to put a security door on my place instead of the el cheapo screen door that's there now. I'm thinking that since now I know people can (and will) climb over the fence that surrounds the entrances that my little screen door is no protection.. plus when summer is here I can sleep with the door open if it's a good, secure door. Plus.. the door I have now doesn't fit very well, so it would be nice to have one that fits the frame. I'll call them on Monday and see what they say.

I also mentioned the storage space that I planned on appropriating, and the OSM said that was ok. I mentioned parking in the back, and how I really wanted a space back there when I moved in, but now I LIKE parking in front. I have a parking space that's in the middle, and one of the people on the end is moving, so I can take HER space in the front. The OSM agreed that I really don't want to park in the back.. for security reasons, and the fact that he finds condoms back there, and sometimes the homeless sleep under the cars. Yeah, the front sounds good to me, especially now that I can have an end spot. Also parking in the front gives me room for another car if need be. I can just pull mine in as far as possible, and another car can park behind me and still not be on the street. Woot!

So YAY! Now I just need to do some more cleaning. I knew I would leave things until the end.. Kid will be here Monday, and I still have lots to do. I'm not sure when (or if) her friend is coming. She needs to get her tickets soon!

Off to clean the bathroom. Such fun!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

4 comments so far

bluesleepy - 2009-05-31 03:57:00
YAY for front parking spots!! Also, I didn't think it rained in SD. The first time I was there, it poured. And it was COLD. The folks I was with insisted it never rained in SD. Apparently I bring the rain.
-------------------------------
DSis - 2009-05-31 11:48:44
Congrats on the first year - you have accomplished a lot, mostly getting yourself out of the "muck". Good deal on your parking spaces -- it pays to speak up.
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-05-31 17:12:57
All good reasons to celebrate your first year. I think they should give you a security door since you are on the main level and live alone... Glad the drunk neighbor will be gone and you will get your storage space and the parking space of your choice.
-------------------------------
LA - 2009-05-31 22:42:50
A security door is a good idea, especially on the ground floor. Too cool about the parking place! Hope you got your cleaning finished so you'll be able to relax and enjoy your time with Kid. ~LA
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group